Lush "members of staff" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Lush Employee Reviews about "members of staff"

Updated Sep 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
72%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Lush CEO Mark Constantine
Mark Constantine
322 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sales tactics are also ridiculously pushy and senior staff were forcing them upon you throughout the day(in 33 reviews)

  • "Managers and supervisors try to be supportive but do gossip about you to other members of staff(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "members of staff"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Kingston upon Hull, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lush part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have met some brilliant people, many who have become great friends and I will cherish these relationships for years to come. I have also learnt a great deal about natural ingredients and their everyday health benefits.

    Cons

    The management are virtually non-existent. Before working at Lush, I thought management actually had to be present on site: it appears not. Lush Hull boasts the first retail store where management work remotely, usually at a cafe down the road or simply on the sofa at home. Recently management appear to have had a terrible run of luck, with a series of creative and seemingly implausible excuses not to turn up to... work. However, this was the only creativity demonstrated on their behalf. The lack of management presence pushed supervisors to the point of exhaustion. Their fatigue was felt amongst the work force and morale was low. On various occasions staff members tried to voice their concerns, however these concerns were commonly mistaken as personal attacks. This promoted a fear culture in store and staff were frightened to share anything, whether it be personal or just friendly conversation. Management were strangers and whenever they did turn up it was always memorable. Their lack of care or interest in the store and its work force was honestly upsetting. A team with no leader to inspire and encourage, no enthusiasm or passion for what they do. Lush champion mental health and wellbeing, however my experience in the Lush Hull store suggested that it was a marketing ploy rather than a genuine company value. With no official complaints system accessible to staff, problem resolution is firmly in the hands of the store management. As mentioned in the previous review, the store management are sisters so if you do happen to have a complaint against either of them, expect it to be discussed over Sunday dinner. Lush will provide you with an independent support line if you fancy a cry down the phone. If you want to speak to someone in authority who actually works for the company then good luck. The training was in-depth and staff were knowledgeable about the products, ingredients, ethics and so on. This was a necessity as the smallest error would result in discipline in the form of a humiliating march down the corridor like a naughty school kid to discuss your latest inadequate consultation. Feedback is a large part of the role but it was given far too frequently, often to the staff who would have most benefitted from more positive reinforcement. The rapid decline in the store has seen various poor reviews yet no intervention has been made. The reviews were frequently blamed on sales assistants’ poor service. After working there for a number of years, I can wholeheartedly vouch for the team of sales assistants and supervisors who keep that store running and do their very best to uphold company standards. However, working somewhere with no leadership or rewards is draining for even the most hardworking and dedicated staff. All in all, I would agree with the previous review if you can keep your head down and drown out the management the rest of the staff are hoot. However, if you take your own mental heath and well being quite seriously I’d avoid at all costs.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Turn up to work.

    Lush2019-09-01
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Not Good."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lush part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Product freebies. Sales staff and a few supervisors are often very lovely and wonderful people. Lush's ethic for reducing waste, stopping animal cruelty and helping the environment are all very good causes.

    Cons

    Poor management. Communication is a joke, can be very mocking, or just completely lacking. Matters are handled with sales staff too often insensitively and carelessly. Sales staff often feel disregarded and looked down upon, especially when there is a culture of favouritism and elitism. There is a general sense of the work ethic, environment and management conduct being detrimental to mental health among staff.... Very little to no progress opportunities for very deserving staff members already in the shop.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Step down a fair bit, treat your staff with more humility, sensitivity, care and attention.

    Lush2019-08-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic Job for Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Christmas Temp Customer Assistant in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lush part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    50% off of products in store from day one of employment. Really friendly and upbeat atmosphere. Great job if you're looking for career progression as most jobs are internally posted.

    Cons

    Management can be biased towards favourite members of staff. I didn't get a permanent position because my lack of confidence wasn't what they needed at the time however I was told that I had progressed so well over my time there and that I should definitely apply for the permanent position.

    Lush2019-06-18
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Lakeside branch- awful. Management are under qualified and don’t understand how to manage a shop and their staff."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lush part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and 50% off products. Free stuff sometimes Less boring than most retail jobs, mostly because of all the drama you’ll witness.

