MGA Healthcare Reviews | Glassdoor

MGA Healthcare Reviews

Updated November 28, 2017
57 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
David Zowine
13 Ratings

57 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • It's a great opportunity to gain experience in the hospital setting if you have little to no experience (in 4 reviews)

  • Great opportunity to get hired onto a full time position at UCSF if you are a top performer (in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • No PTO and high cost for insurance (company does not contribute and will automatically claim you turned down insurance) (in 4 reviews)

  • Very unprofessional communication from recruiters in an attempt to be familiar,and poor communication, overall (in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Practice Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Practice Assistant in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Practice Assistant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MGA Healthcare full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great way to get your foot in the door if you want to work at hospitals .

    Cons

    More effective communication between recruiters and employees, placement took almost 2 months .

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay for employees

    MGA Healthcare Response

    Dec 1, 2017 – Social Media & Marketing

    Thank you for your valued feedback. We would like to better understand the communication issue you experienced. Please email customerservice@mgahealthcare.com if you are open to speaking with a... More


  2. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Great opportunity and networking with health professionals!

    Cons

    Extremely unresponsive and very long breaks in between assignments

    MGA Healthcare Response

    Dec 1, 2017 – Social Media & Marketing

    Thank you for your review. We would like to better understand the communication issue you've described. Please email customerservice@mgahealthcare.com if you are open to speaking with a member of our... More

  3. "Payroll Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Payroll Specialist in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Payroll Specialist in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MGA Healthcare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Positive environment, Great team, Company outings, Management is always there to give advice or constructive criticism

    Cons

    Pay is lower than other companies, Mostly data entry - no strategic or technical skills used or needed, Little to no room for growth as most duties are handled by the corporate payroll team.

    Advice to Management

    Allow employees to show full potential my delegating more than data entry tasks, Create growth opportunities, Pay the going rate for the job or change the job title/description to better fit the pay/role criteria .

    MGA Healthcare Response

    Oct 20, 2017 – Social Media & Marketing

    Your feedback helps us improve the MGA employee experience - thank you for taking the time to leave a review!


  4. "Admin Assistant (UCSF)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MGA Healthcare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Great opportunity to get your foot in the world of healthcare
    - Are able to work with one of the best hospitals in healthcare (UCSF)
    - Helpful recruiter (Jonathan)
    - Paid training

    Cons

    - Low compensation ($17/hour)
    - Worked in a department that promised a chance of becoming a permanent employee, but instead continued to extend my temp position until I decided to quit
    - Even after MGA hires you, you still have to interview and compete to get the "assignment" jobs

    MGA Healthcare Response

    Oct 20, 2017 – Social Media & Marketing

    Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you saw MGA as an ally in opportunity. We strive to offer competitive, meaningful compensation and are sorry to hear a permanent position with... More


  5. "Nice Place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at MGA Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    The environment is pretty relaxed

    Cons

    The processes are a little unorganized

    MGA Healthcare Response

    Sep 20, 2017 – Social Media & Marketing

    Thank you for your review. Please send us an email at customerservice@mgahealthcare.com with additional details and feedback to help us improve!


  6. "Home health nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MGA Healthcare part-time

    Pros

    1 patient in the home, though you can be just as busy with one patient as with 30 pts on the floor.

    Cons

    Had some concerns with the family in regards to personality and hostile work environment at times. Talked to my recruiter about it for support. Asked him to keep it confidential, he promised he would. But through the family I learned he told them everything. Way to go. As a result, I lost all trust in MGA. Marked discrepensies in the way internal nurses (in the office) and external nurses (in the home) are treated. If you're ok with not being able to trust your employer, this is the place for you. Also, when dealing with the families...set your boundaries and keep them firm because I guarantee you, they WILL try to get as much as they possibly can from you. One family wanted me to work a 16 HR shift. One came home late all the time. Have the conversations and speak up. It's not ok for families to consistently try to get you to change your schedule. So many times I wanted to tell the families, "My life doesn't revolve around you". I hated working for MGA. Been gone over a year and it still irriates me.

    Advice to Management

    Have your home nurse's back. Be HONEST. If you promise confidentially then KEEP YOUR WORD.

    MGA Healthcare Response

    Oct 10, 2017 – Social Media & Marketing

    Thank you for your review. Our administrative team and clinical experts strive to provide comprehensive support to all of our staff members. Your feedback regarding your work experience is important... More


  7. "LVN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - LVN in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - LVN in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MGA Healthcare full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Monday through Friday job with weekend offs at a clinic.

    Cons

    Pay is below average pay.

    Advice to Management

    Consider paying more.

    MGA Healthcare Response

    Aug 30, 2017 – Social Media & Marketing

    Thank you for your review. Should you wish to speak to a member of our management team to provide additional feedback you can email customerservice@mgahealthcare.com.

  8. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Oakland, CA
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Oakland, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MGA Healthcare full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    It's a great opportunity to gain experience in the hospital setting if you have little to no experience. Great way to get your foot in the door in the healthcare industry and to make relevant connections with healthcare administrators and providers. Potential to get hired full-time by the hospital.

    Cons

    The onboarding process can be lengthy. The pay is not reasonable for the standard of living in the bay area and while they mention you can get a pay increase if you get good reviews from your hospital managers, it wasn't clear that it would occur after a year of employment with MGA. Health insurance obtained through MGA is expensive and no PTO or benefits.

    Advice to Management

    Management made it seem like it would be easy to get an assignment right away, but it took almost a month to receive my first assignment due to "lack of experience" and I had to interview several departments before actually receiving an offer (it was not clear I had to interview the departments as well, although it does make sense.) So I would suggest being transparent about the process and the wait that employees might experience at first. My recruiter was nice, but I felt pressured to leave my previous job in order to be available for an assignment right away only to wait an additional month.

    MGA Healthcare Response

    Aug 22, 2017 – Social Media & Marketing

    Thank you for your review and constructive feedback. We are happy to hear that you gained experience and connections that will help propel your career. We value your advice to our management team and... More


  9. "home health care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Home Health Caregiver in Phoenix, AZ
    Former Employee - Home Health Caregiver in Phoenix, AZ
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MGA Healthcare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    steady work, fair pay, education, good communication with direct management, good client base

    Cons

    benefits are expensive, human resources poor communication

    Advice to Management

    unknown

    MGA Healthcare Response

    Aug 22, 2017 – Social Media & Marketing

    Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience with management and our clients. We value your feedback on areas for improvement!


  10. "Payroll generalist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oakland, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oakland, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MGA Healthcare full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great atmosphere good training for the most part

    Cons

    Horrible management
    Horrible process
    Pay is horrible
    Sneaky co workers
    Can't trust anyone

    Advice to Management

    You need to learn to actually be there for your employees actually have their back . Instead of pretend. Definitely need better management skills.

    MGA Healthcare Response

    Aug 1, 2017 – Social Media & Marketing

    Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you had a positive training experience. It is our hope that our management team and employees imbue the same positive atmosphere you enjoyed... More


Showing 57 of 78 reviews
Reset Filters