Lulu.com "lulu" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Lulu.com Employee Reviews about "lulu"

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 65 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Lulu.com CEO Robert Young (no image)
Robert Young
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "This was a huge help with work/life balance(in 11 reviews)

  • "Benefits are great, free snacks in the break room, Pool Table, Foosball, Movie Fridays, and many many other great things(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "I really enjoyed the agile development cycle at Lulu but this process will get thrown out the window when a hard deadline comes up(in 14 reviews)

  • "Upper management continues to make bad decision after bad decision(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "lulu"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (8)

    "My Personal Experience of Working at Lulu Press inc for 6 Months"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Global Fulfillment Print Support QA in Morrisville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lulu.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lulu is not your typical office environment. From the floor plan to the amenities I can tell thought has been put into keeping everyone comfortably in touch with each other and this makes for a pleasant and productive day. Big Boy bean bags are scattered around for people to use when the cubicle cramps set in, large monitors keep everyone updated on how Lulu is doing. Recreational equipment and a private bar with... dart board come in handy to blow off stress. Communication tools and practices make it easy for the teams to collaborate and push forward. The galley is spacious and well stocked with several stocked refrigerators and a wide assortment of healthy and not so healthy munchies. You can literally survive on nothing but the food supply here. Just camp out. Lulu is a B Corp which means a lot to me coming from an environmental activist background. We compost, recycle, and are pretty lean and green in how me run the office. Lulu encourages employees to volunteer for community outreach activities like working a day for Habitat for Humanity or sponsoring and building a Little Lending Library for a local bookstore. I can say with a straight face that I love working here, and look forward to coming to work. I feel like my expertise and experience are appreciated and encouraged. I feel invested in the success of Lulu and am stimulated by the opportunity to use my special skills to improve our company. The health insurance is very affordable and the PTO and vacation package is generous IMO. WFH and flexible scheduling are a big plus and I made use of them extensively as I relocated from out of state while still getting work done.

    Show More

    Cons

    I'd have to dig deep to find something to really complain about. I know it probably sounds candy-ass. As a 56 year old guy that has been running his own businesses for 1/2 his life it was not easy to wrap my head around working for a company other than my own. I was especially worried about being accepted because of my age. Most of Lulu employees are your typical millennial generation of kids that I can kind of... relate to, but to them I probably appear to be an ancient. So far no problems there, but it's not really a gripe it's just an observation.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I would like to see some kaizen events at Lulu. I can't think of a company that is more prepared and ready to introduce them. Considering the importance of getting our direction defined accurately it would be good to adopt the methodology of involving the grunts in the decision making of the top brass from the top down. Kaizen can only be implemented from upper management via champions and a commitment to... continuous improvement. It would be exciting to see this come to the floor.

    Show More
    Lulu.com2017-04-13
  2. Helpful (10)

    "Plenty of Room for Opportunities, but Not Much Handholding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Morrisville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lulu.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've worked at Lulu for many years, and while I've seen the ups and the downs, there is a genuine sense of the corner being turned. Sure, there have been distractions in the past with separate verticals, but now that the focus has turned back to doing what Lulu does best (servicing the needs of authors and businesses around the world in need of print), I have a new sense of optimism. The team I work with is filled... with wonderful people, and at this point, most of the negative attitudes have left for other ventures. Atmosphere is nice, casual, and energetic. Obligatory snack room comment (though more options with less sugars would be appreciated).

    Show More

    Cons

    The self publishing world is niche, in that there's not much training you can do externally to prepare you for working within the industry. By hiring people who are "bored of the product" or think we aren't exciting enough to sell, you only shoot yourself in the foot and discredit the hearts of the people who are passionate about the service provided. Those people also refuse to learn about the true benefits that... Lulu can provide and end up floundering when new projects don't quite pan out.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make the relationships between managers and direct reports more open and communicative so that more people feel included and empowered to find their own path. Mentoring goes beyond simply identifying the "next step" to take.

    Lulu.com2017-04-06
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Not perfect but I enjoyed coming to work each day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Morrisville, NC

    I worked at Lulu.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    • Your coworkers are awesome. Never once was there any issues between coworkers within my team. Even my overseas teammates were super friendly and awesome. • The work environment is great. Casual dress, snacks, lots of laughing, fun company activities. • Many opportunities to learn. I started at Lulu straight out of college and there were several very smart people that took me under their wing and taught me so... much. Everyone is willing to help and Lulu gives you plenty of room to grow. • Cool projects. When I started I got to work on brand new code that I got to help develop from the ground up with a small team. I was not just doing bug fixes on legacy code. It was an awesome experience. • If you are interested in something or have an idea of a different way to approach something you are able and encouraged to explore it. • If you need to work at home once in a while it is not a big deal. This was a huge help with work/life balance. • Good benefits and above average PTO.

    Show More

    Cons

    • Your coworkers are awesome but there is so much turnover that you are always worried someone will leave or be fired. …Or that you will be fired. • There is a lot of pressure to make deadlines (and stay late) for deadlines you weren’t involved in deciding. Having to work late and weekends isn’t the norm but every once in a while is basically required – or you will get talked to. I really enjoyed the agile... development cycle at Lulu but this process will get thrown out the window when a hard deadline comes up. Final thoughts- No company is perfect. I enjoyed coming to work every day and left for reasons not related to Lulu.

    Show More
    Lulu.com2017-04-17
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Perception is not always reality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lulu.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working at Lulu was a great experience for me and I find it hard to believe that most of these negative reviews aren't from just a few people who were let go for obvious reasons. I worked with really cool people, who had great ideas and made my job fun. My manager was always supportive of my ideas and growth. There were company events, ping pong tables, tons of great snacks and drinks in the breakroom, nerf gun wars... and more. It seemed like the executive staff, while located mostly in Europe, were invested in making the company better. I also really liked that there was a strong focus on sustainability and community, not just profits.

    Show More

    Cons

    Every company has their share of issues, and it's true this one does too. However, I think everybody has their own perception of those issues and their severity. Where some people may point and say "problem", I think others would point and say"let's solve this". Lulu has so much potential and it's a shame a few negative people want to paint a bad picture of this company that's trying hard to innovate and rebuild.

    Advice to Management

    Do a better job of recruiting, hiring, and training in order to weed out potential negative people.

    Lulu.com2017-03-24
  5. Helpful (12)

    "Recent reviews are not a representation of culture at Lulu."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lulu.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people you work with are awesome.

    Cons

    Everything else. I have worked for Lulu for years. When I started it was in a downward slump that we all believed we could turn around. However after numerous attempts to do everything, the company is still in a downward trend. The current management has decided that appearances are everything there and haven't seemed to really focus any true effort in the areas that need help. Instead, they have spent money on B... Corp status, pubs, and bean bag chairs, while people are being paid below industry average and necessary people and services are left out of the budget. The latest trend of "good" reviews is simply a manifestation of this. Trust me, a company does not go from receiving 1 star ratings (for years) to 5 stars in less than a week without management adding their own spin. If the bipolar nature of this review stack is any indication, you will find Lulu's company culture just as bad. Most of the company is working toward a vision they do not believe in that makes almost no money while biding their time to leave, while the other small percentage is reaping ridiculous benefits for their brown nosing. If you want to work for a company that believes in it's customers, people, and standards, Lulu is not the company for you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Honestly management isn't going to listen to anything placed here at all. If it doesn't make them look good, then they won't do it.

    Lulu.com2017-04-08
  6. Helpful (11)

    "For the creative and confident, a great place to learn and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lulu.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    When I look back on the 4.5 years I spent at Lulu, I'm very grateful for the opportunities and experiences I had there. First, as you'll see in nearly all of the reviews, the people are great. They're the kind of people who are drawn to self-publishing and creativity, who want to work with authors and creators (no matter how weird) who are brave enough to share their ideas with the world. Everyone who works at Lulu... can tell you a story or two about the sometimes bizarre, sometimes brilliant, often heartwarming ways in which Lulu users interact with the platform. It's inspiring and fun. Lulu's culture is intentionally structured to foster innovation and risk-taking. Everyone on staff is encouraged to be dreaming up the Next Big Idea, and change is a constant. It's easy for people who are naturally curious and driven by a genuine interest in what they do to thrive in that environment. Growth may not always come in the form of a raise or a promotion, but the door to learning something new is always open. Those who are interested in the business, confident in what they have to offer and good at adapting to change will get a lot out of working at Lulu - whether they temp for six months or stick around past the 4-year mark.

    Show More

    Cons

    Many team members are uncomfortable with the pace of change, and too much energy is spent worrying and complaining. The atmosphere turns toxic at times, and it can be tough to show up with a good attitude. On a few occasions, unfortunately, I witnessed disrespectful behavior that should not have been tolerated. It doesn't matter how plentiful the snacks are - nobody's performing at their best if they don't feel... respected or valued. If Lulu's culture of innovation is going to work it needs to be clearly communicated and consistently reinforced by leadership actions. The staff needs better support; they need good people management and mentoring so they can be confident and creative, instead of worried that their jobs will soon disappear (see other reviews). The departments with team leads and managers below the VP level fare better than others - so Lulu just needs to duplicate a model that's already proven successful.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep striving toward aggressive, interesting goals, but take care of the staff as you do. Equip them with the encouragement, leadership and tools they need to enjoy the ride and benefit professionally from working at Lulu. If they have all that and they'd still rather work at a bank, there's no shame in recognizing it's just not a good fit - better sooner than later. Beyond that, the usual: formulate a strategy,... determine the roles and responsibilities the business requires, put smart, creative, competent people in the right positions, be transparent. Put that stake in the ground and always lead by example. I know you can do it, and I look forward to watching Lulu do great things in the years ahead.

    Show More
    Lulu.com2016-01-12
  7. Helpful (6)

    "You work WITH great people, you don't work FOR great people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Lulu.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Their are some quality people I worked with, bright, energetic. It has a great work culture for the first 6 months or so.

    Cons

    Complete lack of direction. Corporate strategy is constantly in flux. I had 6 different bosses during my tenure there. I calculated roughly a 60% turn over rate in the first year I worked at Lulu. I've worked at restaurants with better employee turnover than that when I was younger.

    Advice to Management

    Try and stick one strategy, build profits, sell the company to people who know what they are doing.

    Lulu.com2016-02-04
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Stay Away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lulu.com

    Pros

    You will find team members that really care and are passionate about what they're doing.

    Cons

    Those team members will probably be fired or quit sooner than later because that is the culture at Lulu.

    Advice to Management

    Too much vision and no idea how to plan and execute.

    Lulu.com2016-01-14
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Ruined by poor choices in management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lulu.com full-time

    Pros

    Lulu was a company focused on making books for its authors and customers. It made a real product during the rise of 'Something as a Service' or 'revenue-free social something something' companies.

    Cons

    Lulu is now a 'Something as a Service' company, and now focuses almost exclusively in extracting value from the author base through third party service providers. This transition was made by laying off most of R&D, and growing the 'marketing' department. This leaves the company unable to adapt to a changing market, unless it's through creating a new set of coupons. Turnover has been terrible since the new... management took its place in the company. Some years had up to 50% turnover. Continuity is a problem.

    Show More
    Lulu.com2014-03-05
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Very happy working at Lulu"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lulu.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been here for a few months now and have to say Lulu is a great place to work. The atmosphere is very entrepreneurial and engaging. The people here are smart, energetic, and most of all, passionate about the work we do and the customers we serve. Being a small company, there are a million ways any one of us can contribute and do something great, we are encouraged to take risks and think outside the box. And I... should point out that the work-life balance is very good, it is not a sweatshop by any stretch of the imagination, the work we do is more important than the hours we keep. Almost every day I get to work with brilliant people from different departments and disciplines on projects that will shape the future of the company. I've worked for large and small companies in my working life and seldom has there been so much opportunity to make a difference as there is here at Lulu. It's truly what you make of it. I've never felt so welcome either - can't tell you how many people have said "I'm glad you're here working on this with us.." that NEVER gets old. The leadership team is very accessible and are always willing to listen to new ideas. I am very pleased with my decision to join this family of Lunatics.

    Show More

    Cons

    Lulu is very much in a transition and that has been a tough road - but I give the management team credit for recognizing that their "cheese had moved" and making the decision to explore new paths.

    Advice to Management

    Don't look back, forge ahead.

    Lulu.com2013-06-06
Found 65 reviews