MD Anderson Cancer Center Reviews | Glassdoor

MD Anderson Cancer Center Reviews

Updated Aug 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1496 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "The organization has great benefits(in 198 reviews)

  • "Excellent resources for leadership; Good benefits; Flexibility(in 102 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (14)

    "Best Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grants Coordinator in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Anderson Cancer Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It has been about a month since I started working for MD Anderson Cancer Center. I cannot tell you enough just in one single review, this is the best place I had ever worker during my career. When you are looking for an employer, you always want to be with the best one. I did an extent research trying to find out what was great about working with MD Anderson, but you are never going to find out until you actually start...

    Show More

    Cons

    I don’t really have anything negative to say about the institution, other than I wish they would make more affordable parking for employees. The parking can be limited and expensive. It does not affect me since MD Anderson has a program for commuters. I live in EADO so I take the metro rail and MD Anderson, will deduct the amount I select pre-tax to pay for it. PLUS I will get reimbursed in case I need to drive in my...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My management is really great! They are very inclusive, and they are always looking for areas to help me and my team develop.

    MD Anderson Cancer Center2018-12-07
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - APRN 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Anderson Cancer Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly, providing helpful information, through

    Cons

    can not think of any at the time

    MD Anderson Cancer Center2019-08-13
  3. "MD ANDERSON IS THE PLACE TO RETIRE FROM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network Representative in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Anderson Cancer Center full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    MD Anderson Cancer Center is one of the best places to work. The institution is rewarding, the benefits are great. The atmosphere is and work environment is great and they really care about their employees.

    Cons

    Although this is the top rated facility in the world some of the compensation policy need to be reviewed. Advancement is not as easy as one would think.

    Advice to Management

    Employee employment referrals should be considered differently. Internal advancement should be better considered.

    MD Anderson Cancer Center2019-08-12
  4. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Anderson Cancer Center full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Salary is competitive with other like-minded institutions. Retirement package and time off far surpasses other entities. Employees are friendly and the experiences with the patients are phenomenal.

    Cons

    Heavy patient load so not many days where stress is not high.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to ask for employee engagement and offer new services to entice for the long hours

    MD Anderson Cancer Center2019-08-12
  5. "Chair Anesthesiology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Professor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MD Anderson Cancer Center full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good fellow workers and a very fair employer

    Cons

    There are few parasites taking advantage of the good people and system

    Advice to Management

    Look out for paracites

    MD Anderson Cancer Center2019-08-09
  6. "Discovery that leads to cure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professor in Houston, TX

    I have been working at MD Anderson Cancer Center full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Collaboration; Great Colleagues; Resources; Diccovery

    Cons

    As with large organizations, there is a need to streamline processes to improve efficiency

    MD Anderson Cancer Center2019-08-08
  7. "Vision and Mission Driven Work Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professor in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Anderson Cancer Center full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    MD Anderson is a very mission and vision-driven workplace. We also appreciate and make a significant effort to create a collaborative culture. Despite the challenges and issues, there is a culture to do the best and to do the right thing. Regardless of your job title, it is a pleasant place to work. You have many exciting opportunities.

    Cons

    You have to remember that this is a State Institution. It is a dynamic place, but it has the elements working under the State Government regulation. The place is massive, close to 20K employees, which is an advantage and disadvantage as a healthcare institute. It is a matter of what is the size of the company do you like to work for.

    MD Anderson Cancer Center2019-08-08
  8. "Outstanding research environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professor in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Anderson Cancer Center full-time

    Pros

    Large number of experts in every field of oncology. Collaborative and supportive research environment. Excellent resources.

    Cons

    We are a large institution and thus, can be bureaucratic at times.

    MD Anderson Cancer Center2019-08-08
  9. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacist in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Anderson Cancer Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Managers really care about your well being and everyone has a pretty positive attitude and outlook regarding the work environment. You know what you're doing has a really positive impact on patients' and their caregivers' lives.

    Cons

    I can't think of any!

    MD Anderson Cancer Center2019-08-04
  10. "Great Company Good People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Anderson Cancer Center full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits and Good PTO

    Cons

    Too Political. Pay for parking

    Advice to Management

    Management is too Big.. They wont hear any advice.

    MD Anderson Cancer Center2019-08-02
Found 1496 reviews