Lumos Labs Reviews | Glassdoor

Lumos Labs Reviews

Updated Dec 21, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 36 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
Krishna Kakarala
0 Ratings
  1. "Great People, Amazing Products, Healthy Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lumos Labs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People here are very friendly and care a lot about your well-being and interests. Joining Lumosity is like becoming part of a family. The work is interesting and meaningful and teams are aligned in a way that allows work to get done. I would recommend working here if you are the kind of person who enjoys working on something meaningful while being around great people.

    Cons

    You get spoiled with the amazing catered lunches.

    Continue reading
    Lumos Labs2018-12-21
  2. "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lumos Labs full-time

    Pros

    Benefits were good and coworkers were great

    Cons

    Managment could be improved upon

    Continue reading
    Lumos Labs2018-08-30
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Old Guard vs. New Guard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lumos Labs full-time

    Pros

    + Mostly friendly, down-to-earth people + Growth in position and responsibilities is generally encouraged + Working on lots of new games, products, features after years of a heavy focus on marketing + Decent benefits, with some unique options like Grand Rounds and OneMedical + Solid work/life balance, most people usually come in after 10 and start leaving after 5. Usually no weekends or late nights (unless you choose to stay late, in which case, dinner is paid for), but no one will encourage you to go home either + People actually use the flexible PTO quite flexibly with one-off doctor's appointments, 2 week long vacations, long weekends. People generally take more time off than the industry standard, but up to you to do so. + A few people work remote and working remote from time to time is acceptable + Plenty of social events

    Cons

    - Multiple people are leaving the company every month. It won't be long until it's a very different company. This might be a pro. - Lumos's "core values" are not taken seriously. You'll rarely hear about them within the company. There are multiple egos on multiple teams. Some people will yell and raise their voice and not be admonished. There are people who directly say "I've worked here longer than you" and people who indirectly say or think it, and this is used as rationale for decisions. These people and people with tenure at the company in general have favoritism as opposed to it being a meritocracy. Tenured and favorited employees can do no wrong, even if the team opposes their behavior and even if their behavior contradicts the "core values". - The combination of the two creates a serious Old Guard vs. New Guard feel, particularly with regard to some (not all) who were at the company before the FTC settlement. If the Old Guard doesn't agree with an opinion, it will feel not welcome or be pushed out, but don't expect any serious discussion about their opinions or decisions. The hypocrisy is real on certain teams. - Management/HR do not take transparent actions with regard to feedback and feedback may be ignored - No 401k match. - Insurance is not actually 100% covered for individuals unless you take the lowest tier plans. - No subsidized commuter passes, just the standard pre-tax option

    Continue reading
    Lumos Labs2018-05-21
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Nice place to work that needs some organizational improvements"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lumos Labs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are friendly and talented. Product collaboration is great - PMs and designers come up with cool new ideas, consult with engineers on feasibility and implementation strategies, and have open communication throughout the development process. Lumos has experimented with various team organizations and workflows over the years, and each change has helped improve engineer productivity. The codebase is well-organized so it's easy to navigate and work with, and it's also well-maintained - engineers clean up outdated code and aren't afraid to rewrite existing code to improve performance. There is a good pairing culture and meetings are usually kept to a minimum. There's catered lunch 4 times a week and the food is amazing. There's a good work-life balance; Lumos has a flexible vacation policy and people actually use it (maybe averaging 3-5 weeks per year?) There are also fun company-wide offsites each quarter, and a budget for individual teams to organize their own events.

    Cons

    Management and marketing frequently set arbitrary deadlines for new product launches, even before deciding what features they want to include or consulting with engineers about development time and potential concerns. Upper management tried to introduce a 10-5 "core hours, everyone in the office" policy. This came across as a lack of trust in employee work ethic and a lack of respect for anyone who wanted/needed to work outside of a 9-5 or 10-6 schedule (but on the plus side, many employees immediately pushed back and even though the policy wasn't officially rescinded, it also wasn't enforced.)

    Continue reading
    Lumos Labs2018-05-15
  5. "Better than most companies but limited growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lumos Labs full-time

    Pros

    People, perks, and an amazing product

    Cons

    No time to work on personal projects

    Continue reading
    Lumos Labs2017-02-22
  6. Helpful (14)

    "Best job I have ever had!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lumos Labs for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is the best job I've ever had! + I love working with one artist to make an experimental game in a few months. + I love the friendly teams who volunteer their time to preview the customer experience. They made a big difference and taught me a lot! + I love the trust of my teammates in my experimentation. + I love the flat organization where anyone is available, yet we respect each other's time highly and schedule very few meetings. + I love the healthy catering and subsidized Equinox gym membership. 4-years of these perks of working here has improved my mind and body's wellness and fitness. + I love the quiet library.

    Cons

    This is the highlight of my career so far. The following sometimes challenges my confidence: - Each day, I get distracted by a lot of casual and committee-style chatting. Part of my distraction is the open floor plan and my own introversion. Part of my distraction is the dissonance between purported business goals and day-to-day culture: I wish the chatters were hands-on working. There's around 25% of work hours scheduled for sharing knowledge, collaborating, and team meetings, team bonding, committee decision making, that I'd estimate 50% less work gets done, since those meetings generate follow-up work to do that is based on opinion-driven meetings. This throws off quite a bit of the priorities from the work that has hard evidence backing up its profitability. Those that contribute the least (due to skill-set mismatch, job description, or lack of their management) talk the most, which is distracting and a drain on the whole team's success. - Each week, I get impatient with some managers talking about adding value to customers, when I wish the managers were making simple financial forecasts, researching business intelligence and doing the simple and obvious work first rather than prioritizing high-risk, high-cost projects whose major upside is that it's really fun work to do (I enjoy the work, but have modest forecasts out of what customers get out of some the experiments with less financial evidence). - Each month, I get impatient with games that were blocked from progressing for over a year, and then excuses get made, and new people get hired, but the real causes of the blockage: lack of managerial accountability, and financial forecasting of these decisions. It's a drain on my enthusiasm when around 10% of my work held in limbo for months and the criteria for acceptance get changed in the meantime.

    Continue reading
    Lumos Labs2016-09-21
  7. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Lumos Labs for less than a year

    Pros

    Really fun, young, smart people. Great office. Very collaborative and easy going groups.

    Cons

    Still skeptical if the product works as well as they hope it does; need more science to back up claims.

    Continue reading
    Lumos Labs2016-10-26
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great people, rocky product execution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Lumos Labs full-time

    Pros

    The people who work at Lumos are wonderful, smart, and have their heart in the right place. It's a fun environment to work in, with a lot of autonomy.

    Cons

    Lumos hasn't yet figured out how to really execute well on product goals and chart a meaningful path towards constantly improving and innovating to remain at the forefront of the market.

    Continue reading
    Lumos Labs2016-11-06
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Friendly and supportive culture solving challenging problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lumos Labs full-time

    Pros

    Team-centric approach to solving problems Company really does care about brain health Supportive environment Culture is relaxed, but we all expect one another to work hard and to learn/grow. No need to work crazy hours unless you want to; it's not expected by anyone. People are genuinely nice/friendly across the company. Egos are not a problem.

    Cons

    Management team is currently in flux with regards to how they want to function or what they represent. Be prepared to give feedback on how *you* want to be managed, or what type of support you will need.

    Continue reading
    Lumos Labs2016-09-22
  10. Helpful (2)

    "No place is perfect, but this place comes close!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Lumos Labs

    Pros

    The people. Hands down, the best people I've ever worked with! Employees are smart, interesting and laid back. I can genuinely say that coming to work cheers me up when I'm feeling down. Everyone is passionate about the product and about each other. We have people from vastly varying fields learning from each other. I've been given opportunities to learn and grow here that I never expected but have thoroughly enjoyed. The product is innovative and at the edge of its field. While this can be scary, it feels great to be breaking new ground at the intersection of enjoyment and improvement. I think we're truly proud of our offering.

    Cons

    We've erred on the side of giving too much freedom. While freedom in work is great, we've struggled with setting constraints and direction. Additionally, sometimes our processes can be too democratic or idealistic, which makes us unable to execute as quickly as we probably should.

    Continue reading
    Lumos Labs2016-09-20
Found 36 reviews