MAA Maintenance Reviews | Glassdoor

MAA Maintenance Reviews

Updated Nov 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
32%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
MAA Chairman, President, and CEO H. Eric Bolton Jr. (no image)
H. Eric Bolton Jr.
13 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Maintenance Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician in Madison, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MAA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and friendly working environment

    Cons

    After hours on call duty

    MAA2018-09-04
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Horrible place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Technician in Mount Pleasant, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None except the dental literally.

    Cons

    No overtime, don’t follow labor law, don’t adhere to SC title 41, racist to the core (I’m white and still notice it.), asks to violate fair housing daily, overworked for poor pay, lied about bonuses, steals from residents, no training, mold everywhere.......

    Advice to Management

    Perhaps vet your property managers as much as your laborers before hiring. Lisa Spellman knows nothing about property management and is the #1 reason I quit.

    MAA2019-11-22
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Property level personel are great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good heathcare, and other benefits

    Cons

    Middle management does not care for employees, would run you over if it furthered their career.

    MAA2019-09-28
  4. "Maintenance performance annual review current date"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Technician in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pay,bonuses, most managers are supportive. Good benifits.

    Cons

    On-call, drive personal vehicle, no on call pay unless you go in, then it's actual.time you worked.

    MAA2019-02-01
  5. "Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Hours 8-5 or 8:30-5:30 Monday-Friday off weekends. Discounts to apartments.

    Cons

    Not really any cons because it's just great place to learn and grow and get a lot of experience.

    MAA2018-08-31
  6. Helpful (4)

    "maac is masterfully deceitful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Technician in Newport News, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MAA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    in my experience there are none. its impossible to name any pros about this company when when they cultivate conspiracies to make up for their errors in judgement

    Cons

    This company promises big bonus in return for working of the clock or comping your overtime. They are masterfully deceptive when it comes to protecting themselves.

    Advice to Management

    my advice to management is to investigate the claims that come from your staff about all of your employees. There are unteachable dynamics like character for instance. Your company has excellent core values how ever, you do not represent at all, and the deception ingrained in your culture is consistent with your character. your company culture will continue to grow as it is until the permeates every area of your company and you stunt your growth or lose it all.

    Show More
    MAA2018-04-08
  7. "MaintenanceTech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MAA full-time

    Pros

    very people orientated company , good to employees

    Cons

    Do a lot of carpet maintenance

    Advice to Management

    save money and repair appliances instead of replacing it

    MAA2018-02-05
  8. Helpful (11)

    "Horrible company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Supervisor in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MAA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are not any pros that I can think of for this company. I completely disliked every thing about it.

    Cons

    Completely unorganized company. I have never disliked a job until MAA bought out the company I worked for. Quitting was the best thing I've done.

    Advice to Management

    If I thought upper management was competent enough to listen to any advice I would write it

    MAA2017-11-15
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Tried to fire for family death"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Maintenance Technician in Huntsville, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MAA full-time

    Pros

    It was a job. No shortage of money for needed parts or specialty tools.

    Cons

    The starting pay for the industry is abysmally low as such are the perks of the company. My father was dying and the company kept losing and misplacing my FMLA paperwork (4 times). Harrased everyday in the last month of my fathers life to come back to work and I was lying about a dying parent. Day he died I handed in my keys.

    Advice to Management

    Actually pay your employees a fair wage. When an employee comes to you with a complaint of mistreatment actually handle it. You were such a great company when I started there and I was very happy, however that went down quicklyy especially after the purchase of the COlonial properties.

    MAA2017-06-23
  10. Helpful (4)

    "my team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MAA full-time

    Pros

    A great place to work,every one on my team (that's office and maintenance personnel) looks out for each other,if maint. needs an extra hand office lends a hands,and when the office is swamped maint.personnel pitch in.That's the definition of teamwork...

    Cons

    I'm on call 2 weeks out of the month,but that's ok it's not so bad... just that it seems like i get all the holidays on call... I'm a single parent i have to work a part time job to make ends meet . my son is 16 and i don't get to spend as much time with him as i should,and that weighs heavy on me...

    MAA2016-07-02
Found 16 reviews