Lupe Tortilla Reviews | Glassdoor

Lupe Tortilla Reviews

Updated Dec 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Lupe Tortilla CEO Judson Holt (no image)
Judson Holt
37 Ratings
Pros
  • "The location I work at is very busy, and the plate prices are reasonably high for the good food, which means higher tips(in 6 reviews)

  • "Small section good money sometimes easy sidework(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "It's a restaurant so understand there are long, long hours(in 5 reviews)

  • "Terrible work atmosphere created by management and upper management(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FOH/BOH Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lupe Tortilla full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Incredible leadership and AMAZING food! Great benefits and typically pretty busy restaurants. If you get the opportunity to open a store do so because you learn SO much.

    Cons

    It's a restaurant so understand there are long, long hours.

    Lupe Tortilla2019-09-02
  2. "Decent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Hostess 

    I have been working at Lupe Tortilla part-time

    Pros

    easy tasks, decent pay for hostessing

    Cons

    difficult customers, managers can be a big negligent/unhelpful

    Lupe Tortilla2019-12-13
  3. "Good Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Server 

    I have been working at Lupe Tortilla part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The location I work at is very busy, and the plate prices are reasonably high for the good food, which means higher tips.

    Cons

    The management is overworked and under paid, and usually don't last very long. Despite what the company says, they value money and stockholders more than their people. Corporate is constantly changing policies to crack down the management to be even harsher on their employees, not that this will make a huge difference in service.

    Lupe Tortilla2019-10-11
  4. "Loved the company, taught me more about customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front of House Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lupe Tortilla full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good benefits, two days off consecutive

    Cons

    12 to 14 hrs no break, not taking care of the employees

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and management when problems are occurring in the restaurant.

    Lupe Tortilla2019-06-13
  5. "It was my second home."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Cedar Park, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lupe Tortilla full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone was so friendly and helpful.

    Cons

    Not enough patience with servers.

    Lupe Tortilla2019-06-04
  6. "Easy nice job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Lupe Tortilla part-time

    Pros

    easy job, flexible hours, good people

    Cons

    Some of the customers can be very demanding, but other than that not too bad

    Lupe Tortilla2019-05-17
  7. "Great food there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Restaurant Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lupe Tortilla full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great food and margaritas fun.

    Cons

    Good place to work at.

    Advice to Management

    More store visits

    Lupe Tortilla2019-05-20
  8. "Pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 

    I have been working at Lupe Tortilla full-time

    Pros

    Flexible with needs business is doing well

    Cons

    35 hours a week not much growth for admins

    Lupe Tortilla2019-04-30
  9. "Good experience while you're in college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server/Waiter in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lupe Tortilla part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy way to make money. It is not time consuming .

    Cons

    Middle management and corporate have poor management skills, but GM was great.

    Advice to Management

    Be more understanding of people who are in school, and work on communicating among yourselves.

    Lupe Tortilla2019-04-12
  10. "Great People but needs systems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in College Station, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lupe Tortilla full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The team I worked with was fantastic. However, overtime they have had extremely high turnover.

    Cons

    Systems that work are already developed- but they were not utilized by management. Managers were scared of the corporate office to the point that they wouldn’t relay the location’s problems for guidance.

    Lupe Tortilla2019-02-26
Found 77 reviews