MAA Assistant Property Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

MAA Assistant Property Manager Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
57%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
MAA Chairman, President, and CEO H. Eric Bolton Jr. (no image)
H. Eric Bolton Jr.
12 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Long time employee loving my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Property Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MAA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, organized company, feel appreciated by property manager, very helpful corporate office, company culture, employee stock plan, encourage team work,

    Cons

    RVP and SVP tend to micromanage and are not very supportive, too involved in things they don't need to be like basic property issues, uniforms, very little sick time,

    Advice to Management

    Let the team on the property actually run it and and be more supportive than hands on at the property level.

    MAA2017-05-10
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Employee culture is horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Property Manager in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay is okay but commission could be better.

    Cons

    Discriminate based on race (all african american was removed from downtown area) Staff forever changing.. cant keep a property manager, assistant, leasing consultants, or maintenance team, not enough training support for office staff or maintenance team

    MAA2019-10-14
  3. "Enjoyed my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Property Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Stability, Training, Management, Systems, promotes within

    Cons

    Pay, over worked and under paid, unrealistic expectations,

    MAA2019-08-13
  4. "Refreshing experience in conventional housing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Property Manager in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incentive hours for weekends. Insurance Training Office culture

    Cons

    Age of properties Too much focus on benchmarks

    Advice to Management

    Listen to onsite team feedback without thinking more training is needed.

    MAA2019-08-03
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Uneducated corporate office! Turn and run!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Property Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MAA full-time

    Pros

    There are some remnants of intelligence within the company from Colonial and Post. On site staff is typically very enjoyable to interact with on a day to day

    Cons

    MAA is one of those companies that is growing too fast without a strong staff to support it. They are acquiring competitors left and right and the quality of work is far beyond embarrassing. There is little to no follow up on issues and anytime a problem arrives it is pawned off.. wait I’m sorry i mean “escalated” to various departments without any resolution. They do not value their employees and are constantly focused on their own bottom line. Working for MAA is a stereotypical job where you are treated like a number. They also have incredibly poor communication... they send out daily “what’s new” e-blasts but they never contain any relevant information to changes in leases, policy, etc. i guess they’re a great source if you want to know everyone’s birthday??

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Require a college degree, bulk up a strong staff and at least pretend you care about your employees. If you don’t care about us, why should we care about you? Do the right thing, at the right time for the right reasons!

    MAA2017-12-14
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Property Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Recognition program and well-structured!

    Cons

    I THINK they scale on the low side of compensation compared to other property management.

    Advice to Management

    None- I really enjoyed working for the company and only stopped because I relocated.

    MAA2017-08-12
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Company has changed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Property Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MAA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Training Opportunities, Apartment Discount, Stock Purchase Option, Decent Pay

    Cons

    Upper Management is unfeeling. Company has lost the care for employees. It's all about the dollar now

    Advice to Management

    Listen and pay attention to lower level employees

    MAA2017-04-09
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great company to work for!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Property Manager in Little Rock, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Professional company with outstanding training program. Management at all levels are engaging and supportive. Great opportunities for advancement within company.

    Cons

    A good work-life balance can be challenging due to late leasing office hours. Must be able to adapt to change since policies change quite often.

    MAA2017-02-28
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Don't really care about long term employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Property Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The employee discount is nice, and the benefits are pretty good

    Cons

    Upper management is very absent and hard to get in touch with. They are not very involved with what's going on on-site. Employees are not paid enough for what they are asked to do

    Advice to Management

    Reach out to your on-site employees every so often and

    MAA2017-02-22
  10. "MAA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Property Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great envrionment amazing co-workers good benefits great opportunities

    Cons

    management says one thing and expects another corporate offices are communicating with upper management appropriate expectations. micromanges employees

    Advice to Management

    ensure your core values/ brighter view are supported by all management.

    MAA2017-01-12
Found 23 reviews