MH Alshaya Reviews | Glassdoor

MH Alshaya Reviews

Updated Sep 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 396 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
MH Alshaya CEO Wassim Arabi (no image)
Wassim Arabi
178 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work life balance for everyone(in 24 reviews)

  • "If you are based in the Middle East, then the employee discounts are an attraction(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "Growth is stagnant, not the best pay masters in Kuwait(in 14 reviews)

  • "No growth and moderate to low benefits(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Loved working at AlShaya as MAC area MAnager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MH Alshaya full-time

    Pros

    i learned alot, very detailed job

    Cons

    work pressure. always behind deadlines

    MH Alshaya2018-02-09
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Prep Cook/Dishwasher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Prep Cook/Dishwasher in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MH Alshaya full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a alright place if you trying to learn Italian

    Cons

    They're a little bit racist

    Advice to Management

    It's great

    MH Alshaya2017-09-19
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Technical support engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MH Alshaya full-time

    Pros

    the largest company in middle east

    Cons

    No career path ,no promotion and no sallary increase

    MH Alshaya2016-05-26
  4. Helpful (7)

    "associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MH Alshaya full-time

    Pros

    work life balance, compensation, benefits

    Cons

    slow career progression, flat business outlook

    MH Alshaya2016-02-23
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Regional Marketing Manager - Restaurant Division"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at MH Alshaya full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great efforts to recruit and offers a good compensation package. Retail giant - good work experience provided you are working with a good manager.

    Cons

    Not much effort into retaining employees or keeping them happy. Too much red tape to get simple things done. Based in Kuwait... big effort required to live in this country.

    Advice to Management

    More efforts need to keep employees happy and stay true to the offer contract.

    MH Alshaya2015-06-19

    MH Alshaya Response

    July 23, 2015Advertising Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. HR are currently working on many initiatives to engage and retain employees - there's not much we can change about Kuwait though.

  6. Helpful (14)

    "Challenging and stimulating environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MH Alshaya full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Job Security One of the best known company in MENA region. Working here gives exposure to many areas and you feel involved in various activity. Multi Nationality People work together. Annual increment, Good Salary Package. Inventive System.

    Cons

    Internal Development is slow. Different Salaries for different Nationality. No Fly Ticket for employee working as staff. Senior Management hired externally. Does not cover Insurance for Family. Internal Transfer almost impossible.

    Advice to Management

    People working on same level for 4 Years and above to be interviewed to understand strength and give opportunity to move into different roles based on strength of people.

    MH Alshaya2015-01-28

    MH Alshaya Response

    August 23, 2015Advertising Manager

    Thank you for your review. We recommend that you speak to your Line Manager to discuss what you need to do to get promoted within your function. Good luck.

  7. Helpful (4)

    "big company, give experiences , too much work all the time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at MH Alshaya full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    not bad salary and give good experience

    Cons

    too much hard work all the time

    MH Alshaya2013-10-03

    MH Alshaya Response

    August 23, 2015Advertising Manager

    Thank you for your review. We are glad you work very hard as this is how we all become better.

  8. "very good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - According to the Vacant in Gulfport, MS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at MH Alshaya full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    strong company ,she have a good brands

    Cons

    salary .Difficulty moving from one brand to another

    Advice to Management

    Work on a specific plan to increase salaries in an orderly

    MH Alshaya2012-08-05

    MH Alshaya Response

    August 23, 2015Advertising Manager

    Thank you for your review, we have passed your comments about salary to the relevant team.

  9. "One of the best company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier 
    Recommends

    I have been working at MH Alshaya full-time

    Pros

    Mission and values are great for guest and staff

    Cons

    Store management is weak and favoritism is high

    MH Alshaya2019-09-16
  10. "Salary insight"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Applications Engineer 

    I have been working at MH Alshaya full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good to start as a fresher

    Cons

    nothing to mention as such

    MH Alshaya2019-09-11
Found 396 reviews