Luminex Reviews

Updated Jul 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
72%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Luminex President and CEO Nachum “Homi” Shamir
Nachum “Homi” Shamir
51 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great co workers and great atmosphere with great benefits(in 16 reviews)

  • "Work life balance for me is what you make it and Luminex provides enough flexibility for you to maintain the balance(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "I would state that work/life balance is out of whack however there are positions posted to be filled that would help(in 5 reviews)

  • "Upper management is busy saving their jobs(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Benefits"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Luminex full-time

    Pros

    Luminex has really good benefits, medical, PTO, 401k matching.

    Cons

    The most recent dental insurance company change, is pretty bad though. The dental insurance barely coves anything.

    Luminex Response

    April 9, 2020Human Resource Team Member

    Thanks for your feedback. We appreciate your thoughts on our benefits package.

  2. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Luminex full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have been working here for five plus years now. Salaries and challenges are really ample for achievers. Good benefit and vacation package.

    Cons

    Not much transparency within teams, lacks team work

    Luminex Response

    July 21, 2020Human Resources Team Member

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We strive to have a work environment that is an innovation engine in which people feel empowered to collaborate, think, act and solve problems in new and different ways. Share your ideas on how teamwork can be improved.


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good coworkers"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Research Associate 

    I worked at Luminex full-time

    Pros

    Good People, Okay PTO, Flexible hours

    Cons

    Company is not doing well

    Luminex Response

    May 28, 2020Human Resources Team Member

    Thank you for your feedback. As a result of our acquisitions and our internal growth, we have made a remarkable impact on global healthcare over the last 25 years—an accomplishment made possible by the development, manufacturing, and marketing of our proprietary instruments and assays. Our work continues to empower labs to provide reliable, timely, actionable answers, ultimately advancing health for patients worldwide—staying true to our mission.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Luminex: awesome company/ unprofessional HR management."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Northbrook, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Luminex full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay, excellent benefits, and rewarding work.

    Cons

    The present style of HR management is intimidation, favoritism and innuendo. Replacing that style by hiring an industry professional would go a long way to fixing Chicago's toxic morale environment.

    Continue reading

    Luminex Response

    April 28, 2020Human Resources Team Member

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. At Luminex, we embrace the idea that diversity is an integral part of doing business the right way. We nurture an inclusive environment that values similarities and differences. Luminex is a team of individuals committed to making a difference in our world. If you believe a Luminex core value has not been displayed at the site; reporting it via internal channels is another option to consider to bring what you shared to your manager's attention.

  5. "Sales Operations"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Operations in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Luminex full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great management, very good benefits.

    Cons

    very corporate and not much flexibility

    Luminex Response

    March 10, 2020Human Resource Team Member

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate it.

  6. Helpful (4)

    "Typical manufacturing enviorment. Scraping by with the bare minimum to meet customer satisfaction and FDA audits."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Assembler in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Luminex full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I honestly cant say there is one. Oh, they offer pet insurance.

    Cons

    Mandatory over time every week due to horrible planning and management. Aries line is hemorrhaging money and is not sustainable. Temp to hire, low starting wages, no career path or personal growth. Turn over of the average employee is a matter of months.

    Continue reading

    Luminex Response

    March 10, 2020Human Resource Team Member

    Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion. We strive to improve and make changes based on suggestions of our employees. We will look into this area and see if we can see changes that are needed and any other suggestions from other team members.

  7. "Great work environment"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QC Associate in Austin, TX
    Recommends

    I have been working at Luminex full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Diversity, culture, growth, Work-life balance, good benifits

    Cons

    It could be stressful at times, requires lot of time commitments

    Luminex Response

    January 13, 2020Human Resource Team Member

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate it.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "N/A"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assembler II in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Luminex full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Many challenges, and a great place to learn.

    Cons

    Training not in dept enough to new and possibly great "A" employees.

    Continue reading

    Luminex Response

    September 18, 2019Human Resources Team Member

    Thank you for taking the time to share your observations. Luminex is a team of individuals committed to making a difference in our world, both professionally and personally. We would encourage you to share your suggestion pertaining to the training with your manager and contribute to how it can develop into what it needs to be for Luminex employees within your team. Continuous improvement is highly favored. We want to ensure that your Luminex experience is more than just a job, but an opportunity to realize your core values and make a difference in the world. Your human resources team are happy to assist. Just reach out to us: Human_Resources@luminexcorp.com

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Company Review"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manufacturing Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Luminex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, flexible working hours. Independent work ethic

    Cons

    management not up to the mark. Need more technical folks in the team

    Luminex Response

    August 6, 2019Human Resources Team Member

    Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Luminex is a team of individuals committed to making a difference in our world, both professionally and personally. We want to ensure that your Luminex experience is more than just a job, but an opportunity to realize your core values and make a difference in the world. You are welcome to share further details on the cons listed with the Human Resource Manager on site or forward them directly to humanresources@luminexcorp.com. Thank you in advance!

  10. Helpful (7)

    "There are better jobs and management people you will find. I worked at Luminex Chicago."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Luminex full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The culture is good. Co-workers are friendly. The only good part is Co-workers.

    Cons

    Constant pressures of getting things done even if it not practical. Pay raise is insignificant no matter how much you contribute. People from HQ will keep meddling in your task even if you do the right way. Mind it no one will stand besides you firmly even if you are right. Upper management is busy saving their jobs. It's a company on Ventilator. No innovation, no out of the box thinking, no gratitude for employees. Product is a decade old and there is even better tech around and cheaper.

    Continue reading

    Luminex Response

    August 16, 2019Human Resources Team Member

    You are correct Luminex employees are the company's greatest asset. Luminex is a team of individuals committed to making a difference in our world, both professionally and personally. We appreciate you taking the time to share your opinion and we hope that you took the time to provide details with the HR site leader and your former management team. Continuous improvement starts with receiving feedback to ensure everyone is aware. Best of luck in your new opportunity.

Found 145 reviews