MGA Healthcare Reviews | Glassdoor

MGA Healthcare Reviews

Updated May 6, 2017
47 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

2.9
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Dave Zowine
11 Ratings

47 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • The San Francisco office space is very nice (in 3 reviews)

  • I talked to other health care professionals and was told this company only wastes your time (in 2 reviews)

Cons
  • High turnover and pushy recruiters (in 3 reviews)

  • No PTO and high cost for insurance (company does not contribute and will automatically claim you turned down insurance) (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Quick response but low pay"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    Current Employee - CNA in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - CNA in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at MGA Healthcare part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Their team is quick to respond to concerns and very flexible with my schedule. The staff is also very friendly and have never felt I was being a bother when I needed anything

    Cons

    Offered pay is on the lower end of market salary

    MGA Healthcare Response

    May 8, 2017 – Customer Service

    Thank you for your review. Our employee's satisfaction is a top priority. I am happy to hear our team is addressing your needs and concerns.


  2. "Like a rollercoaster has plenty of highs and lows"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Phoenix, AZ
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Phoenix, AZ
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MGA Healthcare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Younger and overall a good amount of nice people. Owner doesn't have his own office and makes an effort to say hi to everyone.

    Cons

    No career path, clear favoritism for certain people and always will be that way. Retention is horrible and used to be even worse. Communication between managers and recruiters should be better. Unprofessional environment and HR acknowledges it and doesn't do anything about it unless a complaint is filed.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of people,

    MGA Healthcare Response

    May 3, 2017 – Customer Service

    We are sorry to hear about your experience. MGA values a workplace environment that is conducive to the success of all our employees. Thank you for your feedback.


  3. "Great Option"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Phoenix, AZ
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MGA Healthcare part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Super flexible hours, fantastic job for a new RN and work one on one with patient.

    Cons

    Paper charting, must deliver charting notes to weekly location, half pay for training.

    Advice to Management

    Post online at a private MGA link available cases to pick up on a day of basis.

    MGA Healthcare Response

    Apr 12, 2017 – Customer Service

    Thank you for the positive feedback and helpful suggestion! We look forward to continuing to work with you.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Salary"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MGA Healthcare full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere to work at .

    Cons

    High Turn over rate. Even if your doing good.

    MGA Healthcare Response

    Apr 12, 2017 – Customer Service

    MGA values an office environment that is both enjoyable and conducive to success. We appreciate your feedback and honest review.


  6. "LPN"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MGA Healthcare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Hires new grads. Will allow overtime.

    Cons

    Horrible communication within the office. Expect nurse to inform families of thing they should relate to them. No PTO and high cost for insurance (company does not contribute and will automatically claim you turned down insurance).

    Advice to Management

    Offer PTO and compensation for mileage driven to far away assignments.

    MGA Healthcare Response

    Apr 12, 2017 – Customer Service

    Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you are experiencing communication problems. Would you be open to a phone call to discuss? I would be happy to address the work communication and ... More


  7. "Feast or Famine"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nurse in Denver, CO
    Former Employee - Nurse in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MGA Healthcare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The office staff is generally polite. Decent pay for home care. Benefits for full-time staff are reasonably good.

    Cons

    On one hand, an employee can go a long time between cases. On the other hand, MGA will be happy to work their employees to death, and then when the inevitable happens and said employee burns out, gets sick, falls asleep, they will happily fire said employee no matter how much of a team player the employee has been, even to the detriment of their own health. Be sure to protect yourself from being overworked if you work for this company because they see employees as cogs in the machine.
    There is no PTO, even for full-time staff.

    Advice to Management

    Don't let your employees work more than 48 hours a week. Don't let your full-time employees go for longer than a week without an assignment. Give full-time employees PTO.

    MGA Healthcare Response

    Apr 12, 2017 – Customer Service

    Thank you for your review. We take your feedback very seriously. At MGA, we believe the happiness, health, and well-being of our teams sets the foundation for providing quality care to our families ... More


  8. "CNA"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CNA in Denver, CO
    Former Employee - CNA in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MGA Healthcare part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The hours are flexible to fit your schedule

    Cons

    Most of the clients their parents are their CNA, its a good job for families with disabled children.

    MGA Healthcare Response

    Apr 12, 2017 – Customer Service

    We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience with MGA, thank you for sharing.


  9. "Recruiter"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
    Current Employee - Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MGA Healthcare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fun place to gain solid experience. Relaxed environment, company sponsored trips, health/dental/vision/401k benefits, decent PTO (~10 days). As long as you have a positive attitude and willingness to learn, Account Managers and co-workers will help you to improve.

    Cons

    Full of entry-level new grads contributes to an environment that is less professional than most serious work environments. Can be fun, but adds to the sense that this might be a stepping stone for most employees. Not many employees stay longer than 1 year.

    Advice to Management

    Invest time in standardizing practices and give employees better tools to gain an competitive advantage over other companies.

    MGA Healthcare Response

    Apr 12, 2017 – Customer Service

    Thank you for your review. MGA values hard work and encourages a fun environment but not at the expense of maintaining a professional workplace. Your review also mentions a need for better tools and ... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great People, Limited Career Growth"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MGA Healthcare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Very thriving and dynamic group environment for new grads that want to experience the inside sales world.

    Cons

    Not a lot of room for opportunity and growth. Incredibly limiting if you are not one the typical sports guy.

    Advice to Management

    Create mid level positions between entry level recruiters and account managers.
    Take time to develop your resources instead of treating them as disposable staff.

    MGA Healthcare Response

    Apr 12, 2017 – Customer Service

    I read your review and appreciate the kind words and suggestions. MGA recognizes that career advancement is essential to keeping talented employees challenged, engaged and committed for the long ... More


  11. "Recruiter"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Recruiting Research Associate in Redondo Beach, CA
    Former Employee - Recruiting Research Associate in Redondo Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MGA Healthcare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fun work place, with great co-workers.

    Cons

    Long hours at time.

    MGA Healthcare Response

    Apr 12, 2017 – Customer Service

    Thank you for your feedback! We strive to balance hard work, dedication and client satisfaction in an enjoyable workplace.


Showing 47 of 59 reviews
Reset Filters