MHM Services Reviews | Glassdoor

MHM Services Reviews

Updated Feb 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
43%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
MHM Services President and COO Steve Wheeler (no image)
Steve Wheeler
15 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits for med and dental(in 9 reviews)

  • "We work with prison inmates in mental health(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Compensation rate should be brought in line with other health care companies providing care within the corrections community(in 12 reviews)

  • "Corporate doesn't care that there is high turnover(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in McDonough, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MHM Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great B job to work at

    Cons

    No raise At all need raise

    Continue reading
    MHM Services2020-02-29
  2. Helpful (1)

    "A great job in a different arena"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at MHM Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work environment is definitely not for everyone. We work with prison inmates in mental health. The benefits are amazing. It’s ensuring that the inmates are safe from themselves basically. Corrections officers are always with you when any contact is made. I never have to worry about getting hurt but I’m always understandably wary of your patients/inmates in this setting. The charting is very straight forward with documentation of various ailments and there’s a procedure for everything. So you’re not scrambling when looking for a document to chart.

    Cons

    It’s definitely not for everyone. For those who love hands on care, this isn’t for you. I personally appreciate it not being as hands on as say, a hospital or a LTC facility. It’s paper charting which for some they don’t like. I happen to like paper charting. Easier to find stuff you need in a pinch. Honestly, I don’t have any complaints or cons. Just added these because some people might not like them.

    Continue reading
    MHM Services2020-01-13
  3. "Toxic and unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Nursing in Ocala, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MHM Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The positive relationships developed with security staff and subordinates- you depend heavily upon them to make it safely through the day

    Cons

    Toxic management at corporate level. The only way to succeed despite degrees and experience is if you are from Lake County or married to someone in power. Doing the right thing or providing medical care is NOT this companies mission, and it is not currently politically motivated to change. Inmates deserve better. Wake up, D.O.C. !

    Continue reading
    MHM Services2020-02-16
  4. "RN Mental health manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MHM Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility with schedule, Easy hire, adequate pay

    Cons

    Benefits, PTO accrual, audits, and short-staffed

    MHM Services2019-12-11
  5. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Counselor 

    I worked at MHM Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good experience. Interesting work environment.

    Cons

    Management makes or breaks a job

    MHM Services2019-10-16
  6. "Graveyard nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse 

    I have been working at MHM Services full-time

    Pros

    Many unit potions to work on, works with school schedule

    Cons

    poor management, understaffed have to find your own coverage

    MHM Services2019-10-15
  7. "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mental Health Assistant in Pearl, MS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MHM Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits great pay great location

    Cons

    management does a poor job- lucky I have a supervisor that does all she can our department, but the HSA and others are clueless

    Continue reading
    MHM Services2019-10-04
  8. "Unethical popularity contest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MHM Services

    Pros

    Loved working with inmates and security

    Cons

    Regional supervisors are awful. They don’t have enough staff in institutions and will work you to death

    Continue reading
    MHM Services2019-10-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Lack of leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse, BSN in Muncy, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at MHM Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Salary and benefits decent Working with mentally ill is awesome

    Cons

    Toxic environment in that competent employees were constantly in fear of being terminated. Care of mentally ill in this particular unit was sub-optimal due to extremely poor management. Company hides behind safety concerns, using them as an excuse for shameful care of mentally ill while expanding profits in an ever expanding multi-billion dollar empire.

    Continue reading
    MHM Services2019-09-01
  10. "Mental health Professionals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MHP in Tallahassee, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MHM Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary is competitive that's it

    Cons

    Not invested in their employees

    Continue reading
    MHM Services2019-07-20
    Previous
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next
Viewing 1 - 10 of 186 Reviews