MD Anderson Cancer Center Reviews | Glassdoor

MD Anderson Cancer Center Reviews

Updated Jun 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1468 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Company that offers Great Benefits(in 188 reviews)

  • "Excellent resources for leadership; Good benefits; Flexibility(in 99 reviews)

Cons
  • "Bureaucratic upper management slows down growth and innovation; Recent changes in leadership have hurt morale(in 38 reviews)

  • "There are NO cons; this is a Cancer Center dedicated to eradicate Cancer(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (13)

    "Best Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grants Coordinator in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Anderson Cancer Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It has been about a month since I started working for MD Anderson Cancer Center. I cannot tell you enough just in one single review, this is the best place I had ever worker during my career. When you are looking for an employer, you always want to be with the best one. I did an extent research trying to find out what was great about working with MD Anderson, but you are never going to find out until you actually start...

    Show More

    Cons

    I don’t really have anything negative to say about the institution, other than I wish they would make more affordable parking for employees. The parking can be limited and expensive. It does not affect me since MD Anderson has a program for commuters. I live in EADO so I take the metro rail and MD Anderson, will deduct the amount I select pre-tax to pay for it. PLUS I will get reimbursed in case I need to drive in my...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My management is really great! They are very inclusive, and they are always looking for areas to help me and my team develop.

    MD Anderson Cancer Center2018-12-07
  2. "One MD Anderson"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Anderson Cancer Center full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Some of the best reasons to work here are the numerous opportunities for professional growth through our mentoring and leadership programs; the ability to have a lasting impact on patient experiences & great relationships that are built in the organization.

    Cons

    There are no downsides to working at such a phenomenal organization!

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management is to continue being transparent & working to develop your number one resource...your employees.

    MD Anderson Cancer Center2019-06-21
  3. "Best Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Administrative Assistant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Anderson Cancer Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Mission Statement, care and friendliness of staff, great benefits, home away from home.

    Cons

    Decisions being made without consulting staff that will perform the work.

    Advice to Management

    At times there have been divisional/departmental changes that are made. However, its rare that people who will be responsible for implementing the changes are not part of the discussion; which at times, causes key elements to be overlooked.

    MD Anderson Cancer Center2019-06-20
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Class Act!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse, BSN in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Anderson Cancer Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    MD Anderson truly cares about ALL of their employees; it shows in their inclusive events and many awards highlighting exceptional patient care. Their research is ahead of the game with clinical trials that no other hospital has taken on.

    Cons

    I don't feel we get enough good press about the technology and research that we do here. Our commercials just so people saying that we here to end cancer but don't highlight all the equipment and trials that we have in our arsenal.

    MD Anderson Cancer Center2019-06-12
  5. "A Wonderful Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Director of Development in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Anderson Cancer Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast Paced Challenging Positive Inclusive Academic Innovative Resources Available Evolving Welcoming and Inclusive Diverse

    Cons

    Large organization that takes a little time to get to understand - you are always learning!

    MD Anderson Cancer Center2019-06-12
  6. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Anderson Cancer Center full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Awesome benefits; great people; tons of opportunities

    Cons

    like most -you have to pay for parking

    MD Anderson Cancer Center2019-06-12
  7. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Services Coordinator in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Anderson Cancer Center full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free medical benefits as well as cheap options for vision and dental. Constant accumulating PTO and flexible hours.

    Cons

    Have to pay monthly for parking and may still have to walk to your work location. It s also kind of difficult to move around the institution once you are hired unless you personally know some one.

    MD Anderson Cancer Center2019-06-12
  8. "MD Anderson Pride Month Celebration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Consultant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Anderson Cancer Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center (UTMDACC) may be #1 for cancer care but is also #1 for employee well-being. I attended the Pride Month Celebration event held at UTMDACC for our LGBT employee’s and patients. Even though I myself am not identified as a member of the LGBT community, I actively support these individuals right to equality. I walked in the pride parade last year with the MD Anderson LGBT Employee...

    Show More

    Cons

    I do not have any cons to report at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Continue your practice of having the senior leadership team and employees work together to increase inclusion at UTMDACC. As you have demonstrated, inclusion is not a collaboration effort with employees, it is a true partnership. Please continue utilizing this approach.

    MD Anderson Cancer Center2019-06-11
  9. "Great working environment, inclusive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advanced Practice Nurse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Anderson Cancer Center full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Dr. Pisters has made a great effort to be inclusive and this in turn has made a huge difference in the attitude of the employees and working environment.

    Cons

    Continues to be short staffed but that is across all hospitals in the nation

    MD Anderson Cancer Center2019-06-11
  10. "EXCELLENT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MD Anderson Cancer Center full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Cares about their employees. Sufficient resources to get the job done. Excellent pay. Wonderful vision and goals to eliminate cancer.

    Cons

    State owned hospital, salary is public.

    MD Anderson Cancer Center2019-06-11
Found 1468 reviews