MGA Healthcare Reviews | Glassdoor

MGA Healthcare Reviews

Updated Jul 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 89 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
MGA Healthcare CEO David Zowine (no image)
David Zowine
22 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "home health care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Home Health Caregiver in Phoenix, AZ
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MGA Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    steady work, fair pay, education, good communication with direct management, good client base

    Cons

    benefits are expensive, human resources poor communication

    Advice to Management

    unknown

    MGA Healthcare2017-08-09

    MGA Healthcare Response

    August 22, 2017Social Media & Marketing

    Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you had a positive experience with management and our clients. We value your feedback on areas for improvement!

  2. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Oakland, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MGA Healthcare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a great opportunity to gain experience in the hospital setting if you have little to no experience. Great way to get your foot in the door in the healthcare industry and to make relevant connections with healthcare administrators and providers. Potential to get hired full-time by the hospital.

    Cons

    The onboarding process can be lengthy. The pay is not reasonable for the standard of living in the bay area and while they mention you can get a pay increase if you get good reviews from your hospital managers, it wasn't clear that it would occur after a year of employment with MGA. Health insurance obtained through MGA is expensive and no PTO or benefits.

    Advice to Management

    Management made it seem like it would be easy to get an assignment right away, but it took almost a month to receive my first assignment due to "lack of experience" and I had to interview several departments before actually receiving an offer (it was not clear I had to interview the departments as well, although it does make sense.) So I would suggest being transparent about the process and the wait that employees... might experience at first. My recruiter was nice, but I felt pressured to leave my previous job in order to be available for an assignment right away only to wait an additional month.

    Show More
    MGA Healthcare2017-08-11

    MGA Healthcare Response

    August 22, 2017Social Media & Marketing

    Thank you for your review and constructive feedback. We are happy to hear that you gained experience and connections that will help propel your career. We value your advice to our management team and will be sure to pass it along.

  3. "Payroll generalist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oakland, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MGA Healthcare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere good training for the most part

    Cons

    Horrible management Horrible process Pay is horrible Sneaky co workers Can't trust anyone

    Advice to Management

    You need to learn to actually be there for your employees actually have their back . Instead of pretend. Definitely need better management skills.

    MGA Healthcare2017-07-30

    MGA Healthcare Response

    August 1, 2017Social Media & Marketing

    Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you had a positive training experience. It is our hope that our management team and employees imbue the same positive atmosphere you enjoyed while training. With that said, we are always aiming to improve and would like to learn more about your experience. Should you be open to sharing additional details, please email us directly at customerservice@mgahealthcare.com. Thank you!

    Show Less
  4. "Quick response but low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Current Employee - CNA in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at MGA Healthcare part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Their team is quick to respond to concerns and very flexible with my schedule. The staff is also very friendly and have never felt I was being a bother when I needed anything

    Cons

    Offered pay is on the lower end of market salary

    MGA Healthcare2017-05-06

    MGA Healthcare Response

    May 8, 2017Customer Service

    Thank you for your review. Our employee's satisfaction is a top priority. I am happy to hear our team is addressing your needs and concerns.

  5. "Like a rollercoaster has plenty of highs and lows"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Phoenix, AZ
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MGA Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Younger and overall a good amount of nice people. Owner doesn't have his own office and makes an effort to say hi to everyone.

    Cons

    No career path, clear favoritism for certain people and always will be that way. Retention is horrible and used to be even worse. Communication between managers and recruiters should be better. Unprofessional environment and HR acknowledges it and doesn't do anything about it unless a complaint is filed.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of people,

    MGA Healthcare2017-04-15

    MGA Healthcare Response

    May 3, 2017Customer Service

    We are sorry to hear about your experience. MGA values a workplace environment that is conducive to the success of all our employees. Thank you for your feedback.

  6. "Great Option"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MGA Healthcare part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Super flexible hours, fantastic job for a new RN and work one on one with patient.

    Cons

    Paper charting, must deliver charting notes to weekly location, half pay for training.

    Advice to Management

    Post online at a private MGA link available cases to pick up on a day of basis.

    MGA Healthcare2017-03-27

    MGA Healthcare Response

    April 12, 2017Customer Service

    Thank you for the positive feedback and helpful suggestion! We look forward to continuing to work with you.

  7. "Great Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at MGA Healthcare part-time

    Pros

    Always letting you know about shifts that are available for you to work.

    Cons

    I just started with MGA, I really don't have any Cons.

    MGA Healthcare2017-03-16

    MGA Healthcare Response

    April 12, 2017Customer Service

    Thank you for the kind words! I hope you continue to enjoy your experience at MGA.

  8. "LPN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MGA Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hires new grads. Will allow overtime.

    Cons

    Horrible communication within the office. Expect nurse to inform families of thing they should relate to them. No PTO and high cost for insurance (company does not contribute and will automatically claim you turned down insurance).

    Advice to Management

    Offer PTO and compensation for mileage driven to far away assignments.

    MGA Healthcare2017-03-25

    MGA Healthcare Response

    April 12, 2017Customer Service

    Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you are experiencing communication problems. Would you be open to a phone call to discuss? I would be happy to address the work communication and MGA policy issues you mentioned. If so, please direct message me with a number and time that is convenient for you.

    Show Less
  9. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MGA Healthcare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere to work at .

    Cons

    High Turn over rate. Even if your doing good.

    MGA Healthcare2017-03-23

    MGA Healthcare Response

    April 12, 2017Customer Service

    MGA values an office environment that is both enjoyable and conducive to success. We appreciate your feedback and honest review.

  10. "Recruiting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at MGA Healthcare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Younger atmosphere, you can be yourself.

    Cons

    Too many to list, horrible communication for career paths. Mediocre at best in training personnel and they are always quick to fire people.

    MGA Healthcare2017-04-06

    MGA Healthcare Response

    April 12, 2017Customer Service

    Thank you for your review. We are always open to suggestions on how to improve our company, and your feedback is very important to us. Would you be interested in discussing your experience in greater detail? Please message me directly with a number and time that is convenient for you.

    Show Less
Found 89 reviews