MAA Assistant Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

MAA Assistant Manager Reviews

Updated Jan 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
59%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
MAA Chairman, President, and CEO H. Eric Bolton Jr. (no image)
H. Eric Bolton Jr.
15 Ratings
  1. "GREAT!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Upper management cares about their employees and everyone is always willing to help each other.

    Cons

    Commission could be more but still not bad

    MAA2020-01-16
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Employee culture is horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Property Manager in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay is okay but commission could be better.

    Cons

    Discriminate based on race (all african american was removed from downtown area) Staff forever changing.. cant keep a property manager, assistant, leasing consultants, or maintenance team, not enough training support for office staff or maintenance team

    MAA2019-10-14
  3. "Enjoyed my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Property Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Stability, Training, Management, Systems, promotes within

    Cons

    Pay, over worked and under paid, unrealistic expectations,

    MAA2019-08-13
  4. "Refreshing experience in conventional housing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Property Manager in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incentive hours for weekends. Insurance Training Office culture

    Cons

    Age of properties Too much focus on benchmarks

    Advice to Management

    Listen to onsite team feedback without thinking more training is needed.

    MAA2019-08-03
  5. "Former Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 

    I have been working at MAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Training was phenomenal. Learned a lot.

    Cons

    Little to no advancement

    MAA2019-07-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "A fine company w/ ethical leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Euless, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Stability, company growth, opportunities for mobility, great technology, nice benefits

    Cons

    Salary is on the low end of the spectrum for the industry.

    Advice to Management

    Update review and feedback mechanisms.

    MAA2019-05-03
  7. Helpful (10)

    "Pay Attention to the Reviews!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at MAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They are an old school type of Property Management Company, so it is easy to start working immediately without a ton of training.

    Cons

    There are so many... -Does not value employees. You'd think being the largest REIT they could afford to throw an awards ceremony and feed their staff for a job well done for the year...but no you get a crappy internet feed and see pics of the corporate team having a grand ole time. -I've never had to fight so hard for the money I earned. Payroll messed up on my pay several times to where if I didn't save my money my rent wouldn't have been paid because sometimes I would have to wait an entire month because my manager didn't know what they were doing. -It's about being a yes person. If you don't have your own identity and will follow anyone blindlessly then this company is perfect for you. I witnessed people being promoted to Manager that had no business being in that position but because they sucked up long enough they got it. Then saw said managers abuse the power they got. -They rarely promote from within, unless your a male in the DFW area. -Sexism is outrageous. I've never even thought about sexism in the workplace until I worked for this company. Women required to wear heels. Manager's sleeping with female leasing. Women only being in charge of the food or beverages on projects. Women being sent home for clothing looking messy and not to where the FIGURE can be seen. Witnessed a regional tell leasing she's gained weight and needs to watch it, she left in tears.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The toxicity is in the middle (Regionals, VP). But MAA doesn't care. It's very obvious they do not care. Look at the reviews, they say the same thing. Also, look at the turnover. It's all in the numbers.

    MAA2018-02-08
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Uneducated corporate office! Turn and run!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Property Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MAA full-time

    Pros

    There are some remnants of intelligence within the company from Colonial and Post. On site staff is typically very enjoyable to interact with on a day to day

    Cons

    MAA is one of those companies that is growing too fast without a strong staff to support it. They are acquiring competitors left and right and the quality of work is far beyond embarrassing. There is little to no follow up on issues and anytime a problem arrives it is pawned off.. wait I’m sorry i mean “escalated” to various departments without any resolution. They do not value their employees and are constantly focused on their own bottom line. Working for MAA is a stereotypical job where you are treated like a number. They also have incredibly poor communication... they send out daily “what’s new” e-blasts but they never contain any relevant information to changes in leases, policy, etc. i guess they’re a great source if you want to know everyone’s birthday??

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Require a college degree, bulk up a strong staff and at least pretend you care about your employees. If you don’t care about us, why should we care about you? Do the right thing, at the right time for the right reasons!

    MAA2017-12-14
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Property Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Recognition program and well-structured!

    Cons

    I THINK they scale on the low side of compensation compared to other property management.

    Advice to Management

    None- I really enjoyed working for the company and only stopped because I relocated.

    MAA2017-08-12
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Not a good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at MAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is ok, room for advancement

    Cons

    Management that has no idea on what they are doing at times, shady business practices leaving themselves open for lawsuits, gossiping and favorites played no matter how well you do your job

    MAA2017-08-17
Found 30 reviews