MGA Healthcare "mga" Reviews | Glassdoor

MGA Healthcare Employee Reviews about "mga"

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 90 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
MGA Healthcare CEO David Zowine (no image)
David Zowine
22 Ratings
Pros
  • "Overall great group of individuals and as a former employee I can say experience built from MGA progresses me further into my current position(in 7 reviews)

  • "Great opportunity to get experience(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "I think MGA forgot what those are(in 12 reviews)

  • "There is no PTO, even for full-time staff(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "mga"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Aggressive Coordinators, Disposable Nursing Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MGA Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Okay salary, getting to help families and special patients.

    Cons

    Initially, everything was great. I was recovering from an injury at the time I got hired and got a good position working with an infant with a g-tube. When the little one made a full recovery, I was moved to another case, and that's where the trouble began. I never said anything about working exclusively with MGA and wanted to explore possibilities other than pediatric homecare. When my coordinator found out about this, they became very belligerent with me, even calling me outside their normal working hours to cuss me out for doing so. When I told the cooridnator to put me to PRN status if my exploring other job possibilities, they had another coordinator contact me and went through this big long song and dance about how I could make more money if I stayed with them. I'm not a terribly aggressive personality myself and so I gave in. I worked with one patient for quite a while and then that patient went to another agency and I was assigned two new patients by MGA. The coordinator kept telling me that they were going to get rid of the main nurse for the patient I was working with three days a week and make me the main nurse because that nurse had chronic health problems. The thing is, I had chronic health problems myself and now was afraid to ask for time off. The main patient I was working with developed a severe respiratory infection which they passed to me. The coordinator encouraged me to go to work anyway because they reasoned that since I had gotten the infection from the patient, I couldn't re-infect the patient. The coordinator guilt-tripped me by telling me the family "really needs you." I was so sick that I ended up having a small stroke during my shift and falling into a blackout sleep. I was fired, and now there is a black mark on my nursing license and no-one else will hire me. I now deliver food and live in poverty.

    Continue reading
    MGA Healthcare2019-05-22

    MGA Healthcare Response

    May 23, 2019Marketing Manager

    We take these comments very seriously and would be happy to address any concerns that our employees (current or former) may have. If MGA management or our compliance office is advised, we will not condone behavior that is not in keeping with MGA’s mission, policies and applicable laws. We’d like to put you in touch with our compliance officer as soon as possible. Please contact us at 1.800.941.1395 so that we can investigate these allegations and take responsive action, as needed.

    Continue reading
  2. "Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MGA Healthcare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great management who continually helps its recruiting team in every aspect. All tools to being successful in this field are provided. Overall great group of individuals and as a former employee I can say experience built from MGA progresses me further into my current position. And within a year you can expect to progress into managerial positions as long as you’re dedicated.

    Cons

    The elevators don’t work sometimes.

    MGA Healthcare2018-12-14

    MGA Healthcare Response

    December 14, 2018Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you've had a positive experience with MGA!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MGA Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    MGA was an ok place to work. The pay was ok for starting out, but little room for growth. If you didn't fit in with the group that was there from the start, good luck getting anywhere. Charles was nice, most of the employees are nice, fun outings, training is cool.

    Cons

    The on call is an absolute nightmare. Do not fall for them saying it is common, I am almost positive it is illegal. It is almost like working 24 hours if you happen to be on call for the night or week. Good luck enjoying weekends, and if you chose to not work a strike or work on your free time, you will be looked down upon. Vacations? I think MGA forgot what those are. If you are sick, you still have to show up. Their culture is grind. Once you meet the CEO and see how he speaks to employees, it explains everything. Just look him up online and check out the massive lawsuit.

    Continue reading
    MGA Healthcare2018-10-24

    MGA Healthcare Response

    November 27, 2018Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to hear about your experience. We would like to discuss further and hear more of your feedback. If this is of interest, please contact us at customerservice@mgahealthcare.com.

