MAC Cosmetics "sales goals" Reviews | Glassdoor

MAC Cosmetics Employee Reviews about "sales goals"

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
MAC Cosmetics CEO John Demsey
John Demsey
582 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "sales goals"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Makeup artist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Part Time Sales Associate in Aurora, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics for more than a year

    Pros

    Hands on makeup application Continous Education Free Makeup great colleges Great makeup

    Cons

    Sales goals Stick dress code short lunches under staffed stocking supplies

    Advice to Management

    Longer lunches

    MAC Cosmetics2019-01-31
  2. "Insomnia Inducing Levels of Stress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Artist in Minneapolis, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good discount (which I think they've made harder to use if you're a new employee,) gratis is always nice to receive (which was not always consistent,) robust trainings (which they've eliminated.)

    Cons

    Impossible sales goals that literally kept me up at night. Constant threat of getting fired for not meeting sales goals. They said there were opportunities for advancement and artistry, but they didn't tell you that 2% of the artists would actually be considered. Dangle advancement opportunities in front of you only to take them away if you missed a goal or "your personality wasn't what they were looking for" AKA... someone in the region (MRO or trainer) didn't like you. High goals created a "sharky" work environment where artists stepped on each other to make sales. Little to no time off even if you had a funeral to attend or flights booked. They wouldn't approve your vacation time until last minute. No Saturdays off EVER. Being sick meant you missed your sales goal. Managers & trainers played favorites. Constant critique of appearance, would get slammed if I wore the same makeup style more than once.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Come on. Your artists are humans. Treat them as such.

    MAC Cosmetics2019-12-05
  3. Helpful (2)

    "learned about makeup techniques and trends now its all about numbers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MAC Artist in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MAC Cosmetics part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    60% off and 30% off any other ester lauder stores

    Cons

    all about numbers and meeting your sales goal micro managing your higher ups are constantly judging you from how you greet a customer to how you dress, your makeup and anything else they can find. very much play favorites the scheduling is a nightmare and inconsistent. this used to be a great company to work for but it is getting to be less about makeup and more about becoming the best sales person you can be and... this is great if you want to be in sales and want to use this as a way of getting some skills before going into a sales driven job but if you genuinely love makeup and want to do make up this job is not for you it will leave you feeling like you are just a clerk or a retail associate.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Help ensure your team is taken care of Fight for your team i can't really say it has anything to do with management its more like the company reform isn't working and mac is just taking a turn for the worse

    MAC Cosmetics2019-11-17
  4. "Mac Artist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MAC Cosmetics part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay. Amazing discount.

    Cons

    Whatever your position is (amount of hours) is what you will get most of the time. They may say you’ll get extra hours but that’s rarely the case. Favoritism is too much. A LOT of makeup appointments which most will only buy one item. Sales goals are high and they really push them!

    MAC Cosmetics2019-10-29
  5. "Good start if you want to freelance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Artist 

    I have been working at MAC Cosmetics part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    60% employee discount, gratis, fun work environment

    Cons

    Unreasonable sales goals/metrics, little help from management, no encouragement, favoritism

    MAC Cosmetics2019-10-31
  6. "MAC Makeup Artist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MAC Makeup Artist 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MAC Cosmetics part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, gratis, and ample opportunities for learning.

    Cons

    Repercussions for not meeting sales goals.

    MAC Cosmetics2019-07-15
  7. Helpful (6)

    "rather work in fast food"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Artist in El Centro, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at MAC Cosmetics part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    coworkers can be like family, and like family they gossip about you with other "family". Discount is great. gratis is nice (when it actually comes in, and you don't get new collection anymore) Building relationships with customers is nice. Working with this company has really helped me to quickly adapt to various personalities.

