MAC Cosmetics Reviews

Updated May 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
MAC Cosmetics CEO John Demsey
John Demsey
544 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance but that’s to be expected in a full time management job(in 169 reviews)

  • "Horrific management, unrealistic sales goals, stringent policies that don’t account for human error or accidents(in 115 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun team, managers and great customers. Awesome makeup product lines.

    Cons

    Retail hours and working holidays

    MAC Cosmetics2019-05-10
  2. "Treated me like family"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - MAC Makeup Artist 
    Recommends

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Being able to use creativity and passion for artistry while empowering others.

    Cons

    Difficulty to grow within brand.

    MAC Cosmetics2020-05-21
  3. "NOT Bad"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Makeup Artist 

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics part-time

    Pros

    Good experience Learned many useful techniques

    Cons

    Not allowed to do YouTube while working there if you are not prepared to use only MAC products

    MAC Cosmetics2020-05-24
  4. "Decent company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Artist in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Gratis, playing with makeup all day, great discount, some really fun coworkers

    Cons

    Insanely high goals, a cap limit per year of what you could spend before losing your discount, focused more on sales and not artistry, absent district managers and fairly dramatic employees. Some good and bad ones, the ones that were good were good, the one that were bad were BAD. Don’t ever expect to get weekends off or to take your vacation when planned.

    MAC Cosmetics2020-05-22
  5. "Great Company but is it worth it..."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Specialist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. One of the funnest Jobs you will ever have 2. You get to be a true creative 3. BEST MAKEUP AND MAKEUP DISCOUNT EVERRRR.

    Cons

    1. Some(not all) VERY power hungry or sheisty people. 2. Very little room to grow, and when you have the room to grow it's slow. 3. Good hourly pay but TERRIBLE hours. 4. No weekends off, ever.

    Continue reading
    MAC Cosmetics2020-05-04
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Horrible Management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Makeup Artist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great gratis, training, and experience if you’re looking to further your skills as a makeup artist

    Cons

    Horrific management, unrealistic sales goals, stringent policies that don’t account for human error or accidents.

    Continue reading
    MAC Cosmetics2020-05-06
  7. "So cute"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Aesthetician in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Super cute and super inspiring

    Cons

    Was ready for more development

    Continue reading
    MAC Cosmetics2020-04-25
  8. "Love it"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Third Key in San Rafael, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MAC Cosmetics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay & exposure & artistry

    Cons

    No weekends off and heavy sales

    MAC Cosmetics2020-03-05
  9. "It was ok"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Makeup Artist 

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, new challenges, free products

    Cons

    Sneaky management, not trustworthy, no weekends off

    Continue reading
    MAC Cosmetics2020-03-17
  10. "Think Twice Before You Work Here"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Artist in Bethesda, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Got to build up my clientele list Was able to work with many different skin tones to build my knowledge

    Cons

    No work life balance Management does not care for employees Management is not trained No room for growth

    Continue reading
    MAC Cosmetics2020-03-31
Found 1368 reviews