M&T Bank "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

M&T Bank Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
58%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
M&T Bank CEO Rene F Jones (no image)
Rene F Jones
104 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Ok Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at M&T Bank full-time

    Pros

    Great People to work with

    Cons

    Upper management very old school, doesn't pay well, no room for growth unless you are in Buffalo, NY

    M&T Bank2017-06-01
  2. Helpful (1)

    "It's ok but I wouldn't recommend staying long"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at M&T Bank full-time

    Pros

    M&T has amazing work-life balance. Starting off you get 3 weeks of vacations. It will increase to 4 weeks if you make officer and increase after you reach certain promotion points. For the most part, the people are great to work with. Job stability.

    Cons

    The pay is very low and raises are a joke. You will get 2% or below. The systems are very outdated. Horrible benefits. Upper management seems very removed from what's really going on. The bank has been experiencing a lot of turnover.

    Continue reading
    M&T Bank2017-04-07
  3. Helpful (2)

    "It's Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Associate III in Buffalo, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at M&T Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked with one of the sweetest people on earth, Great co-workers. Upper management does small events throughout the year to show that they care for the employees. As long as you do your job, upper management does not breath down your neck.

    Cons

    Low pay, hard to get a promotion, basically if you don't have the years, no matter how great you are in your job, you are not going to get that position.

    M&T Bank2017-01-25
  4. "Senior operations clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at M&T Bank

    Pros

    money, people, the company is not bad it's just upper management don't know about the middle and the lower people enough.

    Cons

    to much work for one person

    M&T Bank2015-12-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Arlington, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at M&T Bank full-time

    Pros

    Amazing people to work with in the branches

    Cons

    Racist, do not hire blacks and other minorities for mid and upper management

    Continue reading
    M&T Bank2015-11-17
  6. "M&t bank"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MDP 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at M&T Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Welcoming environment and friendly employees, good benefits, accessible upper management, happy hours, mobility is valued and encouraged, great place to develop to develop managerial skills.

    Cons

    Health plan is not good. Very high deductibles which makes it very expensive to go to doctors on a regular basis. Technology needs to be updated, investment on technology needs to be a priority.

    Continue reading
    M&T Bank2015-09-27
  7. "Overall a great place to work and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at M&T Bank

    Pros

    Exposure to upper management, great work culture, room to move between departments, good work/life balance (I worked about 40-50 hours per week in Financial Planning and Analysis), ethical work culture

    Cons

    Pay is at lower end of Finance spectrum (although this is offset by the low cost of living in Buffalo), slow change in both policy and technology, consensus culture creates high level of bureaucracy, Buffalo, low levels of females in management positions

    Continue reading
    M&T Bank2015-09-02
  8. "Sending positive, but inconsistent messages"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relationship Banker in Milford Mill, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at M&T Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Numerous locations in the Baltimore region for promotions. Very respected Bank in the business community.

    Cons

    Very often Upper Management is lacking inconsistency in their guidelines. This, along w/much employee turnover creates morale problems w/rank and file employees.

    M&T Bank2015-08-28
  9. "Relationship Banker I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at M&T Bank full-time

    Pros

    It's a good job if you just graduating college. Great training programs. The pay is ok and the people I work with are awesome.

    Cons

    Health insurance sucks. Upper management expect the workers in the branch to do EVERYTHING. Turnover rate extremely high.

    M&T Bank2015-07-15
  10. Helpful (1)

    "A good company to gain experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Specialist in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at M&T Bank

    Pros

    I had a great office experience. My co workers were very friendly and helpful. We worked together as a team and made it easy to come to work. They had good benefits along with paid time off.

    Cons

    The raises are scarce, and not many options to rise inside the company unless you want to relocate to Buffalo. Sometimes I felt that they were more worried about the fee income on the accounts than how the changes would effect the consumer. Upper management seemed to get the bulk of the bonuses and raises while the general population would not even get a cost of living raise.

    Continue reading
    M&T Bank2015-02-06
Found 45 reviews