MG2 Reviews | Glassdoor

MG2 Reviews

Updated January 29, 2017
33 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.8
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Mitchell C. Smith
22 Ratings

33 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

  1. Featured Review

    "Vibrant & Exciting place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate II in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Associate II in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MG2 full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    -Great Location
    -Located in recently remodeled headquarters that includes many effective team-focused features such as an open work atmosphere, collaboration areas, & a very unique lunch room
    -Great company culture with very frequent activities, sports, games, & other opportunities to bond with coworkers & have fun
    -A good place to grow. The company actively supports talent development & goal setting. If you have serious initiative & passion about your goals, the company will support it.
    -Good company perks including free food pretty often!

    Cons

    Not really. Depending on what you are working on there can be unforeseen overtime or staffing shortage but that's typical with this profession & doesn't bother me

    Advice to Management

    Continue to pay attention & acknowledge the goals of the employees & keep up the good work making this a fun & dynamic place to work

    MG2 Response

    Aug 9, 2016 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you so much for taking time to share your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoy working here and appreciate all of the talent development programs we have in place. We look forward to ... More


  2. "Intern"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Positive environment, good teamwork, good management

    Cons

    Large office, detached from projects


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Retail CAD factory"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Seattle, WA
    Former Employee - Associate in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MG2 full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The benefits are good, and the new office is nice. They are very good at marketing.

    Cons

    Too many "bad" or " problem" managers who had been with the company for years. They chose to hire experienced people from other firms instead of promoting their own staff because they don't take the time to train and develop careers. High turnover-MG2 is always hiring.

    MG2 Response

    Jan 30, 2017 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for taking time to share your feedback from your time working here. It is our goal to provide training to the next generation of leadership and put a formal plan in action. We are ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "MG2 encourages employee growth"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    MG2 has put forth a great commitment to helping employees grow and obtain their goals. If you are wanting to move within the firm, or change teams to gain new experiences, the staff is open-minded and ready to assist however needed.

    Cons

    The hours can be long at times, but that comes with being in the architecture field.

    MG2 Response

    Dec 27, 2016 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for taking time to share your feedback. We are happy to hear that you feel supported in your growth here at MG2.


  6. "Happy to be working here"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate I in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Associate I in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MG2 full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    -Excellent location downtown
    -Transportation passes included
    -Great firm culture. We know how to have fun and be serious
    -I love the people that I interact with on a daily basis within my work team
    -a great opportunity for a variety of work, but you have to force your way in to that variety.
    -Small firm feeling within a large stable firm

    Cons

    -Occasionally the extra curricular activities that are constantly going around in the office can be distracting
    -work can become monotonous if you don't ask your superiors for variety

    Advice to Management

    Keep heading in the direction that the firm is heading in, and recognize those people who are doing good work.

    MG2 Response

    Aug 9, 2016 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoy the culture and new office location. If you have thoughts on how you and your peers like to be recognized, always feel ... More


  7. "A solid place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MG2 full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    • People – friendly, helpful, always rally around employees in need of help
    • Culture - fun events with food and drinks, sports teams, various outing
    • Location – smack dab in the middle of downtown Seattle, unlimited lunch and post-work happy hour spots
    • Perks – parking stipend, free Orca card, free on-site gym
    • Career – clear path towards advancement
    • Learning – access to an online learning platform with tons of training opportunities
    • Work – challenging and rewarding
    • Time – for most people, exact working hours can be flexible as long as you get your work done
    • Openness – bi-weekly all-staff meetings (free breakfast!) with various announcements and quarterly/yearly company performance results are shared
    • Fun! – regular drawings for Seahawks/Sounders game, design contests, annual BBQ

    Cons

    As a non-architect working in the business services side at an architect firm, I understand that the majority of focus is placed on the design staff who deal with clients on a daily basis. However, the firm does do a good job of supporting non-design staff with their careers as well, even though there are less opportunities for advancement as compared with the design staff. However this situation is typical in a firm in this industry of this size.

    Advice to Management

    Keep growing the firm and continue making efforts to make MG2 a fun place to work.

    MG2 Response

    Jul 18, 2016 – HR Manager

    Thank you for taking time to share your feedback and experience at MG2. We're happy to hear that you are enjoying all of the benefits and opportunities we have to offer our employees!


  8. Helpful (1)

    "Small firm atmosphere w/ big firm resources"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    - A real effort has been made this past year to give employees a transparent look at their career path growth and help them figure out how they can get to the next level.

    - Giving back to the community is a big push at MG2.

    - Tons of free food!

    - Seems like the majority of staff enjoys coming to work (as much as one can) and take an active interest in getting to know one another. Overall, I'd say MG2's people are really genuine.

    Cons

    Can't think of too many that aren't just little annoyances you would experience at any firm.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course. You have a good thing going since moving the corporate HQ to Seattle.


  9. "Design firm with good intentions"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate III in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Associate III in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MG2 full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Management encourages staff to step up and take on as much responsibility as they want. They also encourage a design-friendly and collaborative culture. The employees balance hard work with fun and laughter. I enjoy going to work everyday.
    Large firm with the intention of maintaining its small-firm culture.
    Training is highly regarded.
    Career advancement and ambition is a must.

    Cons

    Management is striving to find the right balance of benefits and compensation to stay competitive in the 2016 design market.
    The firm is seen as corporate due to some of their larger retail clients.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the forward momentum!

    MG2 Response

    May 2, 2016 – HR Manager

    Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts. We're glad you enjoy coming to work. We have worked hard to build up our training and development opportunities and tools to help employees attain ... More


  10. "Jr Estimator"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Junior Estimator in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Junior Estimator in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MG2 full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Family culture, Respect at all levels, leadership cares about individual progress, fast-paced, learning opprotunities

    Cons

    If you are not an architect, you tend to feel overlooked in the overall picture of the company. Much more opportunity for architects than other staff.

    Advice to Management

    Include all levels of the company when thinking about the future and direction you would like to grow in.


  11. "Current employee"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MG2 full-time

    Pros

    Great community and team atmosphere
    Hard working co-workers
    Supportive management
    Beautiful office with lots of light
    Orca pass provided!
    Parking stipend

    Cons

    I really believe the pros outweigh the cons tremendously at MG2.

    Advice to Management

    Give more credit to those who put in extra hours, a lot of architects are putting in late nights and would be very encouraging if those people were given monetary rewards for the extra hours worked.

    MG2 Response

    Apr 22, 2016 – HR Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts on working at MG2. It sounds like you enjoy the environment, your coworkers, and the benefits, which is great! It's a very busy time for ... More



Showing 33 of 34 reviews
Reset Filters