Lyft Independent Contractor Reviews

Updated May 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
1.8
8%
Recommend to a Friend
22%
Approve of CEO
Lyft CEO Logan Green
Logan Green
8 Ratings
  1. "Great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Independent Contractor in Teaneck, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lyft for more than a year

    Pros

    Great extra income for the times in between

    Cons

    Tolls tolls n fees too many fees..surges only come off in fees we never see extra $

    Lyft2018-01-09
  2. "Meh"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Independent Contractor in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Lyft for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A good way to get part time income. Don't make it permanent.

    Cons

    Internal goals unclear to staff and contractors

    Continue reading
    Lyft2020-05-15
  3. "Exploitation"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Driver - Independent Contractor in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lyft for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, work whenever you can.

    Cons

    Low pay, you are responsible for your taxes, gas, wear and tear on your car. It is an extremely dangerous job since being in traffic long hours, you're exposed to being involved in an accident, risking personal injury and even death for you and or your passengers. Also, Lyft acts like a god and can suspend or deactivate you at any moment due to any anonymous complaint. You gave no recourse. So people ask: If it's so bad why don't you do something else? Answer: desperation and financial despair.

    Continue reading
    Lyft2019-11-10
  4. Helpful (1)

    "run like H-ll from companies like this...."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Freelancer - Independent Contractor in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lyft for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible hours and meeting some great people

    Cons

    Many customers treat you poorly and Lyfts pretends they don't know you and will not assist you when you are assaulted by Lyft customer. The pay is BAD considering the miles expense put on your automobile (Lyft 30-50% cut too much). Too many $3.00 runs that take 15 minutes... drive to customer 5 minutes, wait 5 minutes, drive customer 2 miles 5minutes.... 15 minutes, 10 miles total, $3 WOW.... another loser.... drive customer 40 miles but no rides back to metro area... another loser.... Too many dead miles without a customer. There was so much bad about my experiences with Lyft and lack of cost effectiveness. I have not yet pulled my account down and thats why I addresses as currently full-time.

    Continue reading
    Lyft2019-04-23
  5. "It is what you make it"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Independent Contractor in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lyft for less than a year

    Pros

    Your own hours Meet new people often Repeat customers Keep your tips Explore the city/area

    Cons

    Can go extended periods of time without a request Much of gas can be wasted (if in an inconvenient location)

    Continue reading
    Lyft2018-05-25
  6. Helpful (1)

    "driver"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Independent Contractor in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lyft for less than a year

    Pros

    I can't tell you at the moment.

    Cons

    They treat their drivers as easily replaceable refuse.

    Continue reading
    Lyft2018-03-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Predatory rental, uncooperative, terrible support"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Independent Contractor in Sacramento, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Lyft for less than a year

    Pros

    LYFT probably does not cause cancer.

    Cons

    Rented a car through LYFT. Too many drivers so it is extremely difficult to get the number of rides necessary to hit goals and i need to leave town for 2 weeks. Tried to return the car. You have to give 24 hours notice for an appointment and must return the car to the location you rented it. No-one has answered the phone at their Rancho Cordova office for several days. Now, it is the weekend and guess what, they are closed on the weekend. I call LYFT support. They are rude and tell me too bad. I can return it on Tuesday. I will be out of town. They tell me that the car will go into repo, be picked up, and I will own more charges and be un-LYFTed for ever more. Absolutely zero help or appreciation that their own people won't answer the phone at the rental facility. Best of all, the support person hung up the phone when I inquired about other alternatives to repo.

    Continue reading
    Lyft2017-12-30
  8. "ratings"

    4.0
    Current Freelancer - Independent Contractor in San Diego, CA

    I have been working at Lyft for less than a year

    Pros

    i get to choose my own hours which is cool, and driving strangers around, you connect with them emotionally sometimes as if you have known for long, and I enjoy every moment.

    Cons

    Lyft should screen their riders more because crazy riders are really out there with no regard for the driver or the vehicle.

    Lyft2017-01-08
  9. "Lyft ParTner Driver"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Independent Contractor in Berkeley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lyft for less than a year

    Pros

    i look forward to share my cool stories with passengers.

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons but i'd like to the customer support to be a more responsive

    Continue reading
    Lyft2016-09-29
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Lyft Is Awesome"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Freelancer - Independent Contractor in Chicago, IL

    I have been working at Lyft for less than a year

    Pros

    There are hourly guarantees sometimes (about every other week), you can work anytime you want

    Cons

    Just like a taxi the passengers want you to stop at a place you cannot stand (like downtown) and wait for them if they're not already outside, had ended up getting a ticket, the GPS gets very crazy downtown especially at night, the location is not precise like the passenger is really a few blocks away, the GPS always brings me inside the ally to pick people up from the back of the house, the hourly guarantee is getting lower and lower, the advertisement keeps talking about making up to $35 an hour when really that is offered Halloween night and around 1-3am New Year's Day, not many people tip

    Continue reading
    Lyft2015-12-31
Found 16 reviews