    Cons

    My experience: Manager are not trustworthy. unless your beast friends with higher ups, there will be no equal opportunity to grow. positions will be filled instead of being posted, they already have a person to choose. thats a fact in my region. you can be top in sales and customer service but they will find something negative to say. everything can lead to a write up!zero absolute zero work life balance! I'm only... part time and haven't been to family party in 1 year. missed mothers day, work christmas eve, new years eve and day, I've missed 2 weddings, and to jump through hoops to attend my godsons baptism. i was spoken to and told that would be my last switch. "were not allowed to make our own schedule" its whats best for business. being a top performer comes at a price... they wan to use you everyday. Mac has no grace period. if you're late 1 minute... you're late. wether its starting shift or coming back from lunch or break, each late equals .5 of a point(which has been told to us that its now 1 point). leave work early for being sick or emergency = 1 point.(no excuses. none) have no sick hours and you call out = 1 point. you reach 7 points within 6 months and you're up for termination. points build up and tAke 6 moths to fall off. but that doesn't matter.. management will "find" points you didn't know about and don't have to prove it to threaten your job. if you've worked longer than 5 years they insist you rank up ( even though its impossible) your pay increases like 10 cents each year, eventually they want to let you go or promote you to keep cost of you low. hr rarely responds and does not have YOUR back. artistry is over shadowed by sales goals. its simply horrible to work at. currently seeking elsewhere

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    this is for management, and region managers; -You don't influence your artist by threatening them they'll be let go if they're they're 1 minute late or not making these ridiculous sales goals! - stop relying 100% on your artist to come up with ways to improve counter traffic, cause managers don't give credit to your ideas. - hr needs to step in and notice that if a manager receives any pushback from artist they... will retaliate with their power in scheduling you! ex: don't agree with the ways a drawer is organized and only benefits managers ocd and takes you 3x longer to stock cause of this? mention this and you work every weekend! and during the weekday you work the slow hours making your goal harder to acheive. (kiss butt and maybe if you request 1 saturday off with reason you might get it) - MRO should stop being a bully. they will dig up old "excused" lates to fire you, and has repeatedly said to others including myself " you're lucky to work here, i get so many people who apply so i suggest you consider that and improve " - when it comes to gossip,investigate the source and speak to both parties together rather than punish the one being ACCUSED of starting gossip. this creates this dog eat dog, can't trust anyone and manipulating environment. teamwork is important.if your top in sales, artist will create other problems that get mro involved.(which is the only time you see them at counter, no support ) you can be doing great than management will pick on you for ... not looking up from stocking fast enough, or saying "hey" to other staff instead of "HI!!!! HOW ARE yOU" it makes artist feel like they can't please you. - for the love of god please give weekends off... atleast one! mac has freelance artist available - lastly, take accountability when management makes an error rather than shift blame to artist. artist have a hard time working for someone they can't trust. - management should not be telling peoples business, i stay out of reporting in fear of retaliation with my job and schedule.

    Show More
    MAC Cosmetics2019-06-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "I've been with mac for 8 years (fulltime/management)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Key Holder 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    being able to express your creativity/artistry in many forms great training fun work environment employee discounts are amazing gratis ( a lot of free makeup)

    Cons

    ALL weekends and 90% of holidays are mandatory unattainable and very aggressive sales goals no work and life balance lack of respect for employees management has "god complex" internal corruption favoritism, catty, and unprofessional management no opportunity for growth if you want a fun side job for extra cash this would be perfect for you, however forget trying to make this a career unless you're... willing to brown nose and trade your soul to the company. Lack of growth, motivation and purpose is why so many senior and quality artist leave. MAC needs to accept change and stop treating their employees like everyone is so replaceable. They created the "mean girls" attitude from the inside out and unless they start listening and valuing their employees this brand is going to continue to spiral downhill.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    although I know some managers try to be actual leaders its VERY difficult because internal corruption goes all the way up to corporate, this causes a lot of work politics, drama, favoritism, and unprofessional management . As far as advice goes there is really nothing management can do besides play the game or get cut out.

    MAC Cosmetics2019-06-12
  9. "My experience with MAC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Holder in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MAC Cosmetics full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great discount, my team and upper management is great!

    Cons

    Awful working hours, no weekends off, unattainable sales goals

    Advice to Management

    Make it fun again stop worrying about the money and focus on artistry

    MAC Cosmetics2019-05-17
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good job for the right person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Freelance Makeup Artist in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at MAC Cosmetics part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great employee discount, product and skill training at MAC stores, passionate and creative team of artists. Higher starting rate than a lot of other counters/brands.

    Cons

    Very intense sales goal structure. Can be clique-y depending on what counter/store you are at. Difficult to obtain full-time status/more hours.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to cultivate and invest in your artists; they are the ones representing and promoting your brand.

    MAC Cosmetics2019-04-04
Found 113 reviews