M&T Bank "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

M&T Bank Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
58%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
M&T Bank CEO Rene F Jones (no image)
Rene F Jones
107 Ratings
  1. "Challenging"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Branch Manager in Reading, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at M&T Bank

    Pros

    amazing bank with amazing employees

    Cons

    Upper management, most (not all) like to micro Management. They do not understand what happens at the branch level nor do they care.

    Continue reading
    M&T Bank2015-01-30
  2. "Great company!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Banker in Syracuse, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at M&T Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    M&T is a very conservative financial institution. They care deeply about employee engagement and believe that their employees are their most valuable asset. The opportunities for advancement within M&T are excellent because they have positioned themselves well to acquire other banks in the coming years. The upper management is very involved in the branch network and you will often see an executive level vice president conducting a town hall meeting with tellers to gain their insight on solving new problems as the banking industry evolves.

    Cons

    Nothing major really. Starting salaries for some positions may be a bit low, in line with the banks conservative culture. Hard work and a great attitude does not go unnoticed, however, and these individuals see promotions and incentive pay very quickly.

    Continue reading
    M&T Bank2015-01-09
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Stable workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Buffalo, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at M&T Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance can't be beat (generous vacation time and rarely work over time) Friendly people and great work culture Stable environment Great bank to be part of Big bank but small bank feel (direct line to communicate with upper management) Emphasis on community within the bank and in the city

    Cons

    Opportunities for advancement are hard to come by Lateral movement in the bank isn't easy and opportunities not often available Not the most exciting work

    Continue reading
    M&T Bank2014-10-02
  4. "Senior Teller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Teller in Linthicum, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at M&T Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are really good, work schedule is consistent, coworkers are decent depending on branch, stable, small referral goals compared to other banks.

    Cons

    Pay is lower than other banks, no communication between upper management and branches, depending on your branch manager you will not move up. Little room for advancement. Managers play favorites. POLITICS!

    Continue reading
    M&T Bank2014-10-12
  5. "Focus on the next generation of leaders!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at M&T Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people (your colleagues) and vacation time.

    Cons

    It is all about the shareholders (mostly upper management).

    Continue reading
    M&T Bank2014-10-08
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Relationship Banker I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Relationship Banker I 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at M&T Bank full-time

    Pros

    I had a good time working at my particular branch, great team dynamics and the manager was not in my face all the time. They do give you your space to do your job and provide you the important tools necessary to maintain an organized and productive place of work.

    Cons

    During my tenure, upper management decided to cut hours across the board, basically saying that the branches can get everything up and running in 15 minutes as well as close the entire branch in 15 or less. The few times I met with upper management(excluding regional manager) I had a sense they were a bit uppity and maybe a little condescending.

    Continue reading
    M&T Bank2014-06-17
  7. "Good starting point, but definitely not a place to you want to be long term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at M&T Bank full-time

    Pros

    You will be crossed trained to perform various jobs due to consolidation (Teller transactions, business banking loans, closing of investment and insurance business, etc.) which leads to a lot knowledge about retail banking.

    Cons

    Production and productivity is not the main focus. There are so many systems to learn and distractions just to close basic deals. They want you to perform various jobs in under staffed branches. Upper management is out of touch and do a great job stringing you along.

    M&T Bank2014-06-16
  8. "Boys Club"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst III in Wilmington, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at M&T Bank full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Co-workers were great to work with because we were all in the same mess.

    Cons

    Management did not care. Too many temps being hired. Too much turnover. Armchair managers that did not know the jobs of their employee but acted like they did. Management had their own agenda and lacked communications skills to share with their team. Upper management are out for themselves and blame there workers instead of blaming themselves. Bullying goes on under management noses and they don't care.

    Continue reading
    M&T Bank2014-06-11
  9. "Good company to work with but, experience may vary from market to market."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Banker III in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at M&T Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company is focused on work life balance, working enviornement and co-workers are great and like family.

    Cons

    Raises are not that common, and upper management focuses on micro management and not the overall revenue to the bottom line.

    Continue reading
    M&T Bank2014-04-26
  10. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at M&T Bank

    Pros

    Steady line of promotion capability

    Cons

    Definite line between upper management and those below.

    M&T Bank2014-02-12
Found 45 reviews