M&T Bank Assistant Branch Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

M&T Bank Assistant Branch Manager Reviews

Updated Oct 13, 2016

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
81%
Recommend to a Friend
M&T Bank CEO Rene F Jones (no image)
Rene F Jones
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Assistant Branch Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at M&T Bank

    Pros

    Great place to work for me

    Cons

    None I can think of

    M&T Bank2015-10-13
  2. "Assistant branch manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Branch Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at M&T Bank

    Pros

    Will easily promote within but they don't compensate for it

    Cons

    No transparency technology is weak management will get away with murder

    Continue reading
    M&T Bank2016-10-13
  3. "Great and Not so Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Branch Manager in Buffalo, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at M&T Bank for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most people I have met within the organization have been absolutely wonderful. The corporate trainers at the time I began with the company were fantastic. The ideas particularly from the Retail executives to focus on relationships and the banking customer are absolutely the best from both a customer and business standpoint. The mission and communcated culture that these executives have promoted is something I could get behind and truely wanted to promote as well.

    Cons

    They have two very important issues. The first is the attitude and structure of the IT and technology aspect of the bank. By resisting the integration of new technology, it has been applied haphazardly creating difficult working software. At any given point I was working on up to ten different software programs that did not talk to each other and slowed the computer processing speed. This issue translated to difficulty for an employee to properly service and build relationships with the customer. Secondly, Regulatory catch-up and inability to properly help employees make changes to the new environment in both training and communication has caused alot of good employees to leave or be let go. It also has left employees scared and less likely to engage upper managment to make needed changes.

    Continue reading
    M&T Bank2016-09-13
  4. Helpful (2)

    "The worst bank to work for!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Branch Manager 
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at M&T Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Absolutely nothing!! Do not joint this crappy bank. Worst decision that I ever made. If you get an interview just leave, do not go!!

    Cons

    No training, crazy managers. Micro managing to the 1000 power, and if you go to training you are coach by morons. They tell tou that they want you to be the best bank to work for it was a true nightmare!!

    Continue reading
    M&T Bank2016-07-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant Branch Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Branch Manager in Wappingers Falls, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at M&T Bank for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great benefits and account packages

    Cons

    The branch is like a call center. Customer calls for everything including account balance. You spend all day answering the phones and handling customer issues and not enough time to work your managed customer which is what you are reviewed on.

    Continue reading
    M&T Bank2015-07-11
  6. "Assistant Branch Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Branch Manager in Frederick, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at M&T Bank

    Pros

    40 hour work week...hours aren't bad

    Cons

    Required to sell into a portfolio of people that do not need what you are offering...cold-calling...not your usual salaried position--co-workers make sure you are there constantly to help with the very few customers that still actually come into the branch (no long lunches and leaving early like I was used to at previous employer)... annoying competitive environment of "you sold into MY portfolio!"....days go by very slowly.

    Continue reading
    M&T Bank2015-05-25
  7. "Challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Branch Manager in Reading, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at M&T Bank

    Pros

    amazing bank with amazing employees

    Cons

    Upper management, most (not all) like to micro Management. They do not understand what happens at the branch level nor do they care.

    Continue reading
    M&T Bank2015-01-30
  8. "Exellent Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Branch Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at M&T Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strong investment in their employees with training for security licenses to management principals and everything in between.

    Cons

    Hours can be long and if something goes wrong at the branch you cannot leave until it is resolved.

    Continue reading
    M&T Bank2015-01-21
  9. "As far as banks are concerned, nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Branch Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at M&T Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Large company but you still feel like a person, direct line to communicate with your "superior's superiors", open communication welcomed, fair work hours for a retail bank...

    Cons

    ...but it's still a retail bank! Always chasing numbers, some middle managers need to go (archaic management styles), not so easy to change departments if you're dissatisfied with your current role.

    Continue reading
    M&T Bank2012-08-28
  10. Helpful (2)

    "A good growing experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Branch Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at M&T Bank

    Pros

    M&T is a solid financial institution that is managed well. The company is a large regional bank within the northeast part of the US, and has name recognition in some markets like Buffalo, NY and Baltimore, MD. The company strives to excel in customer service and really treats its customers well.

    Cons

    The company does not promote from within. The areas with smaller marketshare have a severe disadvantage when trying to compete with much larger regional banks. The pay is on the lower end of the scale as far as banks go. There isn't much room for advancement unless you want to move to Buffalo.

    Continue reading
    M&T Bank2011-03-15
Found 12 reviews