Lyft Reviews | Glassdoor

Lyft Reviews

Updated Feb 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
62%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Lyft CEO Logan Green
Logan Green
312 Ratings
  1. Helpful (8)

    "Toxic Environment makes it impossible to get anything done"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lyft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - co-founders are incredible humans - office perks are great

    Cons

    - toxic environment: political, always challenging others ideas, makes it impossible to get anything done. - very short term vision and afraid of taking risks: makes for no big innovation accepted or encouraged

    Continue reading
    Lyft2019-10-25
  2. Helpful (10)

    "Toxic - disappointing experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lyft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch Office location with view of the Bay Great Benefits Amazing first day orientation

    Cons

    I joined the company because I heard about the great culture. While this is probably true in other teams, the team that I was on has a very toxic Sr. Manager (my boss). She has no sense of professionalism and is a very bad representation of what Lyft is about. She has no people skills and no managerial skills whatsoever. She constantly yell (yes, that's the right word), belittles, and mistreated her team. In fact, first thing in the morning, I could hear her yell at our Sr. Specialist who told me that I have to get used to the fact that our manager HATES her. I have never felt that much toxicity in a workplace. I could literally feel the stress at the back of my neck every day. HR has asked me to stay after I reported this. However, I didn't because I am not okay witnessing the mistreatment in the team. I have been informed the day before I left that 2 people in the staff left before I was hired, and another 2 left after me. Me and the other 2 that left after were there probably less than 2 months. During the interview, the team will not say anything bad about the manager. I asked why she didn't tsay anything, and was told that she don't want to get in trouble. They team felt that nothing is going to change because someone higher up in the org is protecting her. The problem has been communicated to HR in the past, but for some reason, they have not done what is necessary to get rid of the manager. This has been my worst career experience and would not recommend.

    Continue reading
    Lyft2019-11-18
  3. ":)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Lyft full-time

    Pros

    People, hub, opportunities for growth

    Cons

    no 401k match, SF is cold

    Lyft2019-10-19
  4. "Very friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Technician in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lyft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Overall a very friendly and comfortable atmosphere

    Cons

    Not any to speak of

    Lyft2019-10-15
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Huge turnover for a reason."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bilingual Operations Associate in Nashville, TN

    I have been working at Lyft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, okay pay for someone without a degree, team outings.

    Cons

    You will be micro-managed, they are running out of things to do in my team, and there is no future for the team or yourself as far as growth.

    Continue reading
    Lyft2019-10-21
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Nashville, TN

    I have been working at Lyft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A lot of growth opportunity with great leadership. Great work environment and an overall great place to build a career.

    Cons

    The fast pace work can be a little draining at times

    Lyft2019-10-04
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Best company culture I've worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Manager in Palo Alto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Lyft full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Open, inclusive working culture. Competent and approachable leadership. Great vision, great technology.

    Cons

    Will be nice to provide gym discount type of benefits.

    Continue reading
    Lyft2019-10-08
  8. "Hard but interesting work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Data Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Lyft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Talented people, modern technologies, problems at scale.

    Cons

    Multitasking can be insane at times.

    Lyft2019-10-10
  9. "Android Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Android Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lyft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great experience overall. Very friendly interviewers.

    Cons

    Nothing so far. No cons

    Lyft2019-10-08
  10. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Associate in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Lyft full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and work-life balance

    Cons

    littler room for advancement and a TOP mentality.

    Lyft2019-10-21

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 447 reviews
</>Embed