Lulu.com Reviews

Updated Mar 8, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 73 of over 78 reviews

3.3
52%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Lulu.com CEO Robert Young (no image)
Robert Young
5 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Learning how to fly.

    May 27, 2021 - Customer Experience in Research Triangle Park, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Ample opportunity for growth. People here care about inclusion in the workplace. Folks want to see success in others, not just themselves. The SaaS mindset of the company is getting better. New office right next to Boxyard.

    Cons

    Still working on the shift to where this company wants to go and it’s slow at times. Resources are thin.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Lulu is a purpose-driven community of professionals who remember to have fun.

    Dec 26, 2020 - Junior Web Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lulu is a place where professionals can grow. I am constantly inspired by my colleagues and the creators/authors/professionals we support. Every colleague I've collaborated with at Lulu has always treated me with dignity and respect. This is going to sound corny but I wake up every morning super excited! I believe the work I do is impactful and I'm always learning a lot. Lulu lets me work from home when I need to. Lulu provides snacks and encourages folks to take a breather if they need it. I know that I will always be grateful for my experience at Lulu. Also, I have made connections at Lulu that will stand the test of time. I'm confident in Lulu's business initiatives because decisions are backed by data. For the same reason, I'm confident Lulu will continue to grow and innovate.

    Cons

    At this time, I cannot think of anything I don't like about working for Lulu. If I do have a concern or complaint, I'm lucky to have management who I can talk to.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    This company is just another tax write-off for Bob Young, let’s be real.

    Feb 17, 2021 - Customer Voice Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good for a first job, good salary and benefits package for type of work. Fun office, free snacks, and genuinely sweet coworkers. Mac environment (pro for me). Extremely casual dress.

    Cons

    Undercurrent of tension between departments, higher-ups begrudge employees when they want to grow (so you’re forced to just leave), lack of transparency regarding growth opportunities (just pile on more interdepartmental work with the vague promise that there might be an open position “soon” in the department you hope to enter), customers are very stereotypically annoying and tiresome, superiority complex in certain departments, open office plan leads to noise complaints from other departments since customer service necessitates talking, the website is finicky, pointless and patronizing “training” courses on customer service-oriented things (managers need to justify their existence, right?). Overall, this company operates under the guise of coolness, but it only gives enough of a crap about employees to keep them from immediately leaving. It’s good at first... and then it isn’t. BUT if it comes down to two customer service jobs, take this one.

    5 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Lulu is a company that cares

    Dec 8, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lulu cares about employees and values them. Management listens to suggestions and takes action to improve. The People team is constantly looking for ways to make Lulu better company to work at.

    Cons

    Growth opportunities can be scarce, but if you are patient and work hard, the right opportunity will come by.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Used to be great, now outlook is bleak.

    Jun 27, 2020 - A Customer-facing Support Position 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits - health insurance and 401k matching are great Flexible scheduling - allows for family time/ emergencies/ etc The company's mission is admirable

    Cons

    I absolutely adored working here for the first couple of years, but then they decided to launch "Lulu 2.0" ..... full of bugs and major issues..... in the middle of a pandemic. Suddenly, all customer-facing teams became the target of the consequences of the executive team's poor and hasty decisions. Couple that with the inability to give raises (due to the pandemic) for extra hard work and long hours, and you've got a company bursting with extremely unhappy employees who want to quit for the sake of their mental health.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful

    Lulu.com Response

    VP of People & Culture

    Thank you for your review and your candid feedback. Your point about taking employees into consideration is extremely important. As we continue to look at our business strategy going forward, we will also stay focused and dedicated to ensuring we're hearing from our employees on important matters. From your review, it seems we have not been doing a good enough job. If you're open to it, I'd love to talk with you one-on-one and better understand your perspective. Please reach out to me via email. Thank you for your consideration. - Erin Miller - VP of People and Culture at Lulu.com.

  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    A good place to start not to grown so much

    Nov 24, 2020 - Bilingual Customer Service Representative in Morrisville, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly environment Young feel company Flexibility Holidays Good Manager

    Cons

    Paychecks Growth Very competitive colleagues Boring after a while

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Lulu is a place for motivated and passionate individuals who can work as a team

    Apr 4, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Our mission at Lulu is focused and sound, help the "every" author have a chance in an industry with little interest in empowering creators. Anyone working at Lulu knows this if they aren't staring out the window waiting for some other mythical super job. Take advantage of the opportunities around by getting involved and one will find Lulu starkly different from these glassdoor reviews. Unlike other reviewers claim, Lulu has a small management team that works tirelessly to further our core mission. I cannot fathom the recent comments attacking our CEO and the executive team. I have worked closely with all of them. They care deeply and are doing their best to innovate a stagnant industry. In many years past, yes we had management issues, but now they are all true spirits trying their best to support us all. It is hard work to innovate in an industry that does not want to change. I have come to appreciate the experience and patience our executives provide as we all wrestle with complex challenges. If anything they are arguably too supportive and listen too much. It has created an indulgent environment for a few bad apples that can't see past their own ambitions to the larger mission.

