Lull Reviews | Glassdoor

Lull Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
89%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Lull CEO Sven Klein (no image)
Sven Klein
3 Ratings
  1. "Great place to make a difference in a growing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lull full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love feeling like I work with my buddies. I enjoy coming to work every day working with my team and we all are very invested in seeing each other succeed as a whole. There is huge potential for someone who is skilled and knows how to navigate the needs of the company and the varying personalities of the partners. Coming in when I did, it's been cool to feel like I've personally helped shape the culture and values. Even though the partners make many decisions, it truly feels like it's OUR company, as employees. Unlimited PTO is awesome and work-life balance is something that actually matters, not just a millennial buzzword. I love the casual atmosphere but don't mistake that for it being laid back. You're here to get stuff done and people are relying on you to do so. Show up focused every day and you'll do great. I feel heard when I have an idea, concern, etc. I truly feel like my professional contributions are appreciated and I make a difference in the success of the company. Performance bonuses available, based on your department. The tech is insane. If you have an idea, our developers and/or CTO can likely find a way to make it happen.

    Cons

    Typical growing pains of a small company with entrepreneurial owners who are learning how to manage a large group while not going overboard with spending money. The office is plain, white-walled and efficient but has what you need (read, no pingpong tables, nap pods, laptops, planters, or loud artwork on the walls — only a CON if you're expecting the typical "startup" vibe). The organization is flat which is great in so many ways but is unfortunate for anyone who is wanting to better learn how to manage people, departments, or even have a direct report. Decisions are so data-driven that it loses a tiny bit of humanity. Not a place for you if you care about BRAND at all. No 401k

    Continue reading
    Lull2019-08-20
  2. "Pretty good overall."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support Representative in Goleta, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lull full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility in hours, competitive pay, benefits, like, PTO, sick pay, and health insurance.

    Cons

    Heavily micromanaged environment. Tethered to a headset. Employees are discouraged from using their own logic, reason or critical thought as every situation is treated exactly the same and a process must be followed. However, plenty of people are fine with this, so really just personal preference. There is also a pretty high turnover.

    Continue reading
    Lull2019-09-19
  3. "Amazing place to work, but need to invest more in employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Lull full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, great culture, lots of room to grow in skills

    Cons

    bad pay, need to invest in employees

    Continue reading
    Lull2019-09-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, great people, lots of potential!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst Intern in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lull part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly, fun, and motivated start-up-that-made-it company culture. Loved coming into work everyday. Working alongside intelligent people made me want to push myself to learn more, and apply myself as much as possible. I never met a single person who seemed like they didn't love working there. The company has tons of potential and will undoubtedly continue to grow based on the quality of work behind the scenes. Casual dress code was nice!

    Cons

    This isn't a crazy cash tornado start-up, so there aren't any massage rooms, trampolines, or free gourmet lunches. Somehow I managed.

    Continue reading
    Lull2019-08-03
  5. "Just OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sleep Expert in Goleta, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lull full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work goes by quickly and most of the team is able to work through tasks. It's a new company, so I can cut some slack behind their flaws as they grow. New updates are given frequently so there is something new to learn and incorporate on the job. Free snacks and overall active team. Data-driven company and you learn a lot of useful skills for entry-level.

    Cons

    The pay and raise incentives are infrequent. Bonuses aren't really given and seeing our ranks or who did well this week isn't really a big booster to morale. It also isn't great having one side of the office separate from the support side. It'd be nice if they see the hard work that goes into customer support and to have direct assistance rather than through messaging channels. Too many trainees that never stay. Hiring and staffing are not enough and the remaining people have to take on the load. Although it's a data-driven company, we are the guinea pigs behind it and it leads to less flexibility when working with a customer to get the ideal results within a phone call.

    Continue reading
    Lull2019-08-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "A place where your contributions are valued"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lull full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have been working at Lull since its inception and have had the pleasure of seeing it grow into a full blown company. The owners work very hard in instilling ownership, experimentation with careful analysis,, and commitment to processes that are proven to work. I have learned invaluable skills through mentorship that you don't tend to see at companies of this type. The atmosphere is relaxed but takes the work very seriously. The company also values humility and honesty, which has always helped avoid any politics when driving important directives forward. I continue being proud of furthering a career at Lull.

    Cons

    In any growing business, keeping a centralized core among all departments can be a challenge. This can sometimes mean departments don't have visibility into initiatives being pushed by other departments. This doesn't tend to be a real issue unless a conflict of some sort arises (for example, if a software test leads to system errors that impact the work of others). I'll note that it's a challenge that is not unrecognized by the company and there are efforts to connect departments closer together, at the manager level and in general.

    Lull2019-07-26
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Best Place I've Ever Worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lull full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A culture of personal accountability, empirical outcomes, and zero drama that starts at the top.

    Cons

    Open floor plan can cause distractions.

    Lull2019-07-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Growing company filled with friendly and motivated individuals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Data Scientist in Goleta, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lull full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Startup culture with friendly employees that provides everyone with an opportunity to grow and pick up new skills.

    Cons

    No 401k at the moment but HR is currently working on it.

    Lull2019-07-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lull full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people here are great.

    Cons

    There are no downsides of working at Lull.

    Lull2019-07-12
  10. Helpful (1)

    "The perfect place to build your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Science in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lull full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lull has personal, financial, and career growth opportunities abound The senior management has a proven-track record and an incredible dedication to the company's success Lull is at the cutting edge of data science, technology, and marketing strategies Compensation is based on added value and performance Everyone at the company cares about one another and the company's success

    Cons

    no company deals like gym memberships

    Continue reading
    Lull2019-07-11

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 18 reviews
</>Embed