    Cons

    Worked there for 2 years and couldn’t get a full time contract when I needed one and had been asking for a year and then the manager would advertise part time jobs instead of giving her already trained and devoted staff members the hours they need. Very cliquey and you won’t get respect unless you brown nose everyone no matter how good you are at your job. Expectations of you are too high without any real... incentives or encouragement. Feedback is vague and it’s like management will just splurt absolute crap about how to improve just for the sake of it because they don’t actually know or understand how to help you. They are hypocrites, for example they will go on about how they don’t want sales assistants to group and chat when the store is quiet however will stand out the back and drink tea and chat amongst themselves just because they can. They also chat on the shop floor as well as this. They chat about staff members negatively and unprofessionally which I have personally witnessed on many many occasions. Management go out for cigarette breaks even though they’re not supposed to. Required to go to staff meetings one Sunday morning of every month even if you don’t work on that Sunday. I was made to come in for the staff meeting even though I was suffering with an illness at the time even though the staff meeting was absolutely pointless anyway as it was about in store parties so everyone had to play party games and I was sat on a chair in the corner because I was ill. One staff member was made to travel home from his holiday to make a staff meeting and was threatened with a disciplinary if he didn’t. This doesn’t apply for all branches but for the Lakeside branch, management doesn’t have the consciousness for the ethics of Lush the way she should do. For example, there were absolutely loads of the Christmas bath bomb bags left over from Christmas and we’re supposed to use them all up because they would go to waste if we didn’t (obviously) but management decided she didn’t want them anymore so just stopped using them and replaced them with the new all year round ones that were delivered so the copious amount of boxes of Christmas bath bomb bags were left with no use which is just wasteful for no reason. These are just a few points and I could go on all day about my experience but frankly I can’t be bothered to devote any of my time even thinking about it so overall just a horrible and toxic place to work and I would stay away for the sake of your mental health.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Employ qualified and competent managers and supervisors. Actually work together as a management team instead of slagging each other off and trying to out do each other. Management team just need to get over themselves tbh. Rather than coming up with a million staff challenges and new rules to try and improve the store and then not follow through cause it gets boring or you can’t be bothered anymore, maybe actually... think about what you can do to improve the store and really focus on it and work together as a management team. Listen to your staff members.

    Show More
    Lush2019-05-29
  5. Helpful (2)

    "JUDGEMENTAL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lush part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay SOME friendly staff Bonuses Experience

    Cons

    A lot of staff are really judgemental especially if you're not vegan Managers and supervisors try to be supportive but do gossip about you to other members of staff As a newbie, it's hard to fit in and you're treated differently as you don't first have friends You will be frowned upon and drawn out for not smiling 24/7 You must approach every customers like 10 times each during their visit, even if they seem... irritated. Some very lovely experienced staff members have applied for Superior roles a numerous amount of times but are always rejected so it's VERY hard to work your way up the ladder to expand in your career opportunity.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    BE MORE NICE & LESS JUDGEMENTAL, IT'S SCARRING.

    Lush2019-03-18
  6. Helpful (6)

    "A lot of gossip and judgement from management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lush part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff discount was generous, good pay for all ages. I was on a four hour contract but was often given more during busier periods. Ingredient tips were interesting and daily goals were good aims for progress. Lovely customers and we had a customer who would visit each week with sweets.

    Cons

    Lots of gossip occurred in my shop. Many temporary staff left before Christmas because of this. Supervisors pick favourites and are good at making you feel unwelcome and/or unwanted. Being in with 'the crowd' was important to get shifts that would match your availability. Complaints did not get taken seriously, my friend was bullied by one of the female supervisors and this was laughed about when she complained. ... There was a lack of training and many staff were told that our knowledge of the products was not good enough. I was always underpaid each month and often ignored when I brought this up. Little to no praise was given from management however permanent staff members were encouraging. Gifts were stolen on a regular basis and all management would be in the staff room. Blame for stock loss would be passed to employees.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You are labelled as an equal rights employer but your chatting suggests otherwise. When you sit in the staff room, you hear a lot of the chatting from the office.

    Lush2018-04-09
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Lush Spa Oxford St management is a joke and two-tier employee system behind the scenes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SPA Therapist in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lush full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company ethics are good, decent pay and they generally really do make an effort to employ fun people and be social

    Cons

    Working conditions in the spa (where I used to be) is a joke, junior members of staff are punished, sometimes sacked, for genuine minor mistakes while management who have had 5+ formal complaints against them have it brushed under the carpet. Systems being used are archaic, and management are so deathly afraid of negativity and criticism that change is either impossible or so slow and viscous that it has little... benefit to employees.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Spa management: treat yourselves the same way as you treat your junior staff, and (after half of you end up leaving or are removed) you will significantly improve the toxic environment that exists behind the scenes.

    Lush2018-04-04
  8. Helpful (2)

    "It really depends on the shop."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Lush part-time

    Pros

    - Occassional staff freebees! - Great discounts on great products - London living Wage (which you'll absolutely deserve because A LOT is expected of you) - A decent amount of Holiday days - I'm a big fan of the CEO, Mark Constantine, he's a good man. - Swapping shifts (in an organised manner) was always an option at my shop as long as management approved - You learn a lot about skincare, haircare and... ingredients - Most management at my shop (including main manager) were understand and really decent people - Mobility within the company is an option if you're a hard worker - My managers were willing to train people in banking and such, if they showed interest which was great! - Company values!

    Show More

    Cons

    I worked for LUSH for nearly 4 years. Trust me: "Happy and nice" and "Extroverted" are not synonymous. We don't have to be loud for customers to think the products and company are fun. The introverts at LUSH are burning out because some managers won't let them be themselves. You can be an attentive, kind, knowledgeable, and even energetic sales assistant with great UPTs, without putting on a loud front for the... customers. Not only do A LOT of customers not want that, which shouldn't be news to LUSH at this point, but they can tell when someone's faking it. - Bullying of multiple members of staff by a supervisor was completely ignored. Even though the management agreed that her behaviour was completely unacceptable, she worked comfortably and without so much as a meeting or a warning as reprimand. - Management compared themselves to us and expected us to dedicate as much outside time to the company as them, (e.g. to constantly study LUSH and memorize up-coming products), which some of us just don't have the time to do. If LUSH was my entire career and I was receiving career wages, I absolutely consider it my duty to memorise at least 3 ingredients in 20 products in just a few days too, but if it's a 3 day job getting you through Uni or other commitments, then that's an unfair expectation. Also, some people such as myself, learned much more efficiently on the job than by reading a booklet.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Please: As long as someone's doing their job, being perfectly pleasant, good with the customers, and not looking completely out of energy, let them be THEMSELVES. There's absolutely room for introverts in sales, and as long as you let us keep our own tone of voice and pitch, we do a very good job! For every introverted sales assistant, there are hundreds of introverted customers who don't want to deal with the... more "lively" sales assistants. - I get letting it go once (maybe twice) if someone steps out of line with other colleagues and they happen to have worked at the company for a long time, but if it's a persistent issue, please take complaints about bullying seriously and at least have a chat with the offending colleague.

    Show More
    Lush2017-04-30
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Absolutely amazing, apart from head office."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Sunderland, North East England, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lush part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay for everyone with the same job title. £7.40 for all sales assistants no matter how old you were/how long you had been there. Of course, amazing products and ethical principles. Product training/freebies for every new range. 50% staff discount from day one. Other amazing staff bonuses such as paid time off for your birthday, gifts from head office all of the time. Flexible with hours.... Excellent communication between in-store management and their sales staff. My management team were absolutely flawless, genuinely the most hard-working, appreciative and supportive group of people I have ever met in my life. They were all fantastic at what they did and definitely what keeps the company afloat. All issues I ever had/saw working there were down to head office entirely. The store I worked for was an absolute dream, can't fault them at all. I honestly doubt I'll ever have another job as amazing as this one!

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes a bit hectic especially over Christmas time, but that is to be expected. Mistakes with deliveries from head office were literally a daily occurrence. Products would be missing, delivery vans would sometimes go missing entirely, or we'd be told on the day of a delivery that we were to no longer stock some products and had no say in it. Head office would get rid of some Christmas gift boxes once they'd... reached their target sales even though they were still selling really well, which made no sense to me. My store was absolutely fantastic, but I had been for interviews before at other ones in my area that were no where near as good. It is definitely store dependent, no real consistency. They do hire a lot of temps around Christmas time (I'm talking 20-30 for one of their smaller stores) and the turn over of staff is pretty obscene, I don't know why they don't save time/money by keeping staff members on instead of training up new ones. Progression into the company from Christmas temp isn't great (stores tend to permanently hire three out of every 20 or so temps) but I sense that once you're permanent, it isn't difficult to progress.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Head office - you need to listen to your staff and let them know what is going on.

    Lush2017-04-16
  10. "Christmas Temp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lush for less than a year

    Pros

    Great discount, great environment, good training, fun workplace. Loved my time at Lush and was sad when my Christmas Temp contract ended, mostly over losing the discount and my colleagues.

    Cons

    Clique-y management, favouritism for certain members of staff. Often found the core staff being dismissive of the temporary staff. When I left, the feedback was very poor too. Would rather honest as opposed to making excuses.

    Lush2017-03-12
Found 16 reviews
</>Embed