Lulu.com Reviews | Glassdoor

Lulu.com Reviews

Updated Jul 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 64 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Lulu.com CEO Robert Young (no image)
Robert Young
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "This was a huge help with work/life balance(in 11 reviews)

  • "Benefits are great, free snacks in the break room, Pool Table, Foosball, Movie Fridays, and many many other great things(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "I really enjoyed the agile development cycle at Lulu but this process will get thrown out the window when a hard deadline comes up(in 13 reviews)

  • "Upper management continues to make bad decision after bad decision(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A Development Renaissance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lulu.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A few year's ago Lulu went thru a change in technical leadership from the CTO all the way down. That leadership has brought in many progressive DevOps oriented concepts and has delivered several new modern products built upon a cloud hosted micro-service platform. The future is bright for Lulu.com!

    Cons

    None that I've seen so far

    Lulu.com2018-08-16

    Lulu.com Response

    January 21, 2019VP Marketing

    SO bright, we gotta wear shades! Thanks for the review!

  2. "amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lulu.com full-time

    Pros

    amazing, clean, nice people,

    Cons

    to many people, always crowed

    Lulu.com2018-10-08

    Lulu.com Response

    January 21, 2019VP Marketing

    Thank you! We pride ourselves on hiring amazing, clean and nice people! I guess we do get a little carried away and hire too many sometimes, but hopefully you're getting used to the crowd and will continue to enjoy it here!

  3. Helpful (3)

    "So much potential, so much turnover, not enough focus."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lulu.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The core product of this company—online, DIY self-publishing—is truly inspirational. Just about everyone who I worked with was talented and passionate about the work they were doing. For the most part, the atmosphere is relaxed and amenities such as free snacks and ping pong tables make the company feel more like a start-up and less like a stuffy corporate office.

    Cons

    There are many issues with this company, but I think the core of the problems can be boiled down to these two: Extremely high turnover - In the span of 3 years, my department's VP changed 6 times, my entire department was fired then rehired, I witnessed 2-3 massive layoffs in other departments, and the CEO was let go. This made it impossible to build traction on long-term plans, develop any kind of clout with... management, and build trust and familiarity with a team. Misguided leadership - At every turn we were told about some "newer better" product we were going to offer while at the same time the core product—the online self-publishing application—grew older and older without real updates. 6 months later, that new product would be cancelled and another would be announced.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus on your core product! Make your online self-publishing application the best on the market, expand available printing options, make ebooks easier to understand, link API services ( Dropbox, Evernote, Google Drive, Wattpad, etc ) to the application to make it easier for people to publish, and build partnerships with more people in the publishing industry.

    Lulu.com2018-03-28

    Lulu.com Response

    August 16, 2018VP Marketing

    Lulu has definitely experienced some growing pains and its fair share of missteps, but we've tried to learn from each one, including the feedback we read on these boards. We have an amazing Executive team right now that is very Dev focused and working on many of the very things you ...

    Show More
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Morrisville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lulu.com part-time

    Pros

    - Great vacation days (you will always get holidays and weekends off) - Self driven job (gives you freedom to prioritize and no managers are consistently over your shoulder) - A true hour long lunch for those who need it on some days - Some great coworkers with a variety of interests - Lenient cell phone use for family emergencies

    Cons

    - Sectionalized office that almost makes each group a clique (not much team work) - Miscommunication from management - Limited ability to progress within the company (most if not all positions are filled) - High turnover rate due to inability to manage and lack of empathy for workers

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to learn how to communicate with their workers. Do not expect your employees to know how every online processing system work or have thorough knowledge of your products if you do not teach them. Ideally it would be great to provide a presentation on the products and more communication.

    Lulu.com2018-01-09
  5. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lulu.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed working with my team.

    Cons

    I wish the pay were higher.

    Lulu.com2017-09-21
  6. Helpful (8)

    "I'm so pleased with my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lulu.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Since November 2015 I’m on and off working for Lulu, decided to start working full time for them in September 2016. The work has to be done, but it can be done in a cool environment with lots of cool co-workers, lots of personal input to get it done and on the side, enormous stock of snacks and drinks for everyone to grab. The full focus is keeping production time into the set boundaries so authors will get their... book(s) in time

    Show More

    Cons

    From my point of view there is little to nothing to complain, I enjoy going to work and that’s all that counts

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work and the human face to all employees

    Lulu.com2017-04-20
  7. Helpful (8)

