KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Lumos Networks

Part of Segra
Engaged Employer

Lumos Networks

Add a Review

Lumos Networks Reviews

Updated May 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 33 of over 35 reviews

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Lumos Networks President and Chief Executive Officer Timothy G. Biltz
Timothy G. Biltz
19 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Excellent Leader in CEO Tim Biltz

    May 20, 2019 - Sales Management 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Tim Biltz took over in 2012 and turned the company around to a successful sale in 2017 to private equity. You will not find a leader like Tim often in life, and I felt privileged to work for him.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Customer Account Manager

    Dec 13, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great earning potential. Exciting product offering.

    Cons

    Hard to say. Great fit for life in 2018 an beyond!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Manager

    Nov 12, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pays well, flexible work sites

    Cons

    Project Management, lack of system utilization - rather would track on spreadsheets and word docs

    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Network Engineer

    Nov 8, 2018 - Network Engineer in Roanoke, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The job is a standard fare.

    Cons

    Still does things the way they did 20 years ago

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Growing Company

    Sep 12, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Your learning is only limited by your willingness to work. Cross training is always an option here. Your job title is only a title, you can do so much more if you have the drive and desire.

    Cons

    Currently there is no known way in which to advance internally.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Awesome company

    Aug 15, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great team and good compensation. Great vacation.

    Cons

    None none none none none none

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Leadership and Vision Goes a Long Way!

    Mar 7, 2018 - Engineer in Charlotte, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Stress? Not here! The environment is what you make it, but there is no high pressure making you choose your job or your life. These managers/execs get it: respect your people and foster their growth and they will commit 110%. This is a newly formed subsidiary of Lumos, so many situations require a creative approach, but with full support from above, nothing gets out of hand. You will get your hands on best in class technology and learn every day. What more does a techie want?

    Cons

    The office is quiet! Depending on your preference, this is what it is.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Satisfied employee for over 40 years

    Feb 28, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been at the company for many years and it is a great please to build a career.

    Cons

    Fast pace, in a changing industry, which is also a pro!

    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    New Hire Process - Day ONE and more

    Jan 23, 2018 - Senior Solutions Consultant in Charlotte, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Really impressed with the professionalism and On Boarding process as a New hire …. Information was conveyed in advance and the Live meeting with HR Manager Kim Scudder on Day 1 was Great. Kim had an easy to follow orientation as well as examples and multiple contact people as support (if needed) . The hand off to online set up of benefits, healthcare and payroll were all explained and I was able to complete quickly. Follow up from Sales Force trainer Lelia Connard, CAPM was spot and classes scheduled virtually and quickly and interaction with Payroll Specialist Patty Viar was a huge help as even in a Snow and Ice storm I was able to receive my 1st Paycheck and Corporate Credit Card right ON time . Every Department from the IT Helpdesk to Marketing has been responsive and helpful as I set up my computer, phones and profiles. I’d say I made a Great decision and very lucky to be part of the Lumos Networks and Data Center Team !

    Cons

    None as of yet .... #fullspeedahead

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Lumos Networks Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you so much for the great feedback! We have ramped up our onboarding process and we're happy to know that it's making an impact for our new employees.

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Long Term employee

    Jan 11, 2018 - Senior Manager in Waynesboro, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great family atmosphere. This is a major technology company in it's region, and I regularly see the CEO and to all of us he's "Tim" instead of "Mr. Biltz" He knows my name too. Transparent and trustworthy E-team. We have regular management meetings with the E-team where both positive and negative information is shared, and longer term strategies are discussed. At least in my department, micromanaging is at a minimum. You are given goals and timelines, and are free to execute without upper management riding your shoulder. There are training opportunities available for those who wish to expand their career skills. Solid benefits package. Growth industry.

    Cons

    Company often invests in large scale tools or systems that are frankly too complex for the current and near future needs. This leads to high service overhead for those systems, and very large bills to the vendors.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 33 Reviews

Lumos Networks Reviews FAQs

Lumos Networks has an overall rating of 3.6 out of 5, based on over 35 reviews left anonymously by employees. 66% of employees would recommend working at Lumos Networks to a friend and 60% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Lumos Networks employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.7 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Lumos Networks. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

66% of Lumos Networks employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Lumos Networks 3.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.7 for culture and values and 3.5 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Lumos Networks to be culture, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be senior leadership, management, career development.

Popular Careers with Lumos Networks Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Lumos Networks? Share Your Experiences

Lumos Networks logo
or