KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Lyft

Engaged Employer

Lyft

Add a Review

Lyft Employee Reviews about "people"

Updated Aug 16, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 627 of over 3,926 reviews

4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Lyft CEO Logan Green
Logan Green
647 Ratings

What people are saying about Lyft

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "If you drive during prime time you can really make bank which is great for people in between jobs.(in 205 reviews)
  • "Flexible hours and fun you get to chat and listen to music all day esstenially.(in 182 reviews)
  • "Money is good and quick(in 150 reviews)
  • "So many great benefit and driver reward programs(in 109 reviews)
  • "Flexible Schedule and you meet a lot of different people(in 104 reviews)
Cons
  • "Low pay for rides even if you ride all day you won’t meet your goal cause this company is money hungry.(in 167 reviews)
  • "I see my coworker stop appearing at work because of poor management issues.(in 59 reviews)
  • "No bonuses and less per mile pay(in 58 reviews)
  • "Senior leadership, in some departments, is under experienced and it leads to inefficiency and frustration sometimes.(in 26 reviews)
  • "Poor communication.(in 22 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Lyft and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 2.0
    Current Freelancer

    Driver

    Sep 15, 2017 - Driver in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible hours. Get to learn the city your in pretty well and occasionally get to drive friendly passengers. Probably a good gig for college students or people who really aren't depending on income.

    Cons

    Constant updating of the app. They now force you to use their driver app which, as it turns out, most drivers don't like. They use internal manipulation marketing to get their drivers to believe they're making more than they are. Example: guarenteed fares $200 (if you read the fine fine print) is before they take their cut. They might call that enticing. Me: insulting. They could easily guarentee 140 under the same requirements. Without guarantees or minimums you're likely making less than 10 an hour after gas and you still have to figure in wear and tear. Also, for a company really trying to stomp out their competitor Uber, by being the most politically correct and capitalizing on people's need to morally rationalize their choices, they are simply trying to mask (like most other large corporations) the walmart that they are. Biggest perks (like ride credits and discounts) go to the people the founders believe are most important... the top 5 percent. Not the faces of the company. Lots of people love working for big business regardless if they are at the bottom or not. And hey, if you just like (or need) the quick dismal cash then cool. This might be for you. Just know what it is and don't believe all the hype.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Freelancer

    Great Part Time Gig

    Aug 22, 2017 - Anonymous Freelancer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you drive during prime time you can really make bank which is great for people in between jobs.

    Cons

    This new driver app has so many glitches. Also don't like the rating system because if you get one bad review it will completely ruin your overall score.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Freelancer, more than 5 years

    VERY low wages. Ruined my life

    Aug 10, 2021 - Driver in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This job is fun and offers people the opportunity to meet new people and be in different locations every day. Great for an artistic personality.

    Cons

    The downside is the pay: extremely low amount of money for an excessive amount of driving. I worked 12 hours per day, 6 days per week and I could barely afford food. Living in LA, my rent was $1300 for a small shared unit. I fought every month to pay rent and I only ate 2 meals per day to cut food costs. Also, the job can be extremely dangerous: dangerous riders and the obvious danger of driving, which the later is no fault of Lyft's. If you get into an accident, your life could be turned upside down because there are no health benefits, no unemployment, etc. It's so bad that I will never order a Lyft or Uber for myself in the future as a rider.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Freelancer, less than 1 year

    Nothing good to say

    Sep 13, 2017 - Driver in Highland Springs, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    When there is runs its not bad money

    Cons

    Rating is bull crap... How can they rate you bad when your doing everything you can to make the passage comfortably,and have a enjoable ride..I have had almost every run cut back because people rate you on everything down to others smoking in your car,although I spray to get the smell out,I even open car doors for people and before we get to where they are going I ask is there any place you need to stop before going to your destination, People are just heartless in the bad areas which seems that's the only place I get stuck in.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Freelancer, more than 1 year

    Bad idea

    Jun 17, 2017 - Driver in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can work when you want.

    Cons

    You wear out your vehicle. You must buy a lot of gas. You must maintain your vehicle at a significant expense. No matter how: nice you are, how clean your vehicle is, or how accommodating you are, you still rarely get appropriate gratuity & bad reviews. People from India are the worst....don't pick them up....they lie and smell and are rude. Also, be sure to count your cost honestly....you need to pay taxes quarterly....they don't tell you that!

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Freelancer, less than 1 year

    Based on their own less than stellar 5 Star rating they would be "Deactivated"

    Apr 29, 2014 - Driver in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible hours, meet some very nice people, decent part-time gig. When the passengers are nice and respectful it is a fun job. Can pay ok, but only during peak hours.

    Cons

    They expect drivers to have at least 4.6 stars out of 5 without any real feedback on why drivers give a low rating. In my opninion terminating drivers after short time periods without trying to give more feedback on the exact reason they didn't earn 5 stars is never going to be successful! Many times those less than 5 star reviews are from riders that are not educated on what the Lyft concept truely is and/or for reasons outside of a drivers control! The company is loosing GOOD drivers and GOOD people because of a wacked review system. Their loss!

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Freelancer, less than 1 year

    Amazeballs

    Jul 29, 2014 - Driver in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Extra cash every week. You definitely get out of it what you put in. You meet so many people that you would have never crossed paths with otherwise. Some of these people are awesome and have some great advice or insights into other aspects of life.

    Cons

    People suck at times. THE RATING SYSTEM IS STUPID. I got a bad rating because a drunk guy couldn't figure out if he wanted me to drop him off at home or at his bike down the street. I drove to both locations in the span of 52 minutes before I finally called it a night and politely asked him If I could just leave him at his home since he was drunk and could get a DUI from riding his bike home. He got mad that I was trying "to get rid of him" It was 3 am and I was fighting sleep. :( Also you get bad ratings for following GPS and sometimes it's not the path they usually take. So you basically have to read minds.

    Continue reading
    25 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Freelancer, less than 1 year

    Lyft Independent Driver

    Feb 10, 2022 - Independent Driver Contractor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Drive whenever you like wherever! Meet all types of people from all walks of life! Assist people with getting them wherever they need to go! Helping to make a difference!

    Cons

    App and GPS has glitches occasionally. Obnoxious people that can act entitled as though you are beneath them and sometimes treat you in a disrespectful manner or without their mask and you are following company policies.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Operations Manager

    Apr 14, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval