Lynchburg General Hospital Reviews | Glassdoor

Lynchburg General Hospital Reviews

Updated Aug 18, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lynchburg General Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great management, wonderful staff to work with. Generally feel very cared for and valued as a nurse.

    Cons

    The pay seems very awful comparatively to the country.

    Advice to Management

    Pay raise!

    Lynchburg General Hospital2015-12-02
  2. "Hospital Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Lynchburg General Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overall great work on patients.

    Cons

    Staff has issues with "outsiders."

    Lynchburg General Hospital2017-08-18
  3. "Resource RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Lynchburg General Hospital part-time

    Pros

    Flexible scheduling with Resource Team, Tuition Assistance

    Cons

    Poor employee retention incentives/bonuses

    Advice to Management

    Work harder to keep your good nurses instead of focusing on hiring new ones

    Lynchburg General Hospital2017-02-28
  4. "RN II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Registered Nurse in Lynchburg, VA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Lynchburg General Hospital for more than a year

    Pros

    staff worked as team members

    Cons

    RN base pay was not competitive for area

    Lynchburg General Hospital2016-10-23
  5. "Wonderful nurses drowned by short staffing and not enough resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    RN2 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Lynchburg General Hospital

    Pros

    Self scheduling, great teamwork, updated facility (East Tower)

    Cons

    We were short staffed pretty much every day on both days and nights. Nurses and CNAs simply have too many patients and too high acuity to adequately care for patients. Patient safety was often compromised because nurses simply don't have the time to be everywhere at once and do everything at once. The floor I worked on for a year and a half was simply a madhouse, with the staff running around frantically trying to... get their work done. It became a normal occurrence for staff to work 13 hour shifts with not one lunch break. The turnover rate is very high, with most new nurses leaving within a year or two.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fix staffing and nurse to patient ratios, and try to offer nurses a more competitive salary. Show them that you actually care about them!

    Lynchburg General Hospital2015-10-27
  6. "Uncomfortable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Environmental Technician in Lynchburg, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Lynchburg General Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Scheduling Inside Benefits Wanting to serve the Community

    Cons

    Very Poor Leadership Very Poor Pay Zero Opportunities for Advancement

    Advice to Management

    You should consider everyone for advancement in the department, not limit your employees opportunities who are wanting to grow in the field.

    Lynchburg General Hospital2015-03-28
  7. "awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EMT in Lynchburg, VA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Lynchburg General Hospital part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great experience. co-workers were always helpful and willing to help.

    Cons

    can be stressful as any emergency room, especially when short staffed.

    Lynchburg General Hospital2014-08-05
  8. "My experience at LGH was good, rewarding and satisfying."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Lynchburg, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Lynchburg General Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoy having what I need to work with; liked working weekend nights. Teamwork was great on nights.

    Cons

    At times, we would have to go from one med room to the other to get supplies or medications. So when talking about time management and efficiency, this issue is a great example of wasting valuable patient and charting time.

    Advice to Management

    Ensure that the medication rooms are stocked before leaving for the week. Install some type of an alarm of supplies that would alarm if an item was not scanned out before leaving the med room or allow supplies to be scanned into the system using the scanner in the room or on med cart.

    Lynchburg General Hospital2014-07-23
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Lynchburg General Hospital part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers on whom you can count. Encourage opportunities to further your education. Leadership is always encouraging and opened to listen to staff. Amazing environment.

    Cons

    There are times when the patient to nurse ratio is increased which puts a strain on the nurse. Salary is not the best, but the reward comes more from those who one takes care of when you see that you made a difference in their lives.

    Advice to Management

    I think they should be more opened to having international nurses who have graduated from a US university who have proved themselves to be great nurses.

    Lynchburg General Hospital2012-11-26
Found 9 reviews