Lumber Liquidators Asm I Reviews | Glassdoor

Lumber Liquidators Asm I Reviews

Updated Mar 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
1.0
0%
Recommend to a Friend
Lumber Liquidators CEO Dennis Knowles  (no image)
Dennis Knowles
0 Rating
  1. "Great company. relaxed atmosphere. engaged management team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Asm I in Columbia, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lumber Liquidators full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great hours, great management team, expanding company, lots of promotion potential

    Cons

    promotions usually mean relocating to another part of the country

    Lumber Liquidators2013-08-06
  2. "Horrible store level management and Regional manager. No HR."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Asm I in Salisbury, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lumber Liquidators full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Short commute. Overtime every week.

    Cons

    No unpaid time off for family emergencies. No HR. No life balance. No advancement. Not enough turnover at corporate level, they need a complete restructuring from the CEO down to the Regional managers.

    Continue reading
    Lumber Liquidators2020-03-29
  3. "Not For the Older Generation."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Asm I 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lumber Liquidators full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, good 401k, good pay if you are a store manager.

    Cons

    I worked at Lumber Liquidators for almost 5 years and for the most part the experience was great at the beginning of my term but progressively got worse over the years I was there. The scandal involving Chinese products that cost the company dozens of millions of dollars that took quite a toll on the place and it seems that the workers in the trenches picked up the tab more from an emotional perspective than a monetary one. To be placed in a store where there was holes in the walls, deteriorating floors (15 years or so), occasionally strong sewer smell throughout the establishment, destroyed warehouse conditions such as broken lighting and such, it left me scratching my head when the Regional Manager wrote me up for "paper on the floor" and not maintaining "proper store standards". I witnessed 4 people in my district where 1 in her 40's, and 3 in their 50's all get fired within a 6 month period when new management came to town. I too am in that age range and could see the writing on the wall the way I was being treated as well. So I left and it was a great feeling to get away from such discrimination.

    Continue reading
    Lumber Liquidators2019-07-18
  4. Helpful (7)

    "I have worked for Lumber Liquidators for about three years.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Asm I 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lumber Liquidators full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Inexpensive insurance. All I can think of...

    Cons

    Incompetant store management. Manage by email Regional Managers with little or no flooring experience, corporate culture akin to an eighth grade football team, lies, no pay raises, extreme understaffing, adequate vacation time that cannot be actually taken because of understaffing..Now commission cuts...Probably benefit cuts to follow..No overtime..They'll clock you out on paper for a lunch that you can't take..

    Continue reading
    Lumber Liquidators2014-03-26
  5. Helpful (5)

    "If you have seen the movie "OFFICE SPACE" ......."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Asm I in De Pere, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lumber Liquidators full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You can make good money working there in a manager position.

    Cons

    Metrics, metrics and yet more metrics. Then, when you are not sure... they have a metric for that too! I have been with L.L for over 6 years, Everything is driven by metrics. I get the purpose. But you will be bludgeoned every day when you don't make a metric. on top of all of your daily obligations and customers. You are expected to make a minimum of 30 (I am sure it will go up again. It started at 10 about a year ago) out going calls to NEW customers EVERY day. And they schedule you an extra 1/2 hour after closing to make sure you get the calls done. So welcome to the team and thanks for volunteering to be our new marketing department! If you don't like telemarketing this will not be your cup of tea. They seem to come out with a new metric once a week. The stores are WAY under staffed. Trying to compete with Menard's and Lowe's by basically being open 8-7 every day. The stores are staffed with 3 people - THAT'S IT! And when someone quits, it takes 3 months to fill the position. This leaves 2 people to fill 70 hour work week. They use stupid marketing slogans like "we have a lean staff to save money" . Well, if you have a family, you won't when your are done. Or they won't recognize you when they do see you. If you decide work for them. Get everything in writing. They always over promise and never deliver! Also, get ALL the money you can upfront. Because you won't see it after that. In 6 years I have gotten 1 raise. the new mantra is "you get a commission. so sell more... you get more! AKBA!!" If you are promised a chance to promote upwards.. don't count on it. I have had 2 new store managers. I have trained them both!! I have yet to get an opportunity to interview for my own store. They have filled 10 positions in my region. I have never even got a thanks for applying, but we went this way letter! This is despite the fact that I (alone) accounted for over 45% of the stores sales last year. I am currently the #1 or 2 ASM1 in my region. Upper management : doesn't exist. Glorified babysitters and cheerleaders for the company. If you make plan, they don't care about anything else. They feel that nothing needs to be addressed as long as the store makes its numbers. I have had 3 employees complain about the store manager. All 3 have quit because of how he runs the store and treats them. All three have gone to the regional and NOTHING was ever been done. One regional said he "he didn't have time for piss-ant problems!".

    Continue reading
    Lumber Liquidators2013-07-22
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Great Money , Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Asm I in Claymont, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lumber Liquidators

    Pros

    Pay great, free healthcare , stock options

    Cons

    Poor middle management,not getting credit for job done well

    Continue reading
    Lumber Liquidators2012-02-10
  7. "Assistant Manager managing store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Asm I 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lumber Liquidators

    Pros

    Good pay with great incentives, good medical benefits, many nice people to work with great customer base, some room for advancement if you are willing to relocate. Challenging work!

    Cons

    Poor customer care, poor management both corporate, regional and store, poor business ethics, poor manufacturing practices, poor availability of sale product, poor communication of availabilities of exotic species, poor availability of trim and moldings, HR support, Over worked and under staffed stores, in proper training of SOP, customer complaint(s) are a constant to achieve discounts and or free items or to tarnish ones reputation.

    Continue reading
    Lumber Liquidators2012-03-01

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 7 reviews