Lucidworks Reviews

Updated Mar 5, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
42%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Lucidworks CEO  Will Hayes (no image)
Will Hayes
49 Ratings
Pros
  • "There are lots of really smart people here(in 5 reviews)

  • "There are some good people here(in 4 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "We'll get that right but at the moment we're feeling some growing pains(in 6 reviews)

  • "At this point, I think the HR team might be twice the size of the sales engineering team and why(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place

      Mar 5, 2021 - Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A good amount of Pros

      Cons

      Not many cons or things

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Search and AI/ML with spark onboard

      Jan 19, 2021 - Field Engineer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      innovative quadrant leader at reported by Gartner

      Cons

      lots of work, some travel

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      No effective C-level leadership and a product the company doesn’t use

      Feb 16, 2021 - Technology 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are some good people who do their best to help their coworkers and customers. There is a strong effort to bring diversity and inclusion to the company and open discussion and education about this topic.

      Cons

      There have been many posts about the ineffectiveness of the C-level team and it’s all true. Each year the executive team tries to reinvent the company and the product and each year there’s a new challenge that we can overcome if we just do XYZ. Company kickoffs begin with the CEO trying to inspire staff with new visions, new directions, and a plan to grow the product and customer base; and each year we start over. Job postings have increased yet we’ve had very little employee growth during the last couple of years. Attrition is high and departments work in silos. It speaks volumes about the ineffective leadership across each department. We have a product that many positive reviews suggest is a “search leader”, yet we don’t use our own product internally. Why? It’s a question that has never been answered. If you choose to join this company, you will hear terms like “summits” and “basecamp.” It’s a creative analogy to mountain climbing the executive team likes to use to rally around making our product better and helping our customers achieve their goals. You may hear phrases like, “We can’t make it to the summit without bringing everyone with us.” Year after year, the problem is leadership likes to move or “blow up” the mountain we’re all striving to climb together. As a result, everyone in the company falls down the mountain in the avalanche. Teams decimated. Morale is dipping. Very few take command. The list goes on and on. We can’t make it to the summit when the executive team constantly destroys the mountain. Some may say, these are the growing pains of any startup. Lucidworks was founded in 2007 and the CEO has been in charge for over 7 years. At what point does the “growing pains” excuse get tossed out and real, effective change is made? Values: The People Team will overly emphasize the “values” of the company, yet they are rarely practiced. Honor people: there are many in this company that will do whatever it takes and happily work with you to get the job done, which is refreshing. Be curious: Many have been curious about the future of this company, why departments are allowed to function in vacuums, etc. Some have asked about this in eNPS surveys but it falls on deaf ears. We are told to ask why we do things a certain way, yet I rarely get an answer. Champion customers: This is a tough one. I believe many in the company want to do what’s best for their customers. The issue is there is no real, effective plan to do that. Some employees are left to flounder on doing what’s best. Align & commit: A favorite phrase in tech. Leadership keeps changing the vision of what we should align and commit to. You may get alignment within your department, but don’t expect that when working across departments. Break the bottle: This is perhaps the one you’ll hear the most from day 1. It’s good in theory, but new ideas, curiosity, and challenging the status quo are not truly encouraged. Enjoy this: If you enjoy taking one step forward and two steps back annually or if you like constant change for the sake of change maybe this is the place for you. I don’t know how long this Board will allow the same ineffective decisions to perpetuate. Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      severely disjointed exec team

      Jan 18, 2021 - Engineer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are some good people here

      Cons

      Far too many to count

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Company is a search leader

      Aug 16, 2020 - Senior Software Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Innovative and creative company Talented tech team Friendly working environment and work from home policies

      Cons

      Pains of a growing company

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Too much CS/PS BS and not enough Engineering and Product Management

      Jun 3, 2020 - Search Engineer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Evolving from an on-premises offering to the cloud; new focus is on building features that add value instead of unnecessary plumbing Strong product architecture and vision Opportunities to gain hands-on experience with cloud platforms, Kubernetes, microservices, ML modeling, search, and big data Product management has been weak, if not outright incompetent for the past several years; new head of product is bringing in fresh, technical PMs to address product short-comings

      Cons

      PS consultants lack basic cloud knowledge & skills and prefer whining about change instead of improving their craft Product has too many rough edges, especially in the UI and docs, but leadership is not investing in fixing these issues Bloated Customer success org filled with non-technical people that are in over their head on basic technical concepts; they are glorified meeting schedulers that panic over every issue, there's no buffer between these panicked CS people and the engineering org Product is built on Solr Cloud which is too unstable at scale; company needs to either invest heavily in making Solr more robust or build a better solution for the cloud. The Solr team seems clueless about these issues.

      Continue reading
      15 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Don't Believe the Gripe

      Jun 17, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1) Huge market opportunity that extends far beyond search + AI and touches many adjacent, lucrative markets. If we nail this thing, we can build an amazing business. 2) Genuinely good people. Yes there are some exceptions, but this place has a lot of heart and most of the employees are smart, helpful and just downright good folks. 3) I've seen some of the recent negative reviews, but it just hasn't been my experience at the company. Nobody likes getting made redundant (especially in times like these), so I can understand the raw nerves, but you should take the reviews with a grain of salt.

      Cons

      The Cons are typical of any burgeoning enterprise software startup - tough to get everyone rowing in the same direction, a large workload, general frustrations at trying to move a business in a new direction. I do think Lucidworks needs to get more disciplined. The market opportunity won't last forever and the company needs to execute this pivot.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company culture, solid customer base, getting better at strategy

      Jun 15, 2020 - Marketing in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoy going to work every day, and I get to collaborate with kind, intelligent colleagues. We have hundreds of happy customers who believe in what our product already does for them and who look forward to new features in the roadmap. Our product delivery cadence is becoming faster and more predictable.

      Cons

      Our Fusion product strategy has been inconsistent, but that is changing with our focus on the cloud. Our company is going through some growing pains, shaking off the scrappy, manual work processes of a small company and moving towards more mature, program-based approaches that match our current size and market presence.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Abandon ship!! These positive reviews are tailored

      Sep 8, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - The company was able to get some great funding so, you'll go to some great parties and eat some great snacks - Handful of the people here might be the good ones

      Cons

      - It's all a sham! All this glory that you see is a facade. Management is so loose with funding. A huge portion is spent on extravagant parties and swanky offices and not the stuff that matters - THIS COMPANY HAS NO VISION!! The direction changes every 6 months or sooner and many employees are displaced because of that. Management cannot decide what this company wants to be, even if their life depends on it - Politics is rampant. Not one person here can be trusted. Especially HR! - People are lured with promises of growth and titles and then they get left out in the cold shortly after with no recourse - All the good employees have left and gone to other companies. They knew it was time to say goodbye to a failing company - Management is incompetent.

      Continue reading
      22 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Committed to sustainable growth

      Apr 9, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Open executive team committed to expanding the capabilities and reach of the Fusion platform. There's definitely some bumps in the road as there are at any company this size, but there's honesty in confronting them and making the changes necessary to address them. Ultimately this company is committed to delivering successful customer outcomes.

      Cons

      There are still a lot of people building the airplane while it's flying so you come across some process breakdowns and tooling confusion amongst employees.

      6 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 67 English Reviews

    Work at Lucidworks? Share Your Experiences

    Lucidworks logo
    or