Lumos Labs Reviews | Glassdoor

Lumos Labs Reviews

Updated Dec 21, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
Krishna Kakarala
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "No place is perfect. Overall a good job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lumos Labs full-time

    Pros

    The people here really care about the company's mission, the product, and its users. Great perks (pretty standard for SF tech but great nonetheless) and a great office. The company is small enough to make an impact as an individual, and there are lots of opportunities to advance, transition roles, or learn new skills within the company.

    Cons

    The topic of brain training is still very controversial, so some bumps in the road are to be expected. Recent changes and lack of growth have led to decreased morale and increased employee turnover.

    Advice to Management

    There are tons of very smart and talented people at the company. Focus on increasing morale so employees will be motivated and inspired to continue creating great work here!

    Lumos Labs2016-01-21
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Cushy Perks Hide Big Problems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lumos Labs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Perks: vacation time, gym, free food These are the fun things that hide the issues I can't list anymore perks

    Cons

    Bullying Immature management Lazy/ whiny employees Stagnant product Too many people for too little work Many folks are secretly unhappy

    Advice to Management

    Do you even know what your employees are working on? Usually I see Facebook or online shopping.

    Lumos Labs2016-01-25
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Most fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lumos Labs

    Pros

    Working at Lumos is incredibly fun. Especially when you're surrounded by your friends and really awesome cushy perks. Working somewhere mission-driven is also great and can be motivating/heartwarming at times.

    Cons

    The amazing amounts of fun almost masks the lack of motivating work there is to do... almost. However, the product is stagnant and that lends itself to an overall feeling of stagnancy in the company.

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent with your staff. Fire or manage out toxic people who are coasting and reinvigorate your talented workforce!

    Lumos Labs2015-10-03
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Great Perks, No Challenging / Fun Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Lumos Labs

    Pros

    - Unlimited PTO - Flexible work days - Kitchen, stocked food, drinks, wine, beer, mini bar

    Cons

    - Lacking vision / direction - No deadlines - Lazy atmosphere / attitudes - Decisions made behind closed doors

    Lumos Labs2015-06-11
  5. Helpful (4)

    "The Place to Be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Games Team in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lumos Labs full-time

    Pros

    I help work on the games team at Lumosity. It's a fantastic company with great values and goals; I could (and do) recommend it to anyone in a tech field. Leadership is very open and oriented toward your personal goals, from upper management to team leads. The company is always reaching for new directions and better processes as it grows. The atmosphere is creative and experimental, with an emphasis on user testing and...

    Show More

    Cons

    This is a company for motivated adults. The great team culture and fun come with an understanding that you're working hard; slackers and paycheck collectors need not apply. This isn't a con for the right person - it means that Lumosity attracts some of the most talented and passionate people I've ever worked with. The hardest part of working here is the high quality bar for code and art. Because so many internal people...

    Show More
    Lumos Labs2014-12-14
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Solid career start fallen short"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Lumos Labs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Culture is incredibly important to this company. They are working to create an inclusive group, so everyone can have fun at work. Certain departments feel like playpens, and HR has to pick up the slack. It's often hard to gauge when recess is over and you should be getting back to work.

    Cons

    Sometimes you forget that you're working. I question the dedication of a some employees/departments. Some individuals put in 80 hour weeks while other certainly put in less than 20. It's easy to be lazy when you're given so much freedom.

    Lumos Labs2014-06-20
  7. Helpful (2)

    "I've been here for a year and I'm still loving every minute of it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lumos Labs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    TLDR: great culture, great work-life balance, awesome perks, great office location, lots of personal/career-growth, lots of opportunities. I've grown so much as an engineer since joining Lumosity. I see noticeable improvement in my code month over month. The engineering culture here is so innovative and so amazing. We're always thinking of new ways of improving our development process and refactoring our code base....

    Show More

    Cons

    the company is growing rapidly so there are/might be some growing pains, but i feel like we're dealing with them pretty well. We can probably work on our inter-team communication, but everyone is so friendly it's pretty easy to talk to anyone in the company.

    Lumos Labs2014-04-09
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President of R&D in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lumos Labs full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The mission of improving people's lives through neuroscience is a great one. Tons of really smart, engaging people work here. There is a culture of people supporting each other in the work.

    Cons

    The space of cognitive training is controversial, so if you're uncomfortable with risk, this might not be the place for you.

    Lumos Labs2014-01-09
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Not perfect, but still the best company I've worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lumos Labs full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lumos Labs offers a nice suite of perks, that's comparable if not better than most other startups. Some of the more common perks include: - catered meals - unlimited PTO - free gym - all-inclusive offsite events ranging from local gatherings (House of Air, open bar events, BBQs, Tahoe) to exotic trips (Xmas party in Maui, company cruise to Mexico) - Friday happy hours Where Lumos really differentiates from other...

    Show More

    Cons

    Lumos Labs has gone through its share of growing pains. I like to think that the company has scaled gracefully from a small to mid-sized startup, but it hasn't gone completely unscathed. Common problems endemic to growth usually boil down to policy change, team structure, and quick hires. Lumos Labs has unfortunately been affected by all of these. To its credit, the company has managed to iron out a lot of these issues....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Try to maintain openness and accessibility as the company scales. Continue to reward both veteran and newer employees for their contributions.

    Lumos Labs2013-02-14
  10. "A fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lumos Labs full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours Flexible time off Free food and drinks A games room you can hang out in whenever you want Awesome coworkers

    Cons

    My job does not have the benefits (ex: unlimited paid time off, end of year bonus) that all other positions at the company have.

    Advice to Management

    Management does a great job. Just continue asking for feedback and continue what you're doing.

    Lumos Labs2012-08-15
Found 31 reviews