Lucid Reviews | Glassdoor

Lucid Reviews

Updated Aug 7, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Lucid CEO Will Coleman (no image)
Will Coleman
8 Ratings
  1. "Sales Team and Marketing Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Market Research Analyst in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lucid full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lucid has the best group of people I have ever met. It is such a positive and fun work environment. Everyone is so passionate about sustainability and their work that it makes working at Lucid feel less like work and more like fun. Great group of people.

    Cons

    The only con that comes to mind is the location of the office in downtown Oakland. However, we are moving to a new office and will be there within the next few months!

    Lucid2018-08-07
  2. "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lucid full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Exciting market and technology Interesting customers and prospects Solution evolving quickly Opportunity to take on lots of responsibility

    Cons

    Ambitious goals stretch resources across the company Employees need to be looking out for their own career path and growth

    Continue reading
    Lucid2018-08-01

    Lucid Response

    August 6, 2018VP of Marketing

    Thanks for the feedback. We are excited about being part of AcuityBrands and now having more structure and resources in our HR group to provide better career path options and planning.

    Continue reading
  3. "Smart team, Interesting problems to solve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lucid full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Creative, intelligent team with excellent problem-solving skills. Fun environment. You work closely and learn from sustainability managers from all over the world daily.

    Cons

    The developers make up less than 30% of our total team.

    Continue reading
    Lucid2018-03-14

    Lucid Response

    August 6, 2018VP of Marketing

    Thanks for the perspective. We have become more formal in capturing and reinforcing our mission and vision regularly based on feedback we have received.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Hard working start up environment with good reward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lucid full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Autonomy to work on many different projects. Great environment for motivated professionals wanting a fast-paced startup environment within the clean tech space. Also a great place to learn/get introduced to the clean tech industry.

    Cons

    Work/life balance can be very tough. It's easy to get overwhelmed without proper barriers, especially if you're passionate in this space. Employee benefits are OK and could be much better (i.e. no match on 401(k)) but then again its a startup firm so take equity for what it's worth.

    Continue reading
    Lucid2017-07-26

    Lucid Response

    August 6, 2018VP of Marketing

    Good perspective about making decisions quickly. We are putting more process in place to help us ensure we capture all the info needed for a decisions quickly, and can feel more confident in making decisions.

    Continue reading
  5. "Change an industry & impact our environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lucid full-time

    Pros

    Meaningful mission to change an industry Fast-paced company culture Oppty to take on lots of responsibility Gaining momentum with partnerships Great product that is recognized by the industry as a leader

    Cons

    Industry is slow moving - so lots of effort needed to make a change Shifting priorities based on competing goals

    Continue reading
    Lucid2017-07-25
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Lots of great people, leadership doesn't set new employees up for success."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Enterprise Account Executive in Oakland, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lucid full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of great people. Cool software product. Solving meaningful problems for clients. Lots of potential, just not there yet for a lot of reasons.

    Cons

    No on boarding program. No training or career development. Little in the way of team or personal goals. If you haven't been there for a while, it's difficult to follow along given how much siloed knowledge there is. Lots of change in management should tell you something.

    Continue reading
    Lucid2017-08-24
  7. "Awesome people, awesome prodcut"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lucid full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People, new and disruptive technology

    Cons

    location, performance reviews, small engineering team

    Continue reading
    Lucid2017-04-24
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Cool product, great mission, lacking in vision and senior leadership."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lucid full-time

    Pros

    Product is very artfully designed. The mission is pretty exciting although not entirely clear in terms of results. Lots of motivated young people there.

    Cons

    Lots of competition and differentiation in the space. Lucid's market position is unclear and the ROI or overall results of their product are not obvious.

    Continue reading
    Lucid2017-03-29
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Good Product, Poor Company Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lucid full-time

    Pros

    The product could really disrupt the commercial building management industry, and do a lot of good to conserve our natural resources. I believed in the mission fully, and the vision is solid. They do hold the potential to secure a very lucrative dimension of IoT, if they can get ahead of the bigger players in the energy field. If you are looking for a hip Oakland software company, with ping pong and kegs and mandatory learning sessions into the evenings, this is your place. Extra points if you ride a bicycle, drink only trendy local coffee, and you have no life outside of work.

    Cons

    This is a team of white guys, both techie and trust fund types, who hire a few pretty women for sales and customer facing teams. Don't expect to get a promotion, or a raise, for at least 3 years. Appreciation for hard work is touted at monthly meetings, however the daily grind of disrespectful interactions with founders, expectations of long work hours in the office, and the impact of multiple rounds of layoffs finally killed my willingness to put up with the tech culture games.

    Continue reading
    Lucid2017-03-30
  10. Helpful (1)

    "A challenging but rewarding work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Product Manager in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lucid for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of great people work here. The most successful employees are very driven and truly believe in the company's vision - leading to a higher forgiveness level for "growing pains" and the typical conflict and technical debt of a growing company in an evolving industry. I have seen incredible progress internally over the past few years. With the addition of several experienced VPs and some hard work in all of the teams, there have been great strides taken towards more collaborative and efficient processes. The groups are respectful and helpful to each other and cross-team collaboration has led to better problem escalation and accountability. Lucid is a great place for problem solvers with enough patience to deal with some operational and technical issues. We aren't perfect, but the energy and passion across the company keep us motivated to continually improve. I personally feel fulfilled when our products help customers accomplish things they hadn't been able to do before. I'm also hopeful about the company's future. Also, Oakland is awesome. Proximity to food, BART, and Lake Merritt could not be better.

    Cons

    Tech debt and older products weigh us down, but hard work and meticulous strategy will get us through it. A small eng team means tough compromises in the roadmap. Historically it's been difficult for the young(ish) employee base to find mentorship and solid leadership, but this has drastically changed with some stellar new leaders.

    Continue reading
    Lucid2016-04-04
Found 20 reviews