MAPFRE Insurance Reviews | Glassdoor

MAPFRE Insurance Reviews

Updated Oct 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
MAPFRE Insurance CEO Alfredo Castelo (no image)
Alfredo Castelo
42 Ratings
  1. "Cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MAPFRE Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Work home balance better than other companies

    Cons

    Not much opportunity to grt

    MAPFRE Insurance2019-10-12
  2. "Solid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at MAPFRE Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Employees are great. Awesome staff.

    Cons

    Management is not the most stable.

    MAPFRE Insurance2019-09-12
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Management doesn’t get it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Specialist in Webster, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at MAPFRE Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Decent health insurance benefits, good location.

    Cons

    Management micromanages. There is no flexibility. They do not trust their employees. They don’t appreciate a work-life balance.

    MAPFRE Insurance2019-09-03
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Go elsewhere unless your a towny"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claim Representative I PD in Webster, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MAPFRE Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Low salary for the highest volume claim department in the industry. 40k salary is pathetic for the work you are doing, especially when the company is profiting. Lack of empathy in management. These managers have been here forever and are your typical corporate zombies. Company is filled with pill heads and townies. Seek elsewhere if you have the experience.

    Cons

    PAY! PAY PAY PAY!!! HR and it’s managers should feel pathetic offering these salaries for these positions

    Advice to Management

    Grow up. Your company will be bought out eventually and will sink because of lackluster employees and managers

    MAPFRE Insurance2019-08-28
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Server in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MAPFRE Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, flexible shifts, teamwork mentality

    Cons

    Manager styles conflict with one another, overworked employees, managers have bad attitudes, different advice from trainers make it hard to know what's the best way to do things.

    Advice to Management

    Evaluate all of your GMs and managers without them knowing and see how they're all vastly different in what they ask of their employees and are fairly rude to their employees.

    MAPFRE Insurance2019-08-28
  6. Helpful (3)

    "I wouldn't recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in Webster, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MAPFRE Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Free coffee, good parking, PTO

    Cons

    Management doesn't have a clear vision of where they are going. There have been several rounds of layoffs this year. No one knows if there will be more rounds. There is a constant fear another company will buy them out.

    Advice to Management

    Stop letting talented employees walk out the door. A 2% annual raise without a bonus will not keep the career driven employees there.

    MAPFRE Insurance2019-08-08
  7. "Best Move Ever Made"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MAPFRE Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I'm not one for leaving reviews normally, but MAPFRE have made such an impression during my first 4mths I felt I had to. From my team, to line managers and head office in Bristol, I have never felt so welcome. Everyone has a great attitude to help and develop each other sharing skill sets.

    Cons

    None I can think of

    MAPFRE Insurance2019-07-23
  8. "Support management & friendly staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Development Manager in Preston, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MAPFRE Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for, management supportive and flexible. Regular training and discussions on PDP, good progression opportunities and all HQ staff are friendly and helpful when any problems arrive (I am based remotely).

    Cons

    A lot of travel (I was aware of this when I took the role on).

    Advice to Management

    Longer induction would be useful for field based staff.

    MAPFRE Insurance2019-07-18
  9. "Global Security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Corporate Partnerships in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MAPFRE Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Long established Insurance Company with extensive global footprint and insurance portfolio - excellent opportunities for career progression.

    Cons

    Travel time from North Yorkshire (but cant hold that against MAPFRE)

    Advice to Management

    Acknowledge what staff deliver for you and praise where required. Look to the future and be dynamic in the marketplace.

    MAPFRE Insurance2019-07-18
  10. "Great place to work and feel valued"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Development Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MAPFRE Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic support from the managers who do their upmost to make sure the work life balance is a priority as well as making sure we have everything we need to be successful.

    Cons

    There are no cons in my role

    Advice to Management

    Please keep up the current levels of support and understanding

    MAPFRE Insurance2019-07-18
Found 191 reviews