KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Lyft

Engaged Employer

Lyft

Add a Review

Lyft Employee Reviews about "management"

Updated Jun 30, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 214 of over 3,822 reviews

4.0
76%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Lyft CEO Logan Green
Logan Green
627 Ratings

What people are saying about Lyft

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "If you drive during prime time you can really make bank which is great for people in between jobs.(in 188 reviews)
  • "Flexible hours and fun you get to chat and listen to music all day esstenially.(in 185 reviews)
  • "Money is good and quick(in 153 reviews)
  • "So many great benefit and driver reward programs(in 111 reviews)
  • "Flexible Schedule and getting to meet new people each and everyday.(in 101 reviews)
Cons
  • "Low pay for rides even if you ride all day you won’t meet your goal cause this company is money hungry.(in 164 reviews)
  • "I see my coworker stop appearing at work because of poor management issues.(in 62 reviews)
  • "No bonuses and less per mile pay(in 54 reviews)
  • "Senior leadership, in some departments, is under experienced and it leads to inefficiency and frustration sometimes.(in 25 reviews)
  • "Bad managers are not disciplined or held accountable, even when there is extreme turnover(in 19 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Lyft and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Toxic and Hostile Workplace

    May 28, 2020 - Customer Experience in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - I have met a number of good friends through work

    Cons

    - The environment is very toxic and hostile - Oftentimes middle management is intimidating, aggressive and pushy - Performance reviews are skewed with favoritism and inaccurate stats - Even if you are incredibly overqualified for internal positions or promotions, you will be continually disqualified or denied those positions for immeasurable reasons - Middle management and up are frequently given promotions and new titles without meeting specific transfer criteria(ie - time in role requirements, performance requirements) - If you are an HQ employee, you are unable to report concerns found on social media sites (ie - drivers/riders making inappropriate comments or posting pictures of weapons in vehicles on their social media) - Concerns brought to management are not investigated, followed up on, or taken seriously - There is little to no training - Changes made to procedures are not communicated properly or in a timely manner - After the IPO - financial matters trumped everything - You are not a valued employee, but rather a number.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Encourage Toxic Environment

    Oct 8, 2021 - Associate in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I learned so many invaluable skills regarding how to type emails and handle stressful situations. I also learned about how social media works.

    Cons

    My job entitled more than the online description when I applied. Management never includes associates so you end up being the last to know about major changes. My manager was racist and Lyft never did anything to reprimand them or hold them accountable. I found out they didn’t want me on the team from the start and would talk about me to other employees and accuse me of things without any cause. They never encouraged my growth as an associate and always found ways to tell me I wasn’t doing enough. Even pulling bad numbers saying I took too much sick time when I only took 15 hours the entire 1.5 years I was there. I also only got one raise the entire time I was there and it was a few cents.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Hardest Customer Service Job

    Sep 10, 2019 - Community Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - The team members - commuter benefits

    Cons

    - management listens to corporate rather than listening to the team who has experience with the operational issues on day to day basis - face to face support: You'll see drivers from all walks of life. So don't be surprised if you get yelled at, threaten, or belittled. That is when your not teaching the drivers the different between what an email or text message is. Or teaching them how to send an email. This job requires very much of you with pay that is not sufficient.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Freelancer, more than 3 years

    Amazing service, full of good people

    Aug 27, 2020 - Lyft Driver in Mesa, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great support Friendly staff Good drivers Good business model Good app Decent pricing for passengers Easy to make money Ultimate flexibility for spare time work Understanding and patient management team

    Cons

    They do demand high ratings and may deactivate you even if you're a good driver and friendly person who is safe with passengers, because ratings sometimes still are too important.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Disappointed

    Feb 28, 2019 - Customer Experience in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company as a whole has a great vision and great values. It's an easy company to believe in. The office is pet friendly and has great snacks.

    Cons

    They believe that the pay is competitive, but it's only competitive based on title and not actual work. There is an incredibly large gap in pay between hourly employees and salaried employees (over $20k difference). The level of work that most team members are doing is not reflective in title or salary, which makes it difficult when job hunting, because the title is not equivalent to the work at other companies. For promotions, they have guidelines in place that you must be in your position for at least 1 year before you can apply for another position. If another position comes up that you are the most qualified for and are currently the most senior on your team, you cannot apply for it if you have not met this 1 year requirement. This allowed for less senior team members to apply for and receive a promotion, even though they weren't the most senior and may have been passed up for the previous promotion. It was incredibly discouraging and management did nothing to resolve the issue. We were encouraged to speak up about issues, but were rarely actually heard. We were frequently met with very political responses, but no real action. Myself and my team members often went to management and senior management to address issues. I even went to HR with concerns and no action was taken by them either. It was incredibly disappointing to be encouraged to surface concerns, but never see any resolutions provided by leadership. Leadership rarely had any clear vision. Every issue was always an emergency and you were expected to switch focus quickly while never completing a project. It made it impossible to work toward a goal or stay aligned with the team. The Customer Experience management team are salaried and are able to check email out of working hours. Often, hourly employees are sent emails on weekends or non-working hours and are expected to receive the update. Hourly employees cannot check email outside of working hours, which makes updates impossible. There are opportunities for learning and development but they are rarely spoken of and most team members are completely unaware of them. Since I have left, I have heard of no improvements to the team and have heard of more team members looking to leave. I wanted to stay at Lyft as long as possible and was absolutely heartbroken to leave, but I couldn't work in these conditions anymore.

    Continue reading
    19 people found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good effort

    May 7, 2021 - Customer Experience Specialist in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lyft is a fun company to work for and does a good job of getting employees to buy into their relaxed tech-corporate culture. They're great at making building an inclusive and diverse atmosphere where you feel comfortable being yourself. No dress code, lots of snacks and drinks, great benefits and perks with a cool office and they seem to genuinely be trying to create a healthy work-life balance.

    Cons

    Some of the upper management can be out of touch with their lower level employees and at times make bottom-dollar decisions that seem un-transparent and directionless to their subordinates instead of what's best for their workers. Even before the pandemic they were already cutting costs and benefits that made the company less appealing and the pandemic only accelerated that. Corporate politics became more and more present in my 3+ years there which interfered with my own development and career progression.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great company but now hiring some questionable individuals

    Jun 28, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits, great starting pay, free snacks

    Cons

    Management in the Nashville office needs training. New managers have been hired and are somehow worse than the previous managers. Upper management in SF seem amazing but should probably keep a closer eye on what's actually happening in Nashville.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Best job I've ever had

    Feb 12, 2017 - QA Specialist in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great environment with wonderful coworkers Management is flexible and considerate Company is invested in your career Benefit package is amazing

    Cons

    Being based in San Francisco, the Nashville office has to stream team meetings and often have video meetings with team members in other offices. It's not horrible, it can just feel distant.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Inequality and favoritism from managers to certain employees

    Jul 26, 2017 - Community Associate in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible work environment co workers are nice

    Cons

    Seniority does not matter. New people are brought on by managers that know the new hire personally. Then that new hire gets special treatment and gets favoritism. Management really doesn't care about your growth unless it will benefit them (getting a promotion). New hires that know manager come in and act like they are above you and treat you like nothing because of the 'connection' they have with the manager. No benefits they just contract you and use you as they please.

    Continue reading