MASS PIRG Reviews | Glassdoor

MASS PIRG Reviews

Updated Aug 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.1
13%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
MASS PIRG Executive Director Janet Domenitz  (no image)
Janet Domenitz
2 Ratings
  1. "Plenty of room for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Research in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MASS PIRG for less than a year

    Pros

    If you prove yourself through work, there is a good chance you may see yourself promoted. Working on pertinent issues that matter.

    Cons

    Management was very politically biased No pay

    Continue reading
    MASS PIRG2018-08-16
  2. "Frustrating and barely worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at MASS PIRG for less than a year

    Pros

    Since it's part of a large national organization, you may get some good networking connections out of it. They had some pretty good intern training sessions, and its a decent way to get your foot in the door of policy advocacy.

    Cons

    The networking you do achieve will be in an organization that will pay you barely-livable wages. It was frustrating to work for an organization that purports to be all about fairness, respect, and bettering the state of the country as an unpaid intern. I get it--no pay comes with the intern territory--but what really got me angry was hearing them on recruiting calls trying to sell a $27,000/yr salary: that's less than the city its located in's $15 minimum wage. How can you say your mission is to keep people from being exploited, and then turn around and pay your own employees below the minimum wage?

    Continue reading
    MASS PIRG2019-08-01
  3. "Going door to door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Worker in Amherst, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at MASS PIRG part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    some of the coworkers were fun to hang out with outside of work

    Cons

    Door to door soliciting and pestering people for donations. The cause, when I worked there, was about updating a recycling bill. You don't get commission unless you raise $110 or more in a day. Management expects you do to this rain or shine, which isn't so bad except when there are severe thunderstorms and winds. And if you're out in, say, Hadley, you can be screwed. But hey, at least there was a base pay, even if it was $7.50.

    Continue reading
    MASS PIRG2019-06-28
  4. "PIRG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I worked at MASS PIRG for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment. It's young and there is a consciousness among the employees and management that is really attractive. If you want a career in non-profit work or political action this is really good exposure. Everyone knows PIRG and its well respected, so there are great networking opportunities within.

    Cons

    Zero upward growth unless you want to go into management

    Continue reading
    MASS PIRG2017-10-13
  5. "It's basically cold callling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outreach Specialist in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MASS PIRG part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    it was a job i guess

    Cons

    prepare to be screamed at by "previous donors" for calling them after 8pm. Also prepare to be praised one week then have you job on the line if you dont do well the next week.

    Continue reading
    MASS PIRG2017-08-21
  6. "Canvasser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MASS PIRG

    Pros

    If you work hard, you can make great money for someone with 0 experience

    Cons

    You have to actually go door to door for the full five hours and actively put forth some real effort to fundraise suc

    Continue reading
    MASS PIRG2016-09-30
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Have to be a good salesperson to work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Canvasser in Barnstable, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MASS PIRG full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good hours (I preferred working evenings), nice people, and a community atmosphere. I worked on the Cape so I saw lots of beautiful places on my daily routes.

    Cons

    Expecting canvassers to ring doorbells at 9pm is absurd. The daily requirements for fundraising are also too high, particularly in this economy.

    Continue reading
    MASS PIRG2014-07-21
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at MASS PIRG

    Pros

    Experience with "sales," if you can call it that

    Cons

    Soulless pyramid scheme that preys on people's capacity to pity the college students forced into working for this terrible organization. Worst part is, their policy positions don't even make good logical sense!

    Continue reading
    MASS PIRG2013-08-28
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Needs a union"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Campus Organizer in North Adams, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at MASS PIRG full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff all has their heart in the right place

    Cons

    When they want something from you, it's a movement. When you want something from them, it's a business. A canvass branch in California literally changed the locks and moved the next day when canvassers formed a union to protest working conditions, sweatshop style.

    Continue reading
    MASS PIRG2013-06-17
  10. Helpful (1)

    "worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at MASS PIRG

    Pros

    good experience overall, the staff is very friendly. I would keep it to a summer things rather than a full time position

    Cons

    terrible hours for all workers... there is no business strategy and the people who work there often are close minded to their own way

    Continue reading
    MASS PIRG2011-07-08
Found 11 reviews