MDU Resources Reviews | Glassdoor

MDU Resources Reviews

Updated Feb 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
56%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
MDU Resources President, CEO, and Director Terry D. Hildestad
Terry D. Hildestad
8 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Help Desk Technician in Bismarck, ND
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MDU Resources full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Work is plentiful but not completely overwhelming. Benefits are great. CEO is pretty good too.

    Cons

    Sometimes I feel stuck in my position because there's no training for advancement. In my job, I feel like I need 2 of me to get the job done to where I feel proud of the quality.

    Continue reading
    MDU Resources2018-01-12
  2. "wouldnt recommend it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at MDU Resources full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    nice covered parking close to building.

    Cons

    Office politics. Huge work loads. On call a lot. Decent money but earned every bit. No way to advance. Treated poorly.

    Continue reading
    MDU Resources2019-02-07
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Good for those who enjoy office politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bismarck, ND
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MDU Resources full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits Nice people Has potential once some house cleaning occurs CEO is easy to talk with and seems like he listens

    Cons

    Corporate politics are very heavily played Does not train staff on new technologies Prefers to hire senior experience instead of training and promoting There's a good ol boys club and it's apparent after your first month who's in that club

    MDU Resources2018-04-13
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Seniority"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Bismarck, ND
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MDU Resources full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Lots of extras like % off cell phone bill, discount for buy American made vehicles eyc...

    Cons

    Seniority means nothing. Everyone is replaceable

    Continue reading
    MDU Resources2018-01-31
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great job with great pay and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at MDU Resources

    Pros

    The people are great and as I mentioned, the pay and benefits are great. It's also located right outside of Mandan, which makes a person's commute from Bis/Man really nice; about 15 minutes.

    Cons

    The shift schedule, every other weekend rotating between nights and days every shift makes it really hard for your body to adjust. You're constantly in limbo

    MDU Resources2017-06-17
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Work-a-bee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at MDU Resources full-time

    Pros

    Large company - ability to have many options on where to work around the country.

    Cons

    Upper management could focus more on employee happiness, retention, equality and needs versus bottom line.

    Continue reading
    MDU Resources2017-05-15
  7. "Point of view"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MDU Resources

    Pros

    Great Co-workers with shared family values

    Cons

    Seasonal Work with little flexibility in scheduling

    MDU Resources2017-03-16
  8. "Intern review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at MDU Resources

    Pros

    Really great people to work with. There is constantly a joking attitude in the building while still maintaining professionalism. Great Place.

    Cons

    No cons really. What I was doing wasn't necessarily my "cup of tea", but the people around made it turn out to be a good experience.

    Continue reading
    MDU Resources2015-09-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for with many different divisions in different regions of USA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Bismarck, ND
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MDU Resources full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay is good and most managers are aware of surroundings. Enjoy atmosphere and community service participation activities. Work life balance is great!

    Cons

    Lack of feedback and lack of leadership. Very busy and unorganized at times but most activities in construction are seasonal in nature due to service territories.

    Continue reading
    MDU Resources2015-09-05
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Horrible company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Meridian, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MDU Resources

    Pros

    Walking out the door for the last time

    Cons

    Good ol boys club. Not in with the "in" crowd you're out of luck Pay is low and management prides themselves on holding a scheduled raise to save the company money. Micro managed. Managers love to punish employees and love to belittle you when you ask a question. Demand you work overtime when they don't know how to manage people so they're constantly low on staffing. It's a revolving door there.

    Continue reading
    MDU Resources2014-12-24

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 17 reviews