Médecins Sans Frontières Reviews | Glassdoor

Médecins Sans Frontières Reviews

Updated Mar 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
84%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Médecins Sans Frontières International President Joanne Liu
Joanne Liu
86 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Interesting work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Doctor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Médecins Sans Frontières full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and interesting work

    Cons

    Low pay and poor management

    Continue reading
    Médecins Sans Frontières2019-12-31
  2. "Slow Office - Decent Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly 

    I have been working at Médecins Sans Frontières part-time

    Pros

    Nice culture (slow workload for interns. Free food sometimes)

    Cons

    Like any internship - lots of tedious work at time.

    Médecins Sans Frontières2019-12-04
  3. Helpful (1)

    "There are better functioning non- profits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Médecins Sans Frontières full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The benefits and salaries are great and higher than most non profits but that’s about it. 20 vacation days a year plus sick time.

    Cons

    Egos and combative work style There is a strong sense of burn out and high rates of turnover among staff.

    Continue reading
    Médecins Sans Frontières2019-12-02
  4. "Great place to learn about field"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Intern 

    I worked at Médecins Sans Frontières part-time

    Pros

    Learned about field projects and missions

    Cons

    Had a lot of down time

    Médecins Sans Frontières2019-10-11
  5. "Enjoyable starter job as an intro into non-profit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Médecins Sans Frontières full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun staff, work with multiple departments, good first job out of college, amazing work life balance, good for networking and talking to people higher up, friendly and casual working environment (at least from the entry level point of view)

    Cons

    High turnover, diversity and inclusion needs work, administrative work heavy. To move up out of entry roles, the qualifications are a little absurd in terms of degrees you need to have sometimes just to do administrative support work

    Continue reading
    Médecins Sans Frontières2019-09-17
  6. "Inefficient organization with only global name"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Médecins Sans Frontières full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work-life balance. Free to take vacation.

    Cons

    With over 50 year history, it is still run like a start-up. No system. Especially, management in local offices are Europeans, who do not know local languages and local culture. I think it is same for any office, especially in Asia.

    Médecins Sans Frontières2019-10-17
  7. "Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Médecins Sans Frontières

    Pros

    They care about the national staff, and they are open minded and listen to opinions and they let you be part of the thinking process not just execution. They also care for the safety of the staff especially the national staff.

    Cons

    In my country Cameroon they said they were following the government salary grid but national Doctors get twice what the government recommends while Nurses just get the exact pay. That’s not ok.

    Continue reading
    Médecins Sans Frontières2019-04-04
  8. "Amazing organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at Médecins Sans Frontières part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, friendly colleagues, and good work life balance

    Cons

    Difficult to get permanent positions

    Médecins Sans Frontières2019-02-20
  9. "Great organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Médecins Sans Frontières full-time

    Pros

    Great mission and people

    Cons

    None. I really enjoyed working there

    Médecins Sans Frontières2019-01-29
  10. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Human Resources Assistant 

    I worked at Médecins Sans Frontières full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits Decent salary in nonprofit Flexible

    Cons

    Lack of training for new managers Lack of structure

    Continue reading
    Médecins Sans Frontières2019-02-12
Found 205 reviews