Lucasfilm Reviews | Glassdoor

Lucasfilm Reviews

Updated May 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 117 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Kathleen Kennedy
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "Mostly great people to work with(in 9 reviews)

  • "A chance to touch Star Wars is fantastic(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay, little chance of advancement, shrinking margins for revenue and regular cycles of artist layoffs as work ebbs and flows(in 7 reviews)

  • "Very low pay, not even close to Bay Area standards(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Coordinator/Manager 

      I have been working at Lucasfilm full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      The company culture is wonderful. The company does mini-talks by people in the Entertainment and Tech industry. It feels like a mini-film school. The films are epic, so you always feel like you are involved in something bigger.

      Cons

      In my time at Lucasfilm I was relocated to San Francisco, and then back to Los Angeles. I love San Francisco, but the hardest part about being there is you feel a little detached from the Entertainment Industry.

      Lucasfilm2017-09-20
    • "Good company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Digital Artist in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Lucasfilm full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Great benefits, good salary everyone is helpful and willing to train

      Cons

      You must be able to stomach working project to project otherwise not for you

      Lucasfilm2019-03-16
    • Helpful (1)

      "Was great, now just OK"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Lucasfilm full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Good benefits. Mostly great people to work with. Nerds dream come true.

      Cons

      Disney changed things. More profit driven. Less care about making a good movie. Less care about its employees.

      Lucasfilm2019-03-13
    • Helpful (2)

      "It's not what you think"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Supervisor in San Francisco, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Lucasfilm full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Met some good people and made good connections.

      Cons

      Discrimination, HR witch-hunts, cult like mentality among the cliques, rampant gaslighting.

      Advice to Management

      Ruling through fear and intimidation is not leadership.

      Lucasfilm2019-02-11
    • Helpful (2)

      "Inspiring atmosphere, but no growth or career path"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Lucasfilm full-time

      Pros

      Fun, friendly atmosphere with creative people who are passionate about their work.

      Cons

      Low pay, little chance of advancement, shrinking margins for revenue and regular cycles of artist layoffs as work ebbs and flows.

      Lucasfilm2019-01-14
    • Helpful (6)

      "Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Lucasfilm full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Talented and good people. Film Industry.

      Cons

      Discrimination, politics, management cliques, HR

      Lucasfilm2018-10-10
    • "It's okay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Lucasfilm full-time

      Pros

      You get to work on some pretty amazing projects

      Cons

      But those projects are being shipped to remote offices that can't handle the work, so you have to wait until it gets sent back to San Francisco.

      Lucasfilm2018-08-17
    • "Industrial Light and Magic"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Lucasfilm full-time

      Pros

      Great culture. Great films. Interesting work.

      Cons

      Competitive industry causes them to have trouble keeping the pipeline full. Job is temporary.

      Lucasfilm2018-06-25
    • "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Lucasfilm full-time

        Pros

        Great people, nice work environment

        Cons

        Doesn't pay as well as other companies in the area.

        Lucasfilm2018-06-14
      • Helpful (6)

        "Fun place, unclear direction"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Lucasfilm full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        If you are interested in learning many new things in a short period of time, then this place is for you. Many cool people doing the day to day work. Can be a fun work environment on the right day.

        Cons

        Since the purchase by Disney some years ago, Lucasfilm and ILM moral has been on a slow decline with no bottom in sight. I would recommend those who have been there a long time to think about jumping ship soon. The company needs to change quickly to survive.

        Advice to Management

        I would encourage Lucasfilm to reconsider its position on employee incentives. The average benefits and lack of bonuses doesn’t make for a very attractive sell in the Bay Area.

        Lucasfilm2018-05-11
      Found 117 reviews