KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Lutheran Social Services of Illinois

Is this your company?

Lutheran Social Services of Illinois

Add a Review

Lutheran Social Services of Illinois Reviews

Updated Jan 17, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 114 of over 118 reviews

2.8
24%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
Lutheran Social Services of Illinois President and CEO Rev. Denver Bitner
Rev. Denver Bitner
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "It has good benefits and a lot of PTO(in 5 reviews)

  • "Pay, coworkers, and flexible schedule(in 4 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Low pay, not enough training, no raises(in 11 reviews)

  • "No raises, no pay for performance(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Opportunity & chaos

      Jan 4, 2022 - Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Growth centered environment. Clinical staff are trained and skilled in the business side of counseling

      Cons

      Lower than average salaries with little increases

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Lssi

      Jan 17, 2022 - Licensed Clinical Social Worker LCSW in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is great flexibility there

      Cons

      The pay is very low

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Seems to care about families but not always allowed to give full effort

      Jan 17, 2022 - Caseworker 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Make an impact and change a life. Flexible work hours.

      Cons

      Busy schedule. Hard to balance work and home life.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Stepping Stone

      Dec 28, 2021 - Case Aide 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Options to work more hours

      Cons

      Low pay and no raises

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Terrible place

      Dec 28, 2021 - Case Manager in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None really. Clients were nice.

      Cons

      Management; racist; anti Black practices

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Develop early professional experience

      Dec 8, 2021 - Mental Health Clinician in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Many programs to develop experience for professional growth.

      Cons

      Poor management, program oversight limited, few tangible resources, poor accountability of supervisors.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Showing Compassion For Children.

      Oct 18, 2021 - Restaurant Staff in Naperville, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Performing Community Work Helping Children And Helping Families.

      Cons

      Overwhelming Case Loads Of People At Times.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not horrible

      Sep 28, 2021 - Foster Care Case Worker in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Supportive supervisor , team members, and surrounding staff

      Cons

      Terrible work-life balance. Not enough training.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Average, can be stressful

      Sep 11, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -I enjoyed most of the coworkers that I served -For my position specifically, I had a lot of flexibility -Most generous Verizon discount (22%) I have had thus far in my career -I accomplished a lot and had a huge impact on the things under my jurisdiction. These accomplishments made me very marketable to other employers and ensured that I had my pick of my jobs.

      Cons

      -Expensive health insurance and having to pay a SIGNIFICANT financial penalty if you don't share private medical data via the workplace wellness program. My current employer has no workplace wellness program and the cost is less than half what I was paying at LSSI. -For my job role, there was no path upwards -Although I received 1 significant raise over 5+ years, the typical year saw no raises and no bonuses. Not even cost of living adjustments. The raise also was not enough to get my salary to the average market salary for my position and experience level. -Chronic understaffing. CSO departments can specifically be hard to work with due to staffing shortages. If you specifically rely on a CSO department to provide you with something needed to do your job, they will never get to you in a timely manner. You probably will have to find some way around them to achieve goals and/or meet deadlines. I eventually left for this reason, as receiving things NECESSARY to do my job became protracted battles. Everything that was a battle to get was something I received on Day 1 of my current job. And also, everyone else on my team has these same things. Some departments get it; however, the need to circumvent certain departments to get work done is a bigger problem than executive leadership and certain departments realize. Line managers may look the other way because they know you can't get your job done otherwise. Most likely, this will cause security and legal problems down the road.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee

      blah

      Aug 28, 2021 - Social Worker in Springfield, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      hard work - gratifying when you get a win

      Cons

      hard never ending work with little thanks

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 114 Reviews

    Lutheran Social Services of Illinois Reviews FAQs

    Lutheran Social Services of Illinois has an overall rating of 2.8 out of 5, based on over 118 reviews left anonymously by employees. 24% of employees would recommend working at Lutheran Social Services of Illinois to a friend and 17% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Lutheran Social Services of Illinois employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.4 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Lutheran Social Services of Illinois. This rating has decreased by -4% over the last 12 months.

    24% of Lutheran Social Services of Illinois employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Lutheran Social Services of Illinois 2.3 out of 5 for work life balance, 2.7 for culture and values and 2.7 for career opportunities.

    According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Lutheran Social Services of Illinois to be work life balance, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be senior leadership, career development, management.

    Popular Careers with Lutheran Social Services of Illinois Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Lutheran Social Services of Illinois? Share Your Experiences

    Lutheran Social Services of Illinois logo
    or