MGM Resorts International "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

MGM Resorts International Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated Sep 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
MGM Resorts International CEO Jim Murren
Jim Murren
455 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits, great work-life balance and overall fun company to work for(in 85 reviews)

  • "They provide very good benefits(in 55 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours due to massive volume of guest during special events(in 31 reviews)

  • "Low pay compared to same job at other organizations in LV(in 28 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "ss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at MGM Resorts International part-time

    Pros

    Hours and free lunch during work hours

    Cons

    Standing long hours and the cigarette smoke

    MGM Resorts International2019-01-06
  2. "Prior to 2019 layoffs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MGM Resorts International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great employer for Las Vegas, with some of the best benefits in the region (Las Vegas).

    Cons

    Management expected long hours at office, even if workload was light; little flexibility to take care of personal issues.

    MGM Resorts International2019-09-25
  3. "Brand Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brand Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MGM Resorts International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Challenging industry and work load

    Cons

    High bureaucracy and long hours

    MGM Resorts International2019-06-20
  4. "Not For Me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Labor Relations Partner 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MGM Resorts International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Low cost health benefits. The company constantly has activities to keep employees engaged.

    Cons

    Long hours (come in early/leave late to meet with employees), feels confining with no windows, working all holidays,

    MGM Resorts International2019-02-22
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Dispatch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Capitol Heights, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MGM Resorts International part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The pay is good

    Cons

    Standing Long hours Food None

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    MGM Resorts International2018-12-05
  6. "MGM Grand Resorts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MGM Resorts International full-time

    Pros

    Great salary, outstanding benefits, motivated and passionate team.

    Cons

    Long hours due to massive volume of guest during special events.

    MGM Resorts International2018-10-01
  7. "Overall a Great Place to work with room for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MGM Resorts International full-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours, opportunities to move, Senior Leadership is Good, maybe great

    Cons

    Long hours, high expectations, lack of work/life balance

    Advice to Management

    Develop a culture of accountability, hire skilled, professional managers

    MGM Resorts International2018-09-24
  8. "Marketing Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MGM Resorts International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great experience.Management is helpful .Interesting job.

    Cons

    Long hours and weekends No advancement in near future

    MGM Resorts International2018-09-21
  9. "Beautiful!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Sous Chef in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MGM Resorts International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful place to work!

    Cons

    As in any kitchen, long hours!

    MGM Resorts International2018-08-16
  10. "Great Company with Low Pay and Long Hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MGM Resorts International full-time

    Pros

    I really liked all of my colleagues including upper management. The job itself was fairly easy if you showed up on time and did your work. Also great health benefits and 401k.

    Cons

    Long hours spent on your feet and low pay. My job should’ve been compensated at least $50,000 per year starting out based on hours and job requirements. The employees I was managing were an absolute nightmare because they were protected by the Union. It was essentially babysitting because they knew they didn’t have to listen to you.

    Advice to Management

    Pay managers for their work appropriately and don’t constantly change their schedules so they can get a normal amount of sleep between long shifts.

    MGM Resorts International2018-08-22
Found 31 reviews