    Continue reading
  4. "Concerning Company Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at MGA Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Feeling of making a positive difference for my community

    Cons

    A Co-worker got a DUI following a company party and was not reprimanded. MGA did very little to address the issue of professionalism within the company culture

    MGA Healthcare2018-08-06

    MGA Healthcare Response

    August 13, 2018Social Media & Marketing

    We appreciate your review as we are working hard to foster a culture of respect and professionalism across each office. At MGA, we have a strict policy regarding alcohol consumption at events and would welcome the opportunity to speak to you about this incident in particular. If you would like to discuss this with us, please call us at 602-508-1883 and ask to speak with human resources.

    Continue reading
  5. "Beware, not what it seems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MGA Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    They have pretty good coffee

    Cons

    I thought the job before working at MGA was the worst bottom of the barrel job and couldn’t get any worse. I thought things could only get better. Boy was I wrong. Do your home work by checking online. Here is what I found online: perpetrating wrongful conduct (collectively, the “Defendant Confederates”), for violations of (a) the retaliation provision of the False Claims Act, 31 U.S.C. § 3729 et seq., (b) the obstruction of justice provision of 42 U.S.C. § 1985(2), (c) the Computer Fraud and Abuse Act, 18 U.S.C. § 1030 (the “CFAA”), (d) Section 10(b) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, 15 U.S.C. § 78j, Rule 10b-5 promulgated thereunder (17 C.F.R. § 240.10b- 5), and (e) and state law. A federal jury has awarded a total of $28 million to Phoenix businessman who alleged that his ex-partner assaulted him, committed fraud, and stole his company. Another one: nurse seen on video being rough with a 10-year-old disabled child. I sure wish I would have checked before working there. Working at MGA is a nightmare and most of the people working there are very dishonest. When you walk in the front door you will see a lot of women on those balance ball chair bouncing up and down, romper room meets frat house relocated. Then you have the “boys”, the recruiters. Remember the “old used car salesman” , that told you anything you wanted to hear and when you got there they swarm all over you, that’s exactly what will happen. Half of the recruiters think they’re basketball stars throwing balls all over the office-in fact one kick a ball so hard at the front door that it hit a picture frame and shattered glass everywhere. Others think they are famous rappers. They play that rap music so loud the floors and windows shake, you can’t hear yourself think. The recruiters get paid bonus’s for hires, they have to “earn their computer” that may explain how some of the people get hired that shouldn’t. Most of the employees are transplants from South Carolina to Michigan to Arizona to name a few. They hired a manager who micromanages and has two very loyal brown nosier’s, we all know how they work. Just to give an example of the level of intelligence or lack thereof, 90% of the individuals that work there cannot complete a sentence without using the word “like” a minimum of 6 times. They start drinking at 4:00 on Friday’s after the office operation closing hours were changed to 5:00-they used to start at 5pm when closing hours was 6p. Some use medical marijuana. Be sure to check out the owners Facebook page. So now you have to ask yourself is this a place I want to work with people who have no integrity, who will make you promises then when it’s time to pay up on those promises have all kinds of excuses why they can’t, or are these people I want to trust my child to when there are so many other agencies that are honest and have dignity in the way they treat their employees and clients. Also note when you get benefits through this company then leave they will continue to take money then contact those companies to shut your account down so you don’t have access to those benefits even though they took money out after you left.

    Continue reading
    MGA Healthcare2018-02-18

    MGA Healthcare Response

    March 20, 2018Social Media & Marketing

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us as we appreciate your feedback. Throughout our 20 years in business, we’ve worked hard to provide a positive experience for all and to create a welcoming work environment that is encouraging and professional. We wholeheartedly agree with you on the importance of integrity and accountability in the workplace, especially when it comes to pediatric care, and will share your concerns with our management team for further attention.

