M&T Bank Relationship Banker I Reviews | Glassdoor

M&T Bank Relationship Banker I Reviews

Updated Oct 22, 2017

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
52%
Recommend to a Friend
M&T Bank CEO Rene F Jones (no image)
Rene F Jones
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Relationship Banker I in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at M&T Bank

    Pros

    My branch has a great team! It has it's ups and downs like in any job but, I love it. My best job so far! Great resources for employees and interested in your professional goals.

    Cons

    Depends on which branch you end up in.

    M&T Bank2016-03-31
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Since being employed with M&T, I have had a very positive experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Banker I in York, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at M&T Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits that start with day one of employment, excellent training, and there are always opportunities to advance within the company.

    Cons

    If you don’t start working with this company in the first three months of the calendar year, you’re limited to 1 or 0 personal days off of work.

    M&T Bank2017-10-22
  3. "Not a bad place to work but can be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Banker I in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at M&T Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -the people I work with are a great group of people that are always willing to teach me -training is great but you have to beg for it

    Cons

    Pay is the worse part of the job and getting promoted is hard due to “branch needs” and there is commission but it’s not much

    M&T Bank2017-10-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Typical bank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relationship Banker I in Allentown, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at M&T Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most of M&Ts customers are fantastic.

    Cons

    Management is so vastly different branch to branch.

    Continue reading
    M&T Bank2017-09-28
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Relationship Banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Relationship Banker I in Wilmington, DE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at M&T Bank

    Pros

    Great company room for growth

    Cons

    Sales Goals unrealistic, a lot of outbound calling

    M&T Bank2016-11-17
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Relationship Banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Banker I in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at M&T Bank part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love my coworkers and environment. Management always recognizes me and appreciates my work.

    Cons

    Constantly understaffed and have to do multiple jobs sometimes.

    M&T Bank2016-11-06
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Relationship banker I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relationship Banker I in York, PA
    Recommends

    I worked at M&T Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Vacation is 2 weeks, great 401k matchup. If you dedicate yourself to earning your licenses you will make it far. If you don't you will be stuck in the same position.

    Cons

    The manager on Fishing Creek Road in Goldsboro was very rude. She was not friendly at all and it didn't make me feel comfortable. I helped out at the teller window and she would always be whispering to one of the head tellers. I always felt like she didn't like me. She never greeted me or said hi and only said hi to her tellers. I was a floater teller.

    Continue reading
    M&T Bank2016-10-28
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Relationship Banker I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Banker I 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at M&T Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy sales goals, good branch hours, nice senior leaders, good hourly rate

    Cons

    The position is misrepresented and depending on your branch you might exclusively be a teller, which is fine if that's what you like. The incentive plan is worse than other banks, paid quarterly, and if you leave before you get your payout you forfeit it. The technology is embarrassingly outdated, the credit standards are extremely high. The training and onboarding process is virtually nonexistent in my experience.

    Continue reading
    M&T Bank2016-10-28
  9. "The bank allowed me to grow at a short period of time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relationship Banker I in Silver Spring, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at M&T Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Was able to grow in a short period of time, the bank was willing to help my growth and development.

    Cons

    Staffing is always a issue, this's don't always get done which leaves customers very upset and technology still has a long way to go

    Continue reading
    M&T Bank2016-09-21
  10. "Relationship Banker I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Banker I in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at M&T Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great benefits and retirement plan options - Tuition reimbursement with tenure - Many opportunities for promotion - Provides valuable training and experience in all areas of the financial services industry

    Cons

    - Low number of staff means individual success can sometimes depend of the performance of colleagues - Corporate management does not always implement strategies that are efficient on a branch level - Branch success is largely dependent on strength of management - Many lower-level employee salaries do not align with the workload that is asked/required

    Continue reading
    M&T Bank2016-06-12
Found 29 reviews