MGIC Investment Reviews | Glassdoor

MGIC Investment Reviews

Updated Nov 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
59%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
MGIC Investment CEO Patrick Sinks (no image)
Patrick Sinks
2 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "First Year went so FAST!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MGIC Investment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company is truly committed to its customers and that feeling comes across daily, and is contagious. The Home Office team is there to help the Field Sales leverage opportunities, grow business, and make our customers aware of all we can offer them and their teams. We provide marketing, training, support and consistency all while being transparent. I am very happy and look forward to the future with MGIC!

    Cons

    Too many good things to offer so we need to make sure we identify what would benefit our customers most.

    Advice to Management

    Keep being who you are and sharing with your teams like you do.

    MGIC Investment2018-04-17
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Significant turmoil puts company into survival mode"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Risk 
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at MGIC Investment full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Competitive PTO - Benefits -Good location downtown

    Cons

    -Does not promote from within, no development opportunities -They claim to invest in their employees, but with all the turmoil, there are too busy focusing on surviving, not investing in future. -Several mid-level managers, co-workers, and friends have left due to un-healthy culture -Could get paid more for same position else where

    Advice to Management

    If you want to retain talent, there should be actions that reflect your stated core values.

    MGIC Investment2019-11-04
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Used to be good. Not now."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quantitative Risk Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MGIC Investment full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance, work used to be interesting

    Cons

    1. The management at the department is a mess. There were about 8-10 people left at the first quarter of 2019. 2. The personality of mamagement level at the department is very questionable, and nobody likes him. If you work under him, good luck. 3. it is not the mgic i first came here for.. very disappointed.

    Advice to Management

    When select the next management persons, pay attention to their personalities first.

    MGIC Investment2019-07-22
  4. "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist in Troy, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MGIC Investment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pay, hours are not excessive.

    Cons

    Almost no room for advancement, performance is not rewarded.

    MGIC Investment2019-07-08
  5. "No privacy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Underwriter in Milwaukee, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MGIC Investment full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Remote, bi weekly pay. Good benefits

    Cons

    Too much technology , they don't trust their employees. Someone thought Skype was worth spending thousands if bucks to spy on employees. Micromanaged . they change things too frequent, unsure if themself ?

    Advice to Management

    Start fresh

    MGIC Investment2019-05-31
  6. Helpful (2)

    "All good things come to an end."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Settlement Manager in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MGIC Investment full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers,salary and benefits. I loved my job and team.

    Cons

    It came to an end too soon.

    Advice to Management

    No advice given since the company is quite successful already.

    MGIC Investment2019-05-10
  7. "Great Place to Grow and Learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MGIC Investment full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wonderful and warm group of people to work with. Eager to help and mentor as needed. They encourage professional growth for you to be the best version of you.

    Cons

    The pace of work can be varied at times, but this helps to keep the job fresh.

    Advice to Management

    Embrace new technologies.

    MGIC Investment2018-04-13
  8. "former employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MGIC Investment full-time

    Pros

    Work out facilities. Co-workers. Location, work, benefits

    Cons

    Be able to work under pressure.

    Advice to Management

    Provide positive feedback when warranted.

    MGIC Investment2018-02-19
  9. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MGIC Investment full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent leadership, benefits and work environment. Expectations are high, but they provide tools and guidance to meet expectations and grow professionally. Benefits are excellent.

    Cons

    Recent leadership succession has lead to some changes in moving forward, which can be difficult for a very experienced workforce.

    MGIC Investment2018-02-06
  10. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MGIC Investment full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great environment where people truly care about making a difference and enabling homeownership for more Americans.

    Cons

    Cafeteria food needs some improvement.

    Advice to Management

    Continue sustaining the mission, empowering your personnel and strong investment in talent development.

    MGIC Investment2018-01-05
Found 50 reviews