    Continue reading
  6. "Admin Assistant (UCSF)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MGA Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great opportunity to get your foot in the world of healthcare - Are able to work with one of the best hospitals in healthcare (UCSF) - Helpful recruiter (Jonathan) - Paid training

    Cons

    - Low compensation ($17/hour) - Worked in a department that promised a chance of becoming a permanent employee, but instead continued to extend my temp position until I decided to quit - Even after MGA hires you, you still have to interview and compete to get the "assignment" jobs

    MGA Healthcare2017-10-16

    MGA Healthcare Response

    October 20, 2017Social Media & Marketing

    Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you saw MGA as an ally in opportunity. We strive to offer competitive, meaningful compensation and are sorry to hear a permanent position with our company was not realized.

    Continue reading
  7. "Home health nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MGA Healthcare part-time

    Pros

    1 patient in the home, though you can be just as busy with one patient as with 30 pts on the floor.

    Cons

    Had some concerns with the family in regards to personality and hostile work environment at times. Talked to my recruiter about it for support. Asked him to keep it confidential, he promised he would. But through the family I learned he told them everything. Way to go. As a result, I lost all trust in MGA. Marked discrepensies in the way internal nurses (in the office) and external nurses (in the home) are treated. If you're ok with not being able to trust your employer, this is the place for you. Also, when dealing with the families...set your boundaries and keep them firm because I guarantee you, they WILL try to get as much as they possibly can from you. One family wanted me to work a 16 HR shift. One came home late all the time. Have the conversations and speak up. It's not ok for families to consistently try to get you to change your schedule. So many times I wanted to tell the families, "My life doesn't revolve around you". I hated working for MGA. Been gone over a year and it still irriates me.

    Continue reading
    MGA Healthcare2017-10-04

    MGA Healthcare Response

    October 10, 2017Social Media & Marketing

    Thank you for your review. Our administrative team and clinical experts strive to provide comprehensive support to all of our staff members. Your feedback regarding your work experience is important to us and helps us continually improve the MGA employee experience.

    Continue reading
  8. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Oakland, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MGA Healthcare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a great opportunity to gain experience in the hospital setting if you have little to no experience. Great way to get your foot in the door in the healthcare industry and to make relevant connections with healthcare administrators and providers. Potential to get hired full-time by the hospital.

    Cons

    The onboarding process can be lengthy. The pay is not reasonable for the standard of living in the bay area and while they mention you can get a pay increase if you get good reviews from your hospital managers, it wasn't clear that it would occur after a year of employment with MGA. Health insurance obtained through MGA is expensive and no PTO or benefits.

    Continue reading
    MGA Healthcare2017-08-11

    MGA Healthcare Response

    August 22, 2017Social Media & Marketing

    Thank you for your review and constructive feedback. We are happy to hear that you gained experience and connections that will help propel your career. We value your advice to our management team and will be sure to pass it along.

    Continue reading
  9. "Great Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at MGA Healthcare part-time

    Pros

    Always letting you know about shifts that are available for you to work.

    Cons

    I just started with MGA, I really don't have any Cons.

    MGA Healthcare2017-03-16

    MGA Healthcare Response

    April 12, 2017Customer Service

    Thank you for the kind words! I hope you continue to enjoy your experience at MGA.

    Continue reading
  10. "Feast or Famine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nurse in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MGA Healthcare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The office staff is generally polite. Decent pay for home care. Benefits for full-time staff are reasonably good.

    Cons

    On one hand, an employee can go a long time between cases. On the other hand, MGA will be happy to work their employees to death, and then when the inevitable happens and said employee burns out, gets sick, falls asleep, they will happily fire said employee no matter how much of a team player the employee has been, even to the detriment of their own health. Be sure to protect yourself from being overworked if you work for this company because they see employees as cogs in the machine. There is no PTO, even for full-time staff.

    Continue reading
    MGA Healthcare2017-03-14

    MGA Healthcare Response

    April 12, 2017Customer Service

    Thank you for your review. We take your feedback very seriously. At MGA, we believe the happiness, health, and well-being of our teams sets the foundation for providing quality care to our families. If you would be open to discussing your experience further, I would be happy to give you a call. Please direct message me with a number and time that is convenient for you.

    Continue reading
Found 90 reviews