MGA Entertainment Reviews | Glassdoor

MGA Entertainment Reviews

Updated Aug 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 140 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
MGA Entertainment CEO Isaac Larian
Isaac Larian
105 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free bagels on Fridays, Nice coworkers who actually care about their work, receiving a paycheck that clears(in 8 reviews)

  • "Free bagels on Friday and cake on your birthday, awesome co-worker and they care(in 7 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Company to join"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Costing Manager in Chatsworth, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MGA Entertainment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company is going to a right path for toy business. ( Catch the trend , Have innovation on toys ) The company is growing rapidly. Co-workers, Supervisors are nice and reasonable and have passion on toys. Upper Management makes correct decision.

    Cons

    - The working hours are long.

    Advice to Management

    Need to expand a little more. Need more workers to help supporting the business. Business grow too fast.

    MGA Entertainment2019-08-16
  2. "Great, Creative People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Consumer Insights in Chatsworth, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MGA Entertainment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people make the difference at MGA. The ones who succeed here are all-in. That means loving what we do, believing in and rooting for our products and supporting each other. Top management will take risks and try new ideas. They also listen to employee suggestions, trust employee judgement and encourage creativity. There is a culture of improvement and excellence. The pace is very fast—never boring. With good work/life...

    Show More

    Cons

    Some processes are redundant and some are over-regulated.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to employee feedback regarding process improvements and continue with the culture survey!

    MGA Entertainment2019-08-15
  3. "MGA Entertainment - a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director, P D in Chatsworth, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MGA Entertainment full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    If you love toys and creating toys that children love MGA is the place for you. Work with wonderful people that are up for anything. A close knit team.

    Cons

    MGA is not for you if you do not like working in a creative entrepreneurial environment.

    MGA Entertainment2019-08-15
  4. "Innovative Company, Exciting Brands, Rewarding Work, and Passionate People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager, Consumer Insights in Chatsworth, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MGA Entertainment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love working at MGA and have for the last 3+ years. We have exciting brands – girls, boys, and Little Tikes, phenomenal creative talent, top-notch business strategists, and a beautiful new facility. Research is valued and drives business decisions. Collaborative working environment and opportunity to work with many of the departments at the company. Passionate, hard-working people too. Lots of opportunities to...

    Show More

    Cons

    As I mentioned, if you are not a go-getter with a passion for delivering the best, MGA is not the place for you. You also have to be comfortable with changes in direction and be able to shift accordingly.

    Advice to Management

    Continue the yearly survey as it is an opportunity for employees to share their thoughts. Sharing the feedback with us after the survey closes is also appreciated.

    MGA Entertainment2019-08-13
  5. "Vice President"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chatsworth, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MGA Entertainment full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nimble, bold, fast-paced, exciting and challenging environment. CEO allows you to bring new ideas and executions to the table and invites unique thinking. I’ve learned more both professionally and personally at MGA than at any other job I’ve ever held. This is a place where innovation thrives, colleagues have each other’s backs and autonomy and accountability are expected and rewarded.

    Cons

    Check your ego at the door. This is not a place for those seeking constant praise or adulation. Challenging environment which requires hard work and passion.

    Advice to Management

    Less red tape will allow for faster innovation and execution.

    MGA Entertainment2019-08-09
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Marketing in Chatsworth, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MGA Entertainment full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work to be challenged and work with passionate people to build brands. Ability to create innovative marketing plans outside of the box. Quick decision-making without needing a deck to justify - just walk down the hall.

    Cons

    Not a place for people who can’t stand criticism.

    MGA Entertainment2019-08-05
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Creative, challenging and fast paced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MGA Entertainment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The toy business is creative and innovative and MGA is a leader in the industry. Each day brings new challenges and opportunities. The office is beautiful and management goes above and beyond to provide employees with perks, like piano, ping pong, yoga classes, Pilates, etc.

    Cons

    From experience and observation, the hiring process is mismanaged. The process is in conflict with the ongoing efforts of management to create a positive work environment and culture.

    Advice to Management

    Continue innovating and pushing the envelope. Encourage honesty and respect in all departments.

    MGA Entertainment2019-08-15
  8. "Most Innovative Toy Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Creative Director in Chatsworth, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MGA Entertainment full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    We are encouraged to think differently, make the impossible possible and love what we do. I work with an incredible team of creatives, who I consider my family, in an inspiring new space. The CEO is forward thinking and believes in his employees.

    Cons

    You must be able to thrive in a fast paced environment. This isn't really a con, just the reality of a nimble company. If you don’t like to respond quickly to a constantly changing industry, this isn’t the place for you.

    MGA Entertainment2019-08-01
  9. "Great place for Toy Industry Passion to Thrive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MGA Entertainment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Innovative place with great brands and growing business -- uniquely able to sustain a creative, inspired culture. Dedicated co-workers, hard-working teams. Not a lot of politics.

    Cons

    Very little process. Many teams are understaffed which hampers business.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to eliminate obstacles and reduce bottlenecks to grow faster. Increase recruiting resources.

    MGA Entertainment2019-07-31
  10. "Challenging and rewarding!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MGA Entertainment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great office space, collaborative environment, open door policy with senior level management

    Cons

    Some teams are understaffed. The work piles up during busy seasons

    MGA Entertainment2019-08-14
Found 140 reviews