M. J. Electric Reviews | Glassdoor

M. J. Electric Reviews

Updated Mar 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 11 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Best of the best, a real keeper"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Safety Coordinator in Iron Mountain, MI

    I have been working at M. J. Electric full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great money, family oriented

    Cons

    Nonstop travel around the usa

    Advice to Management

    Steer the same course

    M. J. Electric2019-03-12
  2. "NO! NO! and NO!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at M. J. Electric full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A Few decent, hardworking, genuinely friendly people that want to see employees succeed!!Decent office parties. Casual working environment.

    Cons

    LACK OF DIVERSITY including women in management and higher level roles. THIS NEEDS TO CHANGE!! Improve employee engagement!!! Poor leadership. Needs leadership development training . No positivity or employee motivation for certain people!!!Instead negativity feedback from managers. Poor training initiatives. Too many cliques and too ex much finger pointing when errors are made!!! Favoritism is rampant. Poor team building,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Company wide CORPORATE DIVERSITY TRAINING!!!!

    M. J. Electric2018-12-14
  3. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at M. J. Electric full-time

    Pros

    Feels like you are working for a small family business when in fact M.J. is a leader in the Electrical Contractor market. Ability to rub elbows with executives often.

    Cons

    Upper level managers get way with a lot and outright lie to the executives to further push their agenda.

    M. J. Electric2018-11-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "7 months with MJ"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Engineer in Glen Ellyn, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at M. J. Electric full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Hourly, moderate work load, company truck and gas card for field staff, pretty good security systems and software

    Cons

    No overtime, I was told that I would normally work 50-60 hours a week which is honestly the time this job requires. Well after working here for a while I was told NO overtime and that I need to take care of everything in the 40 hours I’m on site. Im still working more then 40 hours and only getting paid for 40. Can someone say illegal?

    Advice to Management

    Get a punch card for field personel. A time app on a phone that is gps enabled. You could clock in anytime anywhere based and gps could be recorded and reported to upper manaent if they have any issues with the time.

    M. J. Electric2018-08-08
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at M. J. Electric full-time

    Pros

    Works with you to develop yourself. Must be willing to travel.

    Cons

    Smaller company lacks job security that a fortune 500 would have.

    M. J. Electric2017-09-28
  6. "MJ"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I worked at M. J. Electric full-time

      Pros

      They have good on job training

      Cons

      Can be a lot of traveling

      M. J. Electric2017-04-11
    • "Mj"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Journeyman Lineman 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at M. J. Electric for less than a year

      Pros

      STEADY, Secure, Safety is top priority.

      Cons

      Lots of Hours, must travel

      M. J. Electric2017-01-10
    • "M. J."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I worked at M. J. Electric full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      A bright project manager or superintendent raised near the company's headquarters can do well at M. J.

      Cons

      Growing pains common to many small, local or regional companies.

      Advice to Management

      None

      M. J. Electric2015-12-20
    • "Internship review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at M. J. Electric part-time

      Pros

      I learned a lot about the industry, and got to spend quite a bit of time out in the field. The experience was very valuable and useful for pointing my education.

      Cons

      I did a lot of paperwork, and never got into engineering. This was more of a construction management type of internship, not electrical engineering.

      Advice to Management

      Get the interns involved in engineering, or specify that this will be more of a construction management type position. Offer the interns oppertunities to get involved with the outside engineers

      M. J. Electric2015-09-27
    • "General Rating"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Management in Reading, PA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at M. J. Electric full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Very family oriented company, good salary, friendly team, good benefits

      Cons

      lacks diversity in management, overwhelmingly white males, almost no women or people of color in management positions, slow to make changes to new technology and employment trends

      Advice to Management

      Move to a more virtual workplace. It will save money and provide employees with a better work/life balance,

      M. J. Electric2015-05-22
    Found 11 reviews