Lush "staff discount" Reviews | Glassdoor

Lush Employee Reviews about "staff discount"

Updated Dec 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
72%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Lush CEO Mark Constantine
Mark Constantine
322 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sales tactics are also ridiculously pushy and senior staff were forcing them upon you throughout the day(in 33 reviews)

  • "Managers and supervisors try to be supportive but do gossip about you to other members of staff(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "staff discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (8)

    "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lush part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff discount and the products.

    Cons

    There no other way but to say that it was a toxic work environment. Perhaps it was the store location I was in because I've heard positive reviews from friends that have worked in other stores outside of NYC. There was too much passive aggressiveness, entitlement, and unnecessary attitude all of which are forms of mental abuse and that's not an exaggeration. It was extremely cliquey and I felt like I was in middle... school all over again. Lush presents itself as a positive place for self-care however the store I was in was beyond hypocritical. Floor leaders would talk to me as if I was the stupidest person on earth and I felt extremely heavy coming into work for every shift. It's sad because I know Lush at the core as a company does not believe in that atmosphere. I know co-workers who were even too scared to approach the manager and other floor leaders about their approach.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hold yourself and your co workers accountable when communicating with passive aggressiveness or just pure aggression. I get there are goals and numbers to be reached but that is in no way justification for the terrible treatment.

    Lush2018-06-07
  2. "Really excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Oxford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lush part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    – Lovely management staff – Excellent employee benefits (50% staff discount) – Great ethical values which they stand by

    Cons

    – Pretty tiring work – Extremely busy during holiday periods

    Lush2019-12-03
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Supervisor in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lush full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great staff discount Friendly people Ongoing training In charge of own development

    Cons

    No cons at all. Nice place

    Lush2019-10-21
  5. "Absolutely sickening workplace, don't let the 50% discount reel you in."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lush part-time

    Pros

    50% staff discount Friendly work mates

    Cons

    Ethical branding is just a front for your standard evil corporation. Had regular sexually vulgar comments directed to me from management when I joined at age 16. Blatant racial discrimination from managers to every single person of colour on the staff. Company utilises palm-oil in spite of employees being taught to lie about this, plastic glitter, single use plastic packaging for shipments. Employees as young as... 16 years old received over-excessive reprimanding to the point of tears for not greeting every single customer in a friendly enough manner. 5 hour 45 minutes shifts utilised to prevent employees from receiving breaks. Management was untrained, unprofessional, and had a disgusting brand of acting like they cared, then instantly being talked behind your back. Toxic, over-competitive culture pitted store assistants against each other, while they want you to still believe that "we're more of a family than a workplace". Rats in a workplace where members of the public would be putting our products on their skin, while the management refused to do anything about it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Remove the guise of being a "family" to employees, keep professional and respect boundaries, and keep honest

    Lush2019-11-16
  6. "Not so Lush"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Poole, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lush full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% staff discount, good job to fill a gap

    Cons

    Cult-like ethos, serious attitude if you don't make the company your entire life, totally green-washed and faux-SJW causes

    Lush2019-09-22
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great from the outside"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I worked at Lush part-time

    Pros

    Good pay, great staff discount

    Cons

    Company does not look after employees mental health and it is almost impossible to get head office to do anything about bullies within the company

    Lush2019-07-18
  8. "Sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lush full-time

    Pros

    Great pay, staff discount, good customers, great working colleagues

    Cons

    specific with customer approach, love everything else

    Advice to Management

    None

    Lush2019-06-23
  9. "Excellent company driven by ethics but"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Supervisor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lush full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lush is a vibrant place to work at any level. Fun is encouraged. The opportunity to get involved in activism is a bonus. Excellent staff discount. Competitive pay compared to similar retail positions

    Cons

    Lush's culture demands a certain persona that allows very little room for error if you're not on top form. Additionally, there is little opportunity for progression. Most staff move sideways, with little chances to up skill.

    Advice to Management

    I felt throughout my time that many of the managers I worked with could be better trained in supporting their staff. Lush prides themselves on being open and diverse but further training is needed for managers to be better equipped for understanding mental health issues. Lush's in-house HR (formerly known as 'Helping Hands') frequently referred me back to my manager when I called with specific concerns or problems... meaning that I was never able to receive assistance that I needed.

    Show More
    Lush2019-05-04
  10. "Overall Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Lush part-time

    Pros

    - I always smell good - It helped me learn more about my own hair and skin - I feel like I'm genuinely helping people at least once a shift - As a store we make a spotify playlist so it's good tunes playing - Pay is decent and staff discount is nice - The campaigns are often interesting

    Cons

    - If they get the slightest hint you might want to be a supervisor they will milk you for all your energy and push you up the management food chain (which could be a pro, idk what you want) - Customers will often want to fight you because they think they know best after reading 1 article about an ingredient - Workplace bullying is different because Lush is so PC some people start to lodge formal complaints... against others, knowing management won't look for proof of a claim because they don't want to offend a "victim".

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Use your security cameras and don't be afraid to actually reprimand staff who have been trained repeatedly on product knowledge but continue to give sub-par consultations because the rest of us have to deal with their unhappy customers.

    Lush2019-03-25
  11. Helpful (1)

    "Sales assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lush part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good staff discount Co-Workers become good friends Pushes you out of your comfort zone Living Wage

    Cons

    Very pressurizing Tough Approach taken to harassing customers Constant criticism to sales unless your consistently making huge sales Very competitive You lie a lot to customers Management is normally a mess and every store is different

    Advice to Management

    Don’t put so much pressure on your sales assistants and trust that the training you have given does work unless they ask for help

    Lush2019-03-27
Found 41 reviews
</>Embed