MAA Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

MAA Manager Reviews

Updated Feb 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
71%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
MAA Chairman, President, and CEO H. Eric Bolton Jr. (no image)
H. Eric Bolton Jr.
45 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Property Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MAA for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing company and I'm lucky to work with great people

    Cons

    Uniforms. I've never been a fan.

    MAA2016-08-16

    MAA Response

    August 29, 2016Recruiting Manager

    Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to let you know that we’ll be rolling out a new uniform program this fall, which will allow associates to wear their own clothing that follows company guidelines. Keep an eye out for more information coming soon!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (23)

    "Culture Change/ Under Appreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Property Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MAA

    Pros

    Large company, nationwide opportunities for both employees and residents. Conservative investing for a REIT

    Cons

    Focus primarily on revenue/ investors/ shareholders, which leaves the on site team holding the bag for what is deemed as unethical business practices to the residents, especially with large renewal rent and fee increases. Appreciation to strong employees is shown through increased work load, extra "special " duties/tasks, and faux titles without an increase in pay or a simple thank you or gesture of appreciation. Rather than appreciating the good employees they are overworked to the point of exhaustion. Managers at the community level are not operational. Everything requires several layers of approval, creating a workplace that feels untrusted and operates out of fear. Managers time card and job description shows 9-5 but are expected to show up at 8 and stay until 6 without a lunch break or a working lunch. Manager will put in 55+ hours a week not including emails coming as late as 3 am in morning. Zero work life balance. No care to.community reputation at all. No civic outreach. Cookie cutter approach to pricing and product in all markets nation wide with little to no emphasis on local market trends.

    Continue reading
    MAA2016-06-29
  3. Helpful (9)

    "Property Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Property Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MAA

    Pros

    The only pros is the health benefits.

    Cons

    This company is falling apart! Don't believe the positive reviews. I actually feel MAA has someone within their company writing those reviews. Anyway, the CEO stands around watching all his employees that has been with the company for many years leave, and allow the Colonial Property Leaders stay and run the company into the group. Trust me! Don't come here!!!

    Continue reading
    MAA2016-07-25
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Depends on the Property!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Assistant Property Manager 

    I worked at MAA

    Pros

    Being able to transfer because they have numerous properties. Meeting new people and helping them find their new home.

    Cons

    I loved the first property I worked at and the last one but one property really made me see the company in a whole in a new light. The Manager and Regional Manager were very good friends and did not run the property the way it should have been ran. I have been in Property Management for many years and it was the worst experience in my life. What even made it worse is that you don't get support from corporate because they tend to believe their Managers.

    Continue reading
    MAA2016-06-23
  5. "Great Benefits, decent pay, great teams"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A great Executive team that actually rewards even the lowest ranking employee if the year went good. Benefits are great! Pay is okay.

    Cons

    Almost everything is done in house. at times the Workload is high for the amount of employees.

    Continue reading
    MAA2016-05-11
  6. "Property Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Property Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MAA full-time

    Pros

    The company environment is genuine and helpful. Everyone I have come in contact with has had a good attitude. The pay is competitive and the benefits are good. The expectations are real and achievable.

    Cons

    There are downsides to any job, but in comparison to other companies, MAA is a winner!

    Continue reading
    MAA2016-05-20
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Good company, good coworkers, low pay."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Property Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company has a good structure, all the managers from other properties seem very down to earth and not snobby. Company promotes within more than hiring from outside which is great.

    Cons

    The pay is the worst thing. Definitely do not offer pay that is worth the title, at least for management positions that is. Company also discriminates against employees with tattoos which i don't agree with. Judge employees by their still level and experience and not by what's on there skin.

    Continue reading
    MAA2016-02-19
  8. "The properties were beautiful even in other states."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Leasing Manager in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MAA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay was good with a decent bonus structure. There was training available and technology was accessible.

    Cons

    Being publicly traded, there was always a push for significantly higher rents.

    MAA2016-02-11
  9. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Property Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You have the ability to learn so much and be promoted.

    Cons

    Wish that bonuses were better.

    MAA2016-01-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "MAA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Manager in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at MAA

    Pros

    Owner Managed, Easy, Policies very uniform

    Cons

    Low Pay, baD HIRING DECISIONS, HIGH TURNOVER

    MAA2016-01-13

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 76 reviews