MAA "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

MAA Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Nov 29, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
MAA CEO H. Eric Bolton Jr. (no image)
H. Eric Bolton Jr.
147 Ratings
Pros
  • "I started with MAA 6 years ago as a leasing manager and our community was sold(in 19 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and friendly working environment(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "I honestly wish some of the upper management understood what we deal with on a daily basis(in 24 reviews)

  • "If you have no experience at all in property management they will start you off at an hourly rate of(in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Leasing Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MAA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent business strategies, strong HR team, amazing training. This is one of the best companies I have ever worked for. I feel the company values me and the employees. MAA does a lot for their employees. For one person who has been with the company for over a decade, they planted a tree in his name. A TREE! They give holiday bonuses, great commission structures, consistent feedback, communicate company goals, and... accept feedback from employees. The company has strong core values and I LOVE the company more than any other I've worked for. They try to set the tone to make it a great place to work and live. They provide incentives to stay with the company beyond a year, great benefits at a reasonable cost, a nice amount of PTO and sick leave, hand written birthday cards, thanksgiving dinners for your family, Christmas bonuses, bonuses for meeting or exceeding benchmarks, kudos for hard work and sometimes even a phone call from the top for exceeding goals. MAA invests in its employees without reservation. I plan to stay with this company and maybe even invest in it myself. MAA isn't going anywhere anytime soon and I would recommend this company to any and everyone I know.

    Show More

    Cons

    A lot of the information below from others is unfortunately accurate. As with any company you have cliques and people who choose not to work and to put their duties on the leasing agents. This is probably the worst part of the job. As a LC you will work the hardest and the starting pay is below others in the industry. As you move up the chain the work load significantly increases but upper management will shift the... responsibility down while keeping the accountability and taking credit for your work but this is NOT the company culture so don't be deterred by it. Chop this up to human nature and the 48 laws of power not to MAA because it is NOT what they stand for.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I would suggest to create a place on MAA for employees to provide suggestions and ideas. This promotes innovation and allows for feedback from those that are dealing directly with the consumer which helps better identify wants and needs Expand the employee evaluations to allow for more detailed feedback Provide more detailed feedback to employees Provide a step by step guide for employees looking to advance their... careers within the company Divisions work independently and so much differently that you almost wonder if it's the same company. I would consider unifying processes and evaluating the strengths and weaknesses of each division, then utilize that analysis to strengthen the company as a whole.

    Show More
    MAA2017-12-14
  2. "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MAA full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay. Promote from within.

    Cons

    Upper management Hard to get rid of bad employees

    MAA2018-11-29
  3. "Great Place to Start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Leasing Consultant in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incentive hours, great commission, and fantastic benefits

    Cons

    Poor upper management, stressful work environment

    MAA2018-06-11
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Take care of your employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MAA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only thing great is our Commissions.

    Cons

    There is constant issues regarding our pay and we’re never given our money immediately for their mistakes. We have to wait until the next pay period. This happens ALOT. They only invest their time in the uptown post properties. There isn’t any relationship with upper management and onsite employees. Your voice is not heard.

    MAA2018-05-05
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Leasing Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leasing Consultant in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you are at a solid , larger, high turnover rate property you can make a solid amount of commission. At my property we receive commission for leases, on-site transfers, and renewals. On-site management is friendly and I do feel cares about it's employees. Most of the residents at my property are very easy to get along with and are appreciative of your hard work. I also receive a discounted rate for living at an... MAA managed property.

    Show More

    Cons

    With all the pro's stated, there are things you need to consider before working for MAA. Commission and base pay is below industry standards. If you are at a smaller property you realistically will make around $30,000 per year if you are an excellent leaser. As a leasing consultant you are the front-line of the property, which means most of the stress, complaints, and blame will be put on you. Especially during peak... season we work every weekend. While assistant PM and PM's get every weekend off, longer lunches ranging from an hour and a half to three. The worst part for me though (many others have stated this) we are just a number. While I've had a pretty solid experience thus far, this is not common from speaking to coworkers and colleagues. I honestly wish some of the upper management understood what we deal with on a daily basis. But hey, that's just my opinion.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Money speaks. Perhaps reward your lower level employees for the hard work they do. Rather than a "thanks" or a pat on the back you actually do the right thing at the right time for the right reasons.

    MAA2018-03-28
  6. Helpful (3)

    "So much has changed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay, paid time off, sick time, health insurance,quarterly bonuses, my manager and co workers, the residents, that’s about all I can think of.

    Cons

    Loss of core values and culture , constant change with lack of communication, Confusion with policies and procedures between Legacy MAA and Legacy Post. It feels like we’re two different companies being ran under one name. Memphis corporate office (Legacy MAA) operates totally different than Atlanta (Legacy Post) corporate office; so you get the run around when trying to get things resolve with upper management... because of the confusion between the two offices. It’s a disaster, I hope that they can get this together. It’s not the same company I grew to love when I started working for MAA in 2012. So many dedicated employees have been lost (Legacy MAA) due to the rapid changes and I feel this is one major reason there has been a shift in the core values. Crazy system rollouts that will effect the properties but the property level feedback falls on deaf ears with upper management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen before it’s too late.

    MAA2018-03-08
  7. Helpful (11)

    "MAA Knows Best = Bad Philosophy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Property Manager in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MAA for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not much... Post was great!

    Cons

    Being acquired by MAA in 2016. The culture at MAA is non-existent outside of pandering vendors to sponsor everything (team lunches, events, conferences). Upper Management resolves issues that could have been avoided with LISTENING to their employees by instead throwing money at the last minute to try and accomplish what they want. CEO and Executives don't have a clue of what's going on outside of the charade visits... that are staged every quarter for them.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don’t treat your acquisition staffs like 2nd class citizens. It’s extremely degrading and completely obvious to everyone involved with those properties (vendors, residents, and staff). It’s no wonder that nearly all of the Post staff have moved on after being treated like dirt and feel like they’re having their properties run into the ground despite some “upgrades”. Even the residents pointed this out within the... first few months of some “minor” changes that impacted communities largely. MAA touts that a property manager is the “owner of the business” (with the illusion of making decisions best for the property) which is COMPLETE bologna, as they control every aspect of your business (unless of course things aren’t going well due to changes they’ve made – then it’s your fault). That includes your operations and is frustrating when they don’t take your input seriously when such decisions affect everyday items (floorplan designations, pricing, staffing, etc.). In the end, “MAA knows best” and that’s an awful way to run a company that added a major chunk of its worth through a merger. A very frustrating 2017 with MAA.

    Show More
    MAA2017-11-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Leasing Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at MAA full-time

    Pros

    I was a part of Post Properties before we merged with MAA and there are a few pros and cons that came about. Commissions are great, especially since we were not getting $100 a lease and $75 a renewal before. So the change is nice and if you are a good leaser then you will definitely see it on your paycheck. A great thing about being a leasing consultant is creating your schedule monthly. Since you work... weekends, you can ask to use your 2 days off for important events and add them to a PTO day for a longer vacation.

    Show More

    Cons

    Open Monday-Sunday, including most holidays. Don't expect to have a normal work schedule nor work/life balance. If you have a social life and love being with friends on the weekends, forget it. You mostly work 3 out of the 4 weekends a month and majority of your days off are during the week, which all your friends are working. From my experience with Post prior to MAA, I felt like we were taken care of and that... the company wanted to get to know us. Anytime Post's upper management visited our property, they would buy us lunch and eat with us and spend time getting to know us. Now, with MAA, they visit and want to know our numbers and then leave. There's really no relationship between the floor employees and executives. Overall, the employees of MAA are nice and the company is doing well.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop cutting corners in the budget and take care of your employees. Take the time to get to know them.

    MAA2017-07-24
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Mid America Apartments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MAA

    Pros

    excellent benefits, growth opportunity, bonuses and commissions, stock option, 401k match, vacation and PTO. Opportunity to transfer to other cities across the US.

    Cons

    weekends and holidays required, expectations are not realistic, upper management doesn't spend much time on site, not an employee focused company

    MAA2017-05-23
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Decent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Property Manager in Winston-Salem, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MAA for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They are very supportive of their employees. Fair and open.

    Cons

    Upper management is available when needed, however some micro manage.

    MAA2017-04-19
Found 29 reviews
</>Embed