    Cons

    Negative ex employees bashing a great company on Glassdoor is the biggest con. I have worked closely with every manager and executive including our CEO. They deserve better. It is a bunch of biased self indulgent BS...

    Continue reading
    9 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great Culture, Paying for Old Sins

    Jul 29, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone who works here is great to be around. You'll finish debating something intense, then have a great chat afterward. You will make friends here. The culture is the best I've seen. I can't say enough good things about it. No one gives anyone trouble for leaving early to take care of a sick kid, because they trust you to finish what you need to get done. People actually eat lunch together. The vacation policy is great. The health insurance is less great, but it's still a lot better than other places. I genuinely like working here.

    Cons

    There's a steady business here that could really be strong if they focused on it, but that's not enough for them. The current leadership is the most promising since I've been here, but they're trying to do two years of work in six months with half the people. I understand. There are many large dull things that need to get done before they can do the cool things. But they are trying to do all of those large dull things at once. One after the other, so that problems from the last large thing never get fixed. I should be clear that they are paying for the sins of previous management. The new team has big ambitions and maybe the patience to pull it off. (The CEO listed on Glassdoor is the previous CEO.) An actual current con: There is not a single woman on the IT or programming teams. That's like twenty people. It's weird.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Very happy working at Lulu

    Jun 6, 2013 - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been here for a few months now and have to say Lulu is a great place to work. The atmosphere is very entrepreneurial and engaging. The people here are smart, energetic, and most of all, passionate about the work we do and the customers we serve. Being a small company, there are a million ways any one of us can contribute and do something great, we are encouraged to take risks and think outside the box. And I should point out that the work-life balance is very good, it is not a sweatshop by any stretch of the imagination, the work we do is more important than the hours we keep. Almost every day I get to work with brilliant people from different departments and disciplines on projects that will shape the future of the company. I've worked for large and small companies in my working life and seldom has there been so much opportunity to make a difference as there is here at Lulu. It's truly what you make of it. I've never felt so welcome either - can't tell you how many people have said "I'm glad you're here working on this with us.." that NEVER gets old. The leadership team is very accessible and are always willing to listen to new ideas. I am very pleased with my decision to join this family of Lunatics.

    Cons

    Lulu is very much in a transition and that has been a tough road - but I give the management team credit for recognizing that their "cheese had moved" and making the decision to explore new paths.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Plenty of Room for Opportunities, but Not Much Handholding

    Apr 6, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Morrisville, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've worked at Lulu for many years, and while I've seen the ups and the downs, there is a genuine sense of the corner being turned. Sure, there have been distractions in the past with separate verticals, but now that the focus has turned back to doing what Lulu does best (servicing the needs of authors and businesses around the world in need of print), I have a new sense of optimism. The team I work with is filled with wonderful people, and at this point, most of the negative attitudes have left for other ventures. Atmosphere is nice, casual, and energetic. Obligatory snack room comment (though more options with less sugars would be appreciated).

    Cons

    The self publishing world is niche, in that there's not much training you can do externally to prepare you for working within the industry. By hiring people who are "bored of the product" or think we aren't exciting enough to sell, you only shoot yourself in the foot and discredit the hearts of the people who are passionate about the service provided. Those people also refuse to learn about the true benefits that Lulu can provide and end up floundering when new projects don't quite pan out.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 73 Reviews

Lulu.com Reviews FAQs

Lulu.com has an overall rating of 3.3 out of 5, based on over 78 reviews left anonymously by employees. 52% of employees would recommend working at Lulu.com to a friend and 41% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Lulu.com employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.4 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Lulu.com. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

52% of Lulu.com employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Lulu.com 4.0 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.6 for culture and values and 3.0 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Lulu.com to be work life balance, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be management, career development, senior leadership.

Popular Careers with Lulu.com Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Lulu.com? Share Your Experiences

Lulu.com logo
or