    "My Personal Experience of Working at Lulu Press inc for 6 Months"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Global Fulfillment Print Support QA in Morrisville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lulu.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lulu is not your typical office environment. From the floor plan to the amenities I can tell thought has been put into keeping everyone comfortably in touch with each other and this makes for a pleasant and productive day. Big Boy bean bags are scattered around for people to use when the cubicle cramps set in, large monitors keep everyone updated on how Lulu is doing. Recreational equipment and a private bar with... dart board come in handy to blow off stress. Communication tools and practices make it easy for the teams to collaborate and push forward. The galley is spacious and well stocked with several stocked refrigerators and a wide assortment of healthy and not so healthy munchies. You can literally survive on nothing but the food supply here. Just camp out. Lulu is a B Corp which means a lot to me coming from an environmental activist background. We compost, recycle, and are pretty lean and green in how me run the office. Lulu encourages employees to volunteer for community outreach activities like working a day for Habitat for Humanity or sponsoring and building a Little Lending Library for a local bookstore. I can say with a straight face that I love working here, and look forward to coming to work. I feel like my expertise and experience are appreciated and encouraged. I feel invested in the success of Lulu and am stimulated by the opportunity to use my special skills to improve our company. The health insurance is very affordable and the PTO and vacation package is generous IMO. WFH and flexible scheduling are a big plus and I made use of them extensively as I relocated from out of state while still getting work done.

    Show More

    Cons

    I'd have to dig deep to find something to really complain about. I know it probably sounds candy-ass. As a 56 year old guy that has been running his own businesses for 1/2 his life it was not easy to wrap my head around working for a company other than my own. I was especially worried about being accepted because of my age. Most of Lulu employees are your typical millennial generation of kids that I can kind of... relate to, but to them I probably appear to be an ancient. So far no problems there, but it's not really a gripe it's just an observation.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I would like to see some kaizen events at Lulu. I can't think of a company that is more prepared and ready to introduce them. Considering the importance of getting our direction defined accurately it would be good to adopt the methodology of involving the grunts in the decision making of the top brass from the top down. Kaizen can only be implemented from upper management via champions and a commitment to... continuous improvement. It would be exciting to see this come to the floor.

    Show More
    Lulu.com2017-04-13
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Plenty of Room for Opportunities, but Not Much Handholding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Morrisville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lulu.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've worked at Lulu for many years, and while I've seen the ups and the downs, there is a genuine sense of the corner being turned. Sure, there have been distractions in the past with separate verticals, but now that the focus has turned back to doing what Lulu does best (servicing the needs of authors and businesses around the world in need of print), I have a new sense of optimism. The team I work with is filled... with wonderful people, and at this point, most of the negative attitudes have left for other ventures. Atmosphere is nice, casual, and energetic. Obligatory snack room comment (though more options with less sugars would be appreciated).

    Show More

    Cons

    The self publishing world is niche, in that there's not much training you can do externally to prepare you for working within the industry. By hiring people who are "bored of the product" or think we aren't exciting enough to sell, you only shoot yourself in the foot and discredit the hearts of the people who are passionate about the service provided. Those people also refuse to learn about the true benefits that... Lulu can provide and end up floundering when new projects don't quite pan out.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make the relationships between managers and direct reports more open and communicative so that more people feel included and empowered to find their own path. Mentoring goes beyond simply identifying the "next step" to take.

    Lulu.com2017-04-06
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lulu.com full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work environment, good culture, wonderful people, great place to cut your teeth in the technology space. If you put in the time and effort Lulu will help get your career off the ground.

    Cons

    Office location (Morrisville - RTP) Not the highest salaries when compared to other companies with similar positions High turnover

    Advice to Management

    Keep innovating. In the self-publishing space we have to continue to innovate to be successful. Any idea should be welcomed and vetted properly by management, no matter how small or who it comes from.

    Lulu.com2017-04-19
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Not perfect but I enjoyed coming to work each day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Morrisville, NC

    I worked at Lulu.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    • Your coworkers are awesome. Never once was there any issues between coworkers within my team. Even my overseas teammates were super friendly and awesome. • The work environment is great. Casual dress, snacks, lots of laughing, fun company activities. • Many opportunities to learn. I started at Lulu straight out of college and there were several very smart people that took me under their wing and taught me so... much. Everyone is willing to help and Lulu gives you plenty of room to grow. • Cool projects. When I started I got to work on brand new code that I got to help develop from the ground up with a small team. I was not just doing bug fixes on legacy code. It was an awesome experience. • If you are interested in something or have an idea of a different way to approach something you are able and encouraged to explore it. • If you need to work at home once in a while it is not a big deal. This was a huge help with work/life balance. • Good benefits and above average PTO.

    Show More

    Cons

    • Your coworkers are awesome but there is so much turnover that you are always worried someone will leave or be fired. …Or that you will be fired. • There is a lot of pressure to make deadlines (and stay late) for deadlines you weren’t involved in deciding. Having to work late and weekends isn’t the norm but every once in a while is basically required – or you will get talked to. I really enjoyed the agile... development cycle at Lulu but this process will get thrown out the window when a hard deadline comes up. Final thoughts- No company is perfect. I enjoyed coming to work every day and left for reasons not related to Lulu.

    Show More
    Lulu.com2017-04-17
Found 64 reviews