Lumen Reviews

Updated May 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
54%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Lumen CEO Jeff Storey
Jeff Storey
761 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance is great at CenturyLink(in 387 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, remote work, challenging(in 256 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "After Level 3 took over the upper management only former Level 3 employees could be in(in 133 reviews)

  • "Leadership wants to move people to Monroe LA(in 62 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Lumen and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Excellent company with real management

      Apr 26, 2021 - Collaboration Engineer in Broomfield, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary, perks, supportive management, open and communicative

      Cons

      None yet found for Lumen

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Lumen Response

      Thank you for leaving us a 5-star review, we are lucky to have AMAZING people like you on our team!

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      great benefits

      Aug 20, 2020 - Sales Associate in Idaho Falls, ID
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent insurance and time off benefits

      Cons

      little upward movement potential for employees

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Lumen Response

      Thank you for the 5-star review, we are lucky to have you as a part of our team!

    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      No Annual Raises

      May 13, 2021 - Lead Project Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexibility, Paid time off (flex time/unlimited once you get to a certain level)

      Cons

      The company completely stopped doing annual raises for a merit or cost of living increase; this is really unacceptable giving the cost of living goes up ~2% each year. Also, getting a promotion is highly political and you can really get stuck in a dead end. 401K match is not competitive with the industry standard of 100% of 6%; they only match you 4% of 6%

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Lumen Response

      Thank you for leaving a review, we are happy to see you recommend Lumen as a place to work. We have built an equitable, pay-for-performance compensation plan, where our employees are rewarded for their results. In addition, our compensation team regularly conducts market reviews to ensure Lumen’s pay and total benefits programs are market competitive.

    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Lumen Has Had Some Growing Pains

      Mar 24, 2021 - Account Manager in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A good place to work, IT Company, You will learn A LOT, Big company feel, Great benefits, Opportunities to advance.

      Cons

      A lot of change always, multiple legacy systems to navigate to do the simplest of tasks, teams can get cliquey, some favoritism (depends on Mgr.), so many procedures to learn and use on a daily basis.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Lumen Response

      Thank you for leaving a review. At Lumen, we view our employees as our most important asset and the differentiator that sets us apart from our competition. As part of our “pay for performance” philosophy, our leaders have the authority to make compensation related decisions for their teams. As a current employee, we encourage you to speak with your manager about your concerns or you can reach out to us at CTLHRActionTeam@lumen.com.

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great Place to Work

      May 12, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexability, career advancement, mid level management is good

      Cons

      Some managers are stuck in the good ol boys club

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Lumen Response

      Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are glad to see you are enjoying your experience working with Lumen and that you see the opportunity to further your career within the organization!

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Pretty good

      May 11, 2021 - Senior Lead Software Developer in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've been fortunate to be on a good team and I've been happy.

      Cons

      Seems to be a lack of strategic thinking while times are good.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Lumen Response

      Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we are glad to see you recommend working for Lumen!

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Good career path.

      May 11, 2021 - Manager Region Operations 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent pay, great people, decent benefits.

      Cons

      Corporate red tape, to many realignments.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Lumen Response

      Thank you for the positive review! At Lumen, we put a large emphasis on creating clear career-path advancement opportunities for all those who wish to further their careers. We believe Lumen is a great place to grow your professional career, and we strive to create an environment where our team members' hard work is recognized and rewarded.

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Freedom to do job. Training mostly on the job.

      May 10, 2021 - Customer Service Manager in Johnson, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible Schedule. Managers give you frredom to do your job.

      Cons

      Stressful. More communication and training needed.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Lumen Response

      Thank you for leaving us a review, we are glad to see you share in our positive outlook for the future of our organization!

    9. 1.0
      Former Employee

      All about investors

      Apr 14, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Jacksonville, AR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      One of those "used-to-be" good companies.

      Cons

      Whittling away at all benefits each year and providing no substantial cost of living increase to offset it. End result, the longer you stay, the poorer you become.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Lumen Response

      Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and feedback. We are disappointed to see that you did not enjoy working at Lumen.

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      great leadership

      May 10, 2021 - Security Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      space to work from home or the office

      Cons

      little training is provided to new employees

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Lumen Response

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, we are happy to see you recommend working for Lumen! We agree we have great leaders, and we are glad to see they have created a great work environment for you.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 4,676 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Lumen Job Seekers

    Account Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Lumen? Share Your Experiences

    or