MAA "property management" Reviews | Glassdoor

MAA Employee Reviews about "property management"

Updated Dec 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
MAA CEO H. Eric Bolton Jr. (no image)
H. Eric Bolton Jr.
147 Ratings
Pros
  • "I started with MAA 6 years ago as a leasing manager and our community was sold(in 19 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and friendly working environment(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "I honestly wish some of the upper management understood what we deal with on a daily basis(in 24 reviews)

  • "If you have no experience at all in property management they will start you off at an hourly rate of(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "property management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Place to work, great environment, great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Property Monitor in Fleming Island, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Family type of atmosphere, really tight nit group, team oriented.

    Cons

    property management company, real estate and in the business you never know if or when they will sell.

    MAA2019-03-28
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good for first job out of college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Leasing Consultant in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The leasing consultant position is a good job for straight out of college. You will learn a good bit of customer service, sales techniques while leasing and renewing, as well as experience from working with a CRM. You get a 20% discount off your rent as an employee if you choose to live at an MAA property.

    Cons

    As a leasing consultant you will always have to work weekends, and you will only get 1 weekend off a month. You will have to work with your assistant property manager on which weekend will be your one weekend off. It becomes awkward at times and feels like you're having to somewhat fight over weekends with them. If you have no experience at all in property management they will start you off at an hourly rate of $13, plus commission of $60 for every lease you get. During the slow seasons you might not have gotten much commission so there could be months where you don't even make over $2000 a month after taxes, etc. Very hard to live off of. I had to have a second job. It becomes very boring if you don't have any traffic coming through the leasing office at times since you're only in an office of you, the assistant property manager and the property manager.

    MAA2019-12-04
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Employee culture is horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Property Manager in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay is okay but commission could be better.

    Cons

    Discriminate based on race (all african american was removed from downtown area) Staff forever changing.. cant keep a property manager, assistant, leasing consultants, or maintenance team, not enough training support for office staff or maintenance team

    MAA2019-10-14
  4. Helpful (1)

    "It was okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leasing Consultant in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    renting discount, commission, rotating weekends

    Cons

    working weekends, property managers dont help

    Continue reading
    MAA2019-03-08

    MAA Response

    March 20, 2019Communications Manager

    We appreciate your feedback here, and we agree that teamwork is a key element of a successful work environment. Thank you for sharing with us.

    Continue reading
  5. "Leasing Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MAA full-time

    Pros

    Taught you how to perform on the job through video training and role-playing training. Base pay + commission was awesome!

    Cons

    Your experience with the job depends on the manager at the property you work at. I worked every weekend, but some property managers alternate their employees, so that they don't have to work every weekend.

    MAA2018-03-05
  6. Helpful (10)

    "Pay Attention to the Reviews!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at MAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They are an old school type of Property Management Company, so it is easy to start working immediately without a ton of training.

    Cons

    There are so many... -Does not value employees. You'd think being the largest REIT they could afford to throw an awards ceremony and feed their staff for a job well done for the year...but no you get a crappy internet feed and see pics of the corporate team having a grand ole time. -I've never had to fight so hard for the money I earned. Payroll messed up on my pay several times to where if I didn't save my money my rent wouldn't have been paid because sometimes I would have to wait an entire month because my manager didn't know what they were doing. -It's about being a yes person. If you don't have your own identity and will follow anyone blindlessly then this company is perfect for you. I witnessed people being promoted to Manager that had no business being in that position but because they sucked up long enough they got it. Then saw said managers abuse the power they got. -They rarely promote from within, unless your a male in the DFW area. -Sexism is outrageous. I've never even thought about sexism in the workplace until I worked for this company. Women required to wear heels. Manager's sleeping with female leasing. Women only being in charge of the food or beverages on projects. Women being sent home for clothing looking messy and not to where the FIGURE can be seen. Witnessed a regional tell leasing she's gained weight and needs to watch it, she left in tears.

    Continue reading
    MAA2018-02-08
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Leasing Consultant in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay was decent, uniforms provided, no breed restrictions

    Cons

    Property managers do what they want. They go out for “lunch” but are out getting their nails done, two hour lunches with vendors and other staff members.

    Continue reading
    MAA2017-11-19
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Property Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Recognition program and well-structured!

    Cons

    I THINK they scale on the low side of compensation compared to other property management.

    Continue reading
    MAA2017-08-12
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Leasing Consultant 6 months"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at MAA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers, some residents and paid training

    Cons

    lowest paid in property management.

    Continue reading
    MAA2017-07-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Leasing Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MAA full-time

    Pros

    There are always resources to assist with any and all situations you may run into. There is also room to progress in the company.

    Cons

    Salary for this company compared to other property management company is not very competitive and there's never any room to negotiate.

    MAA2017-05-14
Found 25 reviews
</>Embed