Lulu.com Reviews | Glassdoor

Lulu.com Reviews

Updated Jul 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 64 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Lulu.com CEO Robert Young (no image)
Robert Young
3 Ratings
  1. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Exec 

    I have been working at Lulu.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good. Everything good. Love lulu

    Cons

    No cons at all. I love lulu

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees right. Increase staff benefit would be great

    Lulu.com2019-07-30
  2. "amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lulu.com full-time

    Pros

    amazing, clean, nice people,

    Cons

    to many people, always crowed

    Lulu.com2018-10-08

    Lulu.com Response

    January 21, 2019VP Marketing

    Thank you! We pride ourselves on hiring amazing, clean and nice people! I guess we do get a little carried away and hire too many sometimes, but hopefully you're getting used to the crowd and will continue to enjoy it here!

  3. "A Development Renaissance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lulu.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A few year's ago Lulu went thru a change in technical leadership from the CTO all the way down. That leadership has brought in many progressive DevOps oriented concepts and has delivered several new modern products built upon a cloud hosted micro-service platform. The future is bright for Lulu.com!

    Cons

    None that I've seen so far

    Lulu.com2018-08-16

    Lulu.com Response

    January 21, 2019VP Marketing

    SO bright, we gotta wear shades! Thanks for the review!

  4. Helpful (3)

    "So much potential, so much turnover, not enough focus."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lulu.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The core product of this company—online, DIY self-publishing—is truly inspirational. Just about everyone who I worked with was talented and passionate about the work they were doing. For the most part, the atmosphere is relaxed and amenities such as free snacks and ping pong tables make the company feel more like a start-up and less like a stuffy corporate office.

    Cons

    There are many issues with this company, but I think the core of the problems can be boiled down to these two: Extremely high turnover - In the span of 3 years, my department's VP changed 6 times, my entire department was fired then rehired, I witnessed 2-3 massive layoffs in other departments, and the CEO was let go. This made it impossible to build traction on long-term plans, develop any kind of clout with... management, and build trust and familiarity with a team. Misguided leadership - At every turn we were told about some "newer better" product we were going to offer while at the same time the core product—the online self-publishing application—grew older and older without real updates. 6 months later, that new product would be cancelled and another would be announced.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus on your core product! Make your online self-publishing application the best on the market, expand available printing options, make ebooks easier to understand, link API services ( Dropbox, Evernote, Google Drive, Wattpad, etc ) to the application to make it easier for people to publish, and build partnerships with more people in the publishing industry.

    Lulu.com2018-03-28

    Lulu.com Response

    August 16, 2018VP Marketing

    Lulu has definitely experienced some growing pains and its fair share of missteps, but we've tried to learn from each one, including the feedback we read on these boards. We have an amazing Executive team right now that is very Dev focused and working on many of the very things you ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Morrisville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lulu.com part-time

    Pros

    - Great vacation days (you will always get holidays and weekends off) - Self driven job (gives you freedom to prioritize and no managers are consistently over your shoulder) - A true hour long lunch for those who need it on some days - Some great coworkers with a variety of interests - Lenient cell phone use for family emergencies

    Cons

    - Sectionalized office that almost makes each group a clique (not much team work) - Miscommunication from management - Limited ability to progress within the company (most if not all positions are filled) - High turnover rate due to inability to manage and lack of empathy for workers

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to learn how to communicate with their workers. Do not expect your employees to know how every online processing system work or have thorough knowledge of your products if you do not teach them. Ideally it would be great to provide a presentation on the products and more communication.

    Lulu.com2018-01-09
  6. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lulu.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed working with my team.

    Cons

    I wish the pay were higher.

    Lulu.com2017-09-21
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Eh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lulu.com full-time

    Pros

    The top postings are correct. The snacks and work life balance were nice.

    Cons

    The top postings for cons are correct. The CEO, Nigel Lee, is a liar. It is not even debatable. Managers were transparent and there was a ton of gossip, so when executives mess up or treat people poorly, people find out.

    Advice to Management

    Show your employees you care about them by spending time with them at work and not just at weird company meetings. I don't know if any of the executives even knew my name or noticed I left.

    Lulu.com2017-04-26
  8. Helpful (8)

    "I'm so pleased with my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lulu.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Since November 2015 I’m on and off working for Lulu, decided to start working full time for them in September 2016. The work has to be done, but it can be done in a cool environment with lots of cool co-workers, lots of personal input to get it done and on the side, enormous stock of snacks and drinks for everyone to grab. The full focus is keeping production time into the set boundaries so authors will get their... book(s) in time

    Show More

    Cons

    From my point of view there is little to nothing to complain, I enjoy going to work and that’s all that counts

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work and the human face to all employees

    Lulu.com2017-04-20
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lulu.com full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work environment, good culture, wonderful people, great place to cut your teeth in the technology space. If you put in the time and effort Lulu will help get your career off the ground.

    Cons

    Office location (Morrisville - RTP) Not the highest salaries when compared to other companies with similar positions High turnover

    Advice to Management

    Keep innovating. In the self-publishing space we have to continue to innovate to be successful. Any idea should be welcomed and vetted properly by management, no matter how small or who it comes from.

    Lulu.com2017-04-19
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Unique chance to be part of a great time that is changing the industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lulu.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Open culture where each idea or approach can be freely discussed and adopted. No nonsense mentality and a place where everyone can feel themselves a mini-entrepreneur.

    Cons

    Adopting a strategy to grow as a multi-side platform made that some demotivated people left and were rumoring negatively around. Now full speed ahead!

    Advice to Management

    keep on going!

    Lulu.com2017-04-18
Found 64 reviews