MGM Studios Reviews | Glassdoor

MGM Studios Reviews

Updated Mar 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 73 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Gary Barber
18 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 6 reviews)

  • "There are some great perks for employees such as screenings and various discounts as well as great medical, dental, and vision coverage(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Because company has such low over-head, long hours and burnout are common(in 5 reviews)

  • "Low pay and difficult to get promoted(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Expect to work your butt off but your career will thank you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MGM Studios full-time

    Pros

    Great experience, opens you up to interesting opportunities and people; found some great mentors

    Cons

    long hours, exhausting work at times

    MGM Studios2019-01-25
  2. "MGM today"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice 

    I have been working at MGM Studios full-time

    Pros

    MGM is a vibrant business that offers a diverse work place with a dedicated group of colleagues that produces content for the big screen all the way down to the small screen.

    Cons

    Expansive growth is hard to keep pace with.

    MGM Studios2019-03-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "A Joke"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Culver City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MGM Studios full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits were decent. Nice co-workers, unfortunately most of them leave within a year.

    Cons

    Upper-management has a god-complex and micromanages employees. No flexible hours, low pay and a total lack of culture. Can't speak for the entire company, but definitely in the broadcast operations group cronyism runs rampant. I still don't know what responsibilities certain directors/managers have...maybe smoking cigarettes & drinking coffee is in their job description.

    Advice to Management

    Stop with the useless meetings trying to fake transparency and please stop with the unnecessary cross-training, we all know the channels are pretty much dead.

    MGM Studios2019-02-22
  4. "Poor New IT management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Beverly Hills, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MGM Studios full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great past IT management as they took care of their employee.

    Cons

    Not so great new IT management.

    MGM Studios2019-01-25
  5. "Friendly and welcoming environment for all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at MGM Studios full-time

      Pros

      Friendly environment and nice location

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      MGM Studios2018-10-16
    • "Great people"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Beverly Hills, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at MGM Studios full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      The people here truly become like family. It's easy to come to work when you like who you work with. The culture is becoming more open, which is nice. You get paid what you get offered, surprise, surprise, not sure why so many people complain about the pay if they know what they are getting offered before they accept the job! Work/life balance is good, of course, there are times that more is demanded of you, but then...

      Show More

      Cons

      Not everyone is in the same building.

      Advice to Management

      Put everyone in the same building.

      MGM Studios2018-08-21
    • Helpful (4)

      "Toxic Corporate Culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at MGM Studios full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Nice office/building, friendly staff, nice location, some screenings sometimes

      Cons

      A lot of people complain about their jobs regularly- it's like no one's happy to be there. Too much stress, long hours, no apreciation from management. Office politics and back stabbing is out of control and management does nothing. Turn over is very high and there is a reason.

      Advice to Management

      Treat every employee with respect, pay fair wages, and get rid of 'dead weight' employees, no matter how senior they might be.

      MGM Studios2018-08-29
    • Helpful (3)

      "Micromanaged"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at MGM Studios

        Pros

        Some people are great to work with.

        Cons

        Micromanaged like crazy and it makes it extremely difficult to do your job.

        Advice to Management

        Trust your team. You hired them for a reason. Respect them and their time.

        MGM Studios2018-06-28
      • "Promising!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Mailroom in Beverly Hills, CA

        I have been working at MGM Studios full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Truly enjoy working for MGM. From my fellow colleagues to upper management, I've had nothing but a wonderful working environment since the day I started. There is room for advancement as well as continuous learning opportunities that I hope to take advantage of.

        Cons

        No cons I can think of!

        MGM Studios2018-06-07
      • Helpful (1)

        "A Quick Stepping Stone"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at MGM Studios full-time

        Pros

        - Location - MGM is a brand that most people know and love - Good benefits

        Cons

        - MGM does not encourage or provide a sense of culture to it's employees-- most people do not seem happy or excited to go to work everyday - Pay is low for lower level employees - Most people stay stagnant in their job positions for long periods of time - Management micromanages so many aspects of employee's work - Work/life balance is heavily skewed towards work

        Advice to Management

        Pay people what they deserve. Start treating employees of all levels a bit more equally.

        MGM Studios2018-07-01
      Found